Philosophy & Religion Librarian
Help: Ask Us!
Philosophy & Religion Librarian
Philosophy and Religion Librarian
Philosophy and Religion Course Guides
Philosophy and Religion Course Guides
Databases
Databases
-
Academic search completeAcademic Search Complete provides a scholarly collection providing full text coverage for over 10,500 journals for nearly all academic areas of study - including social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies, etc. Dates of Coverage: 1975 - Current
-
Agricultural & Environmental Science CollectionAgricultural & Environmental Science Collection offers full-text titles from around the world, including journals, magazines, technical reports, conference papers, and government publications.
-
Arts & Humanities Citation IndexThe Arts & Humanities Citation Index (A&HCI) is a citation index, with abstracting and indexing for more than 1,700 arts and humanities journals. Subject coverage includes not only arts and humanities but also language and linguistics, poetry, music, classical works, history, oriental studies, philosophy, archaeology, architecture, history, religion, television, theater, and radio. It covers a wide range of resource formats as well, including articles, letters, editorials, meeting abstracts, errata, poems, short stories, among many others.
-
Arts & Humanities Full TextArts & Humanities Database provides online access to select contemporary specialist arts titles combined with journals from related fields including ethnic studies, women’s studies, sociology, cultural studies, and more. Arts & Humanities Database titles include both scholarly peer-reviewed journals and selected trade and consumer titles relevant to applied arts and cultural studies. This database is part of the Art, Design & Architecture Collection.
-
ATLA religion database with ATLASerialsATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials includes more than 555,000 article citations from more than 1,656 journals (518 currently indexed), more than 232,000 essay citations from over 16,700 multi-author works, more than 511,000 book review citations, and a growing number of multimedia citations. Full text is provided for more than 266,000 electronic articles and book reviews, from more than 130 journals selected by leading religion scholars in the United States. Dates of Coverage: 1949 to present, although indexing for some journal titles extends back into the nineteenth century.
-
Environment completeThis resources offers patrons full-text access to over 1,300 journals and monographs in areas of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, and related areas of study, as well regular access to more than 2,500 domestic and international journals.
-
Gale Academic OneFileGale Academic OneFile offers access to a variety of materials on a wide range of academic subjects, including scholarly journals, podcasts, transcripts, and more.
-
Gale in Context: Environmental StudiesGale in Context: Environmental Studies supports students and researchers interested in environmental and sustainability issues in science, social studies, and the humanities.
-
Gale OneFile: Environmental Studies and PolicyGale OneFile: Environmental Studies and Policy offers articles that answer questions about environmental concerns.
-
Gale OneFile: Religion and PhilosophyGale OneFile: Religion and Philosophy covers topics across a wide range of philosophies and religions and their impact on culture.
-
Humanities Full TextThis database provides full text of 330+ journals and abstracts and bibliographic indexing of 690+ noted scholarly sources and specialized magazines in the humanities. Content includes feature articles, interviews, obituaries and original works of fiction, drama, and poetry. Subjects covered include art, classical studies, dance, film, journalism, philosophy, and religion. Periodical coverage dates back to 1910.
-
JSTORJSTOR provides access to archived backfiles of journals in the arts and sciences, business, language and literature, science, ecology and botany, and music: over 2,000 academic journals, dating back to the first volume ever published, along with thousands of monographs and other relevant materials. Users can access the full-text content beginning with the first volume of each journal although recent volumes may or may not be included, depending on the agreement between JSTOR and publishers of the journal in question. As a result, some titles may lag behind in terms of JSTOR coverage. Content may date back to 1890, up to present-day.
-
Open Humanities Press journalsopen access journals affiliated with Open Humanities Press, which cover a variety of disciplines within the humanities such as philosophy, cultures, literary theory, political science, film among other topics.
-
Philosopher's indexPhilosopher's Index via CSA provides informative, author-written abstracts covering scholarly research in all areas of philosophy. The global literature covered goes back to 1940 and includes journal articles, books, book chapters such as contributions to an anthology and book reviews. Dates of Coverage: 1940 – current with additional records dating back to 1902.
-
Philosophy Documentation Center CollectionThe Philosophy Documentation Center (PDC) has been serving the scholarly community on a non-profit basis since 1966, by maintaining a number of publications which include reference materials, peer-reviewed journals, conference proceedings, and research databases. PDC has a commitment to support teaching and research in philosophy and related fields.
-
PhilPapersPhilPapers is an index and bibliography of philosophy books and articles maintained by a community of philosophers. It monitors sources of research content in philosophy, including journals, books, open access archives, and personal pages maintained by academics.
-
Project MuseProject Muse serves as a leading provider of digital humanities and social science content for the scholarly community, granting patrons access to books and electronic journals through their online portal. Project Muse provides content from a number of university presses and scholarly societies, with over 120 publishers participating.
-
Religion and philosophy collectionReligion and Philosophy Collection a comprehensive full-text database covering topics such as world religions, major denominations, biblical studies, religious history, epistemology, political philosophy, philosophy of language, moral philosophy and the history of philosophy. Dates of Coverage: 1975 - current
-
SocINDEX with full textSocINDEX with Full Text via EBSCO is a sociology research database featuring more than 2.1 million records. The database contains full text for 860+ journals, 830+ books, and 16,800+ conference papers abstracts for 1,300+ core journals, 450+ priority journals, and 2,900+ selective coverage journals extensive indexing for books, conference papers and non-periodical content and 25,000+ author profiles. Topics covered include: abortion, criminal justice, demography, ethnic and gender studies, marriage and family, political sociology, religion, social development and psychology, social work, socio-cultural anthropology, sociological history and research, sociological theory, substance abuse and addictions, violence, and many others. Dates of Coverage: Varies by resource some citations date back to 1895.
New EBSCOhost Tutorials
-
Using the EBSCOhost Database for Your ResearchFeeling overwhelmed with research? We’ve got you covered! In this video, we’ll show you how to navigate EBSCOhost, a powerful database that searches across 100+ academic databases at once—saving you time and helping you find the best scholarly articles, books, and more. You’ll also learn how to filter your results and select the best results for your research.
-
Introduction to the New EBSCOhost - TutorialThis tutorial demonstrates the features of the new EBSCOhost user interface.
-
Basic Search on the New EBSCO User Interfaces - TutorialThis tutorial demonstrates how to create a Basic Search using the new EBSCO user interfaces.
-
Advanced Searching on the New EBSCO User Interfaces - TutorialThis tutorial demonstrates a Guided Style Advanced Search on the new EBSCO user interfaces.
Refworks
Refworks
RefWorks is a web-based reference manager that allows you to create your own personal database of references and documents for both academic and personal use. With RefWorks you can:
- Easily import references from electronic databases, the UNT library catalog, websites, other reference managers, and more into your account
- Quickly create reference lists/bibliographies for papers and projects in the citation style of your choice
- Store, read and annotate documents
UNT access code: 1890-1506
Textbooks
Textbook Availability Disclaimer
UNT Libraries has some, but not all, textbooks. Some textbooks are available in print only at an institutional level. Some textbooks are available as ebooks. Ebooks might be accessible one user at a time (single user access) and, much like a print book, can be read by only one person at a time. Ebooks might also have multiple or unlimited user access, which allows more than one reader to use the ebook concurrently. If an ebook textbook is single user access only, then that is because it either is not available to purchase with multiple/unlimited access at an institutional level or it is cost prohibitive for the libraries to purchase.
-
Library CatalogSearch library catalog for books and other sources.
Course Reserves
Course Reserves
-
Course ReservesFind items that have been put on reserve for a specific course. Search by course prefix (i.e., PHIL) and number, or instructor's name.
Suggest a Purchase
Suggest a Purchase
-
Suggest a PurchaseThank you for recommending an item for addition to the Libraries' collections. Titles are purchased as funds are available, and in accordance with our Collection Development Policy. Additionally, you may contact the appropriate subject librarian with recommendations.