PADM 4220: Proposal Writing and Grants Administration: Grant Resources

guide to library and other resources to support PACS 4220 students

Foundation Directory Online

Foundation Directory Online

Foundation Directory Online contains profiles for grantmakers who fund organizations and includes:

  • Over 140,000 foundations, corporate donors, and grantmaking public charities
  • Over 3.2 million recent grants
  • Over half a million indexed trustee, officer, and donor names
  • Over 1 million IRS 990s—fully keyword-searchable
  • 54 search fields including keyword search
  • Detailed grantmaker profiles including contact information, key financial data, application information, and more

Foundation Directory Online Professional is available to UNT and non-UNT community members in-person on the desktop computers inside the Sycamore Library. For non-UNT users, Sycamore Library has two dedicated community use stations. If you need help finding these community-use computers stations, please ask at our service desk.

To access FDO Professional, from the Sycamore Library computers, you can click through the link above or go to library.unt.edu, click on the "Databases" tab, search for the database name, and click through to FDO. Please contact the subject librarian if you experience any trouble accessing the database.

Foundation Directory Online video tutorials

Pivot

Pivot Logo

Pivot provides a variety of features to support efficient identification and management of funding opportunities and potential collaborators:

  • Access to local and global funding opportunities from foundations, corporations and government agencies
  • Connections to local and global researchers with similar interests
  • Tools for managing funding timelines
  • Tools for communicating, organizing and collaborating around funding opportunities.

Pivot is available remotely to UNT community members. Non-UNT affiliated users can access the Pivot database from a community computer station in the Sycamore Library. 

Guidestar

Guidestar is a searchable directory that provides detailed information on many nonprofit organizations. It includes IRS-registered 501 nonprofit organizations that may accept tax-deductible contributions. Profiles of these organizations cover missions, programs, financials, leaders, and the IRS 990 filing from 1998 forward in most cases.

Guidestar is available remotely to all UNT community members. Non-UNT affiliated users can access Guidestar from a dedicated community computer station in Sycamore Library or Willis Library.

Candid Learning

Candid Learning, a freely available website of Candid (formerly the Foundation Center), offers information and resources that are specifically designed to meet the needs of nonprofits worldwide in need of know-how for securing funding and operating effective organizations. At Candid Learning, you can-

•   View video recordings of live discussions with funders
•   Listen to podcasts featuring experts in the field
•   Get information about opportunities in your field of interest
•   Increase your expertise in fundraising and management
•   Attend training and events, in-person and online
•   Search for Funding Information Network locations by zipcode

Additional Links

top