Required Reading
-
Foundations of Educational Technology
by
ISBN: 9781000688252Publication Date: 2022-10-18Foundations of Educational Technology offers a fresh, interdisciplinary, problem-centered approach to educational technology, learning design, and instructional systems development. As the implementation of online, blended, hybrid, mobile, open, and adaptive learning systems rapidly expands, emerging tools such as learning analytics, artificial intelligence, mixed realities, serious games, and micro-credentialing are promising more complex and personalized learning experiences. This book provides faculty and graduate students with a conceptual, empirical, and practical basis for the effective use of these systems across contexts, integrating essential theories from the fields of human performance, learning and development, information and communications, and instructional design. Key additions to this revised and expanded third edition include coverage of the latest learning technologies, research from educational neuroscience, discussions about security and privacy, new attention to diversity, equity, and inclusion, updated activities, support materials, references, and more.
Chapter 1: Defining Educational Technology
- The Association for the Advancement of Computing in Education (AACE)—www.aace.org
- The Association for Educational Communications and Technology (AECT)—www.aect.org
- EDUCAUSE—www.educause.edu/ (see Horizon Reports)
- The International Board of Standards for Training, Performance and Instruction (IBSTPI)—www.ibstpi.org
- Spector, J. M. (Ed.). (2015). The encyclopedia of educational technology. Sage.
- Spector, J. M., Merrill, M. D., Elen, J., & Bishop, M. J. (Eds.). (2014). Handbook of research on educational communications and technology (4th ed.). Springer.
Chapter 2: Values, Foundations, and a Framework
- Courtney Plotts on culturally responsive teaching—www.facultyfocus.com/articles/academicleadership/supporting-faculty-in-uncertain-times-five-ideas-for-meaningful-dialogue-andreflection/
- The Handbook of Research on Educational Communications and Technology (3rd and 4th eds.): available at no cost to members of the Association for Education Communications and Technology (AECT)—www.aect.org
- Mental Tests and Cultural Adaptation by Cronbach and Drenth—https://doi.org/10.1515/9783111556482
- The Mitre Corporation site on Engineering Complex Systems—www.mitre.org/sites/default/files/pdf/norman_engineering.pdf
Chapter 3: Learning and Performing
- The entire translation of Tolstoy’s Confession is available online—www.arvindguptatoys.com/arvindgupta/confessions-tolstoy.pdf
- The Learning Development Institute is dedicated to human learning and has developed extensive resources freely available to the public. Of particular relevance to this chapter is The Book of Problems—see the list of resources for 2002 at www.learndev.org
Chapter 4: Teaching and Training
- The Association for Psychological Science website with many resources pertaining to various disciplines within psychology, including educational psychology—https://www.psychologicalscience.org/members/teaching
- Openstax Psychology textbook provides an introduction to life-span development (chapter 9)—https://openstax.org/books/psychology-2e/pages/9-2-lifespan-theories
- K. H. Grobman’s website for resources and links pertaining to developmental psychology—www.devpsy.org
- Mindset Works website provides a closer look at growth mindset—www.mindsetworks.com/science/
Chapter 5: Technology Support for Learning, Instruction, and Performance
- Capterra’s directory of courseware authoring tools—www.capterra.com/courseware-software?utm_source=bing&utm_medium=cpc
- Softpedia authoring support tools—www.softpedia.com/get/Authoring-tools/
- Instructional design models—www.instructionaldesign.org/models/index.html
- A guide to game development software—www.gamedev.net/
- Data analytics tools for science, technology, engineering, and mathematics teachers and students—https://onlinebusiness.umd.edu/blog/data-analytics-tools-for-stem-teachers-students/
- Big data application in education—www.upgrad.com/blog/big-data-applications-in-education/
- Top five big data tools in 2021—www.upgrad.com/blog/big-data-tools/
- Big Data in Education: How Data Science Transforms Education Process—https://nix-united.com/blog/how-big-data-is-transforming-the-education-process/
Chapter 6: Integrative Approaches to Planning and Implementation
- Directory of authoring tools—https://c4lpt.co.uk/directory-of-learning-performance-tools/
- Education Northwest resources for instructional planning and design—https://educationnorthwest.org/resources
- MIT system dynamics in education guide—https://ocw.mit.edu/courses/sloan-school-ofmanagement/15-988-system-dynamics-self-study-fall-1998-spring-1999/readings/part7.pdf
Chapter 7: The Nature of Human Development
- NCREL (North Central Regional Educational Laboratory) on Theories of Child Development and Learning—www.ncrel.org/
- Resources for Human Development—www.rhd.org/
Chapter 8: Theories of Learning and Performance
- The Burgess Shale Geoscience Foundation site—see www.burgess-shale.bc.ca
- John Dewey’s Democracy and Education (now in the public domain)—see http://en.wikisource. org/wiki/
- Democracy_and_Education Learning Theories site—www.learning-theories.com
- The Mental Models & Reasoning Lab at Princeton University—see http://mentalmodels.princeton.edu
- Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy on Critical Theory—see https://plato.stanford.edu/entries /critical-theory
Chapter 9: Theories of Information and Communications
- The Center for the Study of Complex Systems at the University of Michigan—see http://cscs. umich.edu
- Communication Theory Blogsite—see http://communicationtheory.org
- Hueco Tanks State Park in Texas—see www.desertusa.com/mag00/may/stories/hueco.html
- Glossary of Communication Terminology—see https://www.communicationtheory.org/glossary/
- Theories and Models of Communication (2013 Handbook)—see https://www.academia.edu/22063744/Theories_and_Models_of_Communication_Information_Theories_2013_
- University of Twente Communication Theories PDF available for downloads—see https://www. utwente.nl/en/bms/communication-theories/
- Wikibook on Communication Theory—see http://en.wikibooks.org/wiki/Communication_Theory
Chapter 10: Instructional Theories and Instructional Design Theories
- Kathy Schrock’s Guide to Everything for educators—see www.schrockguide.net/
- L. Dee Fink’s A Self-Directed Guide to Designing Courses for Significant Learning—see www.deefinkandassociates.com/GuidetoCourseDesignAug05.pdf
- Leslie Owen Wilson’s The Second Principle website for creativity, instructional design, and optimal learning—https://thesecondprinciple.com/
- Nada Dabbagh’s shared presentations about instructional design and technology integration—see www.slideshare.net/NadaDabbagh
- Smart Learning Environments Journal—see https://slejournal.springeropen.com/about
Chapter 11: Planning for Innovative Technology Use and Managing Change in the Digital Age
- The Change Management site located at ChangingMinds.Org—see http://changingminds.org/disciplines/change_management/change_management.htm
- The Journal of Educational Change published by Springer—see www.springer.com/education+%26+language/journal/10833
- The Learning Development Institute—see www.learndev.org/
- Learning Innovations Laboratory at the Harvard Graduate College of Education—see www.learninginnovationslab.org
- North Central Regional Educational Laboratory on leading and managing change and improvement—see www.ncrel.org/
Chapter 12: Teaching with Technology
- Andrew Gibbons’s model-centered instruction and design layers—www.instructionaldesign.org/theories/design-layers.html
- The Concord Consortium website—realizing the promise of educational technology—see www.concord.org
Chapter 13: Educational Technologies in the Workplace
- Center for Public Education—see https://www.nsba.org/Services/Center-for-Public-Education
- European Working Conditions Observatory: Quality of Work and Employment in Norway—see www.eurofound.europa.eu/ewco/studies/tn0612036s/no0612039q.htm
- Open-source software movement—https://opensource.org
Chapter 14: Design Technology-Supported Learning Environments
- Aimi Hamraie’s book Building Access: Universal Design and the Politics of Disability—www.upress.umn.edu/book-division/books/building-access
- The American Psychological Association’s Education and Socioeconomic Status Fact Sheet—www.apa.org/pi/ses/resources/publications/education
- CAST site for universal design for learning—www.cast.org/udl
- The Center for Inclusive Design and Environmental Access at the University of Buffalo—www.ap.buffalo.edu/idea
- Charlotte Jirousek’s art, design, and visual thinking website—http://char.txa.cornell.edu/language/principl/principl.htm
- Dan Calloway’s instructional design principles—www.academia.edu/681000/Instructional_Design_Principles
- Dave Merrill and colleagues’ chapter in the third edition of the Handbook of Research on Educational Communications and Technology on prescriptive principles for instructional design—https://api.pageplace.de/preview/DT0400.9781135596910_A24930220/preview-9781135596910_A24930220.pd
- Design principles website for examples of good web design—www.designprinciples.com
- The European Design for All e-Accessibility Network—www.edean.org Instructional design website—www.instructionaldesign.org
- John Lovett’s design and color website—www.johnlovett.com/test.htm
- L. Dee Fink’s A Self-Directed Guide to Designing Courses for Significant Learning—see https://www.deefinkandassociates.com/GuidetoCourseDesignAug05.pdf
- Marvin Bartel’s composition and design website—www.goshen.edu/art/ed/Compose.htm
- North Carolina State Center for Universal Design—www.ncsu.edu/www/ncsu/design/sod5/cud
- Rapid e-learning blog on graphic principles for instructional design—www.articulate.com/rapid-elearning/3-graphic-design-principles-for-instructional-design-success
- Tanya Elias’s journal article on universal instructional design principles published in the International Review of Research in Open and Distance Learning—www.irrodl.org/index.php/irrodl/article/view/869
- University of Minnesota disability services guide for teaching with access and inclusion—see https://docs.google.com/document/d/10nOIezyLFnKYUVO_jtttM2Oash8Dc3vgltC12MpyKGI/edit
- University of Washington website for the universal design of instruction—www.washington.edu/doit/Brochures/Academics/instruction.html
Chapter 15: Integrating Technologies into Activities and Tasks
- Center for Information Technology Integration—www.citi.umich.edu
- Defining the “Open” in Open Content and Open Educational Resources—http://opencontent.org/definition/
- Edutopia’s website for technology integration tools and resources—www.edutopia.org/technology-integration
- European Association of Technology-Enhanced Learning (EA-TEL)—https://ea-tel.eu/
- Kelly Walsh’s blog EmergingEdTech and technology integration resources—www.cw.edu/emergingtech-blog/
- Institute for Education Sciences 2019–2020 report on technology integration—https://nces.ed.gov/pubs2021/2021017.pdf
- Microsoft for Higher Education website—www.microsoft.com/en-us/education/higher-education
- National Center for Education Statistics Overview and Inventory of State Education Reforms: 1990 to 2000—https://nces.ed.gov/pubs2003/2003020.pdf
- National Clearinghouse for Education Facilities resources for technology integration— https://definitions.uslegal.com/n/national-clearinghouse-for-educational-facilities-ncef/
- National Technology Leadership Summit—https://ntls.info/
- The US Department of Education website on K–12 Reforms—www.ed.gov/k-12reforms
- Two perspectives on the real cost of technology integration: Debi Christensen’s blog on Classcraft—www.classcraft.com/blog/cost-of-technology-in-education/ and an Education Week article by Ian Quillen—http://blogs.edweek.org/edweek/DigitalEducation/2011/01/the_real_cost_of_technology_in.html
Chapter 16: Educational Technology Principles and Examples in a Variety of Contexts
- The learning organization website—www.infed.org/biblio/learning-organization.htm
- The Open Learning Initiative—https://oli.cmu.edu/courses/
- The Open University’s free learning website called OpenLearn—www.open.edu/openlearn/free-courses
Chapter 17: Professional Preparation and Training
- Centre de Recherche LICEF, Télé-Université, Université du Québec—see www.licef.ca
- Dynamic geometry software—see www.geogebra.org and www.dynamicgeometry.com
- Knewton—an educational technology enterprise that specializes in personalizing learning—see www.knewton.com/
- Minnesota Educational Computing Consortium (MECC)—see www.mecc.co
- The Maker Movement—integrating do-it-yourself technologies into learning and instruction—see http://makermedia.com and http://makerfaire.com/maker-movement
Chapter 18: Scalability and Replication Studies
- The Head Start Program—see www.acf.hhs.gov/programs/ohs
- The National Technology Leadership Summit—see www.ntls.info
- The National Science Teachers Association—see www.nsta.org/about/positions/ngss.aspx
- The Next Generation Science Standards—see www.nextgenscience.org
Chapter 19: Emerging Technologies
- The LOGO Foundation—https://el.media.mit.edu/logo-foundation/what_is_logo/history.html
- The Maker Movement—see http://makerfaire.com/maker-movement/ MOOC Research Hub—see www.moocresearch.com
- The New Media Consortium—see www.nmc.org
- Re-imagining the Computer at ComputerHistory.org—see www.computerhistory.org/revolution/mainframe-computers/7/162
- The Serious Games Initiative—see https://www.wilsoncenter.org/program/serious-games-initiative
- Things you should know about badges—see http://net.EDUCAUSE.edu/ir/library/pdf/eli7085.pdf
- Educators’ Technologies—www.educatorstechnology.com/2014/01/the-5-emerging-educational-technologies.html
- Article in Educational Technology and Society on emerging technologies—www.ifets.info/journals/16_2/3.pdf
- A systematic review of AI applications in education—https://educationaltechnologyjournal.springeropen.com/articles/10.1186/s41239-019-0171-0
- EDUCAUSE site for mobile learning—https://library.EDUCAUSE.edu/topics/teaching-and-learning/mobile-learning
- Micro-credentials at the National Education Assocaiton—http://www.nea.org/
- Moore's Law Is Dead; Now What—https://builtin.com/hardware/moores-law
- Ambitious predictions about computer powers keep failing—https://builtin.com/hardware/moores-law
- Mobile learning around the world—https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/M-learning
- What Is a Makerspace?—www.makerspaces.com/what-is-a-makerspace/
- The Beijing National Day School—www.teachaway.com/schools/beijing-national-day-school
- Smithsonian Institution online archives—www.si.edu/collections