Guides: ENGL 4245: Postcolonial Literature and Theory: Writing Resources

Summarizing, Paraphrasing, and Quotiong from Purdue OWL

Sample Essay for Summarizing, Paraphrasing, and Quoting from Purdue OWL
This handout compares and contrasts the three terms, gives some pointers, and includes a short excerpt that you can use to practice these skills.

Summarizing

Paraphrasing

Quoting

Must reference the original source
The text is much shorter than the original text. (For example, one may write a single page to summarize a four-page article.)
Must use your own words, usually with a very limited use of quotations.

Must reference the original source
The text produced may be shorter or longer than the original text

Must use your own words

Must reference the original source
The text produced is the exact length of the original text quoted (unless ellipses are used)

Use the original author’s exact words
Put quotation marks around the original author’s exact words
Include the page number of the original source from which you borrowed the author’s original language.

Citation Styles - English predominately uses MLA

MLA Guide from Purdue OWL
These OWL resources will help you learn how to use the Modern Language Association (MLA) citation and format style. This section contains resources on in-text citation and the Works Cited page, as well as MLA sample papers, slide presentations, and the MLA classroom poster.
MLA Sample Paper
Sample Paper
APA Style Guide from Purdue OWL
APA (American Psychological Association) style is most commonly used to cite sources within the social sciences. This resource, revised according to the 6th edition, second printing of the APA manual, offers examples for the general format of APA research papers, in-text citations, endnotes/footnotes, and the reference page. For more information, please consult the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, (6th ed., 2nd printing).
APA Sample Paper
Sample Paper
Chicago Manual of Style from Purdue OWL
This section contains information on The Chicago Manual of Style method of document formatting and citation. These resources follow the seventeenth edition of The Chicago Manual of Style, which was issued in 2017.
Chicago Manual of Style, Author Date Sample Paper
Author Date Sample Paper

more...
Chicago Manual of Style, Notes and Bibliography (NB) Sample Paper
Notes and Bibliography (NB) Sample Paper

Annotated Bibliography

Annotated Bibliographies from Purdue OWL

A bibliography is a list of sources (books, journals, Web sites, periodicals, etc.) one has used for researching a topic. An annotation is a summary and/or evaluation. Therefore, an annotated bibliography includes a summary and/or evaluation of each of the sources.

Common Writing Assignments from Purdue Writing Lab

Common Writing Assignments

These OWL resources will help you understand and complete specific types of writing assignments, such as annotated bibliographies, book reports, and research papers. This section also includes resources on writing academic proposals for conference presentations, journal articles, and books.

How to use RefWorks

RefWorks - Bibliographic Manager
How to create your Refworks account.
1. Enter the access code 1890-1506, go to the UNT Refworks login page at refworks.proquest.com/signup/university-of-north-texas (this link is also included in the Databases tab and in the Most Requested section on library.unt.edu)
2. Enter the UNT access code and submit.
3. Next complete the registration, and then you can start using your new account.
4. You can now login with your username and password through https://refworks.proquest.com/ wherever you have an Internet connection.
5. Visit our RefWorks Guide to learn how to make your research more efficient.

Video tutorials: https://guides.library.unt.edu/rwnew/videos

UNT Writing Lab

UNT Writing Lab
At the UNT Writing Lab, we offer free writing tutoring to all currently enrolled UNT students in all disciplines and at all stages of their academic careers--from English composition students to graduate students writing theses and dissertations. We do more than merely proofread; we teach you strategies and techniques to improve your writing for the long term.
We accept both appointments and walk-ins at our Sage Hall, Room 152 location. However, to ensure time with a tutor, we recommend setting an appointment.

Student Publishing Opportunities

Student Publishing Opportunities
If you are interested in publishing your article take a look at these possibilities.

Plagiarism

Plagiarism occurs when you use other people’s writing or ideas without giving credit to the creator. Any sequence of more than three words is plagiarism

We always give credit to other people’s creative and intellectual property. We respect the rights and property of others.

Some students make errors in citing because they do not give themselves enough time to cite their material while they write. Learning how to Quote, Summarize, and Paraphrase with In-text citation is critical and learning to include in-text citations while writing your paper will avoid possible citation errors. Please use the link above and practice citing material.

Once I contacted the author of an online resource and asked if I could use some of her information in a guide I was working on. She gave me permission and I cited the author in my guide.

Types of Plagiarism:

Direct or Clone – taking someone else’s work directly. This plagiarism carries the most severe penalty because it demonstrates dishonesty and involves intent.
Self Plagiarism – reusing work from a previous courses without permission from your professor.
Mosaic, patch writing, or find and replace plagiarism. If you quote a source, or keep the basic format from the source and use synonyms to change a few words, without properly citing the information, then you are committing plagiarism.
Accidental – this can occur if the student does not use their own critical analysis found from synthesizing the information learned, and instead uses the critical argument of another author.

Video: Student Success Series, A Student’s Guide to Avoiding Plagiarism and Understanding Citations

Avoid Plagiarism by citing your material correctly

If you are not sure if you need to cite your material, it is always better to cite and not have a problem with plagiarism.

Student Academic Integrity

Policy number:

06.003

Policy description:

UNT promotes the integrity of learning processed and embraces the core values of trust and honesty. Academic integrity is based on educational principles and procedures that protect the rights of all participants in the educational process and validate the legitimacy of degrees awarded by the university. In the investigation and resolution of allegations of student academic dishonesty, the university’s actions are intended to be corrective, educationally sound, fundamentally fair, and based on reliable evidence.

Writing Center. (2018, January). Six Common Types of Plagiarism. Ashford University. https://writingcenter.ashford.edu/sites/default/files/inline-files/Six%20Common%20Types%20of%20Plagiarism_0.pdf

Free Plagiarism Checker. (2021). Scan My Essay. Viper. https://www.scanmyessay.com/plagiarism/types-of-plagiarism.php

CopyLeaks. (2019, October 21). 4 Types of Olagiarism and How to Avoid Them. Copyleaks Technologies LTD. https://copyleaks.com/blog/types-of-plagiarism/

Office of Disabilities Access

Interpreting and CART Accommodations
he Office of Disability Access works to provide reasonable access and an inclusive environment to UNT students who identify as d/Deaf, Deaf-Blind, or Hard-of-Hearing. Reasonable accommodations include, but are not limited to the following:

American Sign Language Interpreters
CART Services
Closed Captioning for information presented in an audio or video format
Advanced copies of PowerPoints or Handouts
Reserved seat in the front of the class
Assistive listening devices

What is Thorough Research?

"Thorough research"

Reviewing all sources and finding relevant information for your paper..
Use correct sources (popular or scholarly) based on your assignment requirements. Use recommended databases from your school which guarantees the quality of the material found. If you use Google, Google Scholar, Yahoo or another search engine you have to evaluate the source which takes a considerable amount of time.
Using more than one sources gives a broader perspective on a subject. All journals write to a specific audience and the more articles or items you reference the greater your understanding of the current discussions surrounding your topic.

Evidence Explained. (2014, July 29). QuickTips. https://www.evidenceexplained.com/quicktips/

Literature Review and synthesizing Sources

Writing a Literature Review
In a review of the literature, the writer provides an overview of the most important research and scholarship on a specific topic, problem, or question. (In this context, "literature" refers to the important scholarly sources on a topic including the current scholarly conversation.
Synthesizing Sources
Synthesizing Sources from Purdue OWL
When you look for areas where your sources agree or disagree and try to draw broader conclusions about your topic based on what your sources say, you are engaging in synthesis. Writing a research paper usually requires synthesizing the available sources in order to provide new insight or a different perspective into your particular topic (as opposed to simply restating what each individual source says about your research topic).

University Libraries

ENGL 4245: Postcolonial Literature and Theory

How to Write a Research Question

How to Write a Research Question

How to Write an Outline

Research Paper

Revising

Synthesizing Sources

Close Reading and Critical Reading

Understanding Rhetoric

Rhetorical Analysis

Writing a Literature Review

Installing MS Office 365 ProPlus

Summarizing, Paraphrasing, and Quotiong from Purdue OWL

Citation Styles - English predominately uses MLA

Annotated Bibliography

Common Writing Assignments from Purdue Writing Lab

How to use RefWorks

UNT Writing Lab

Student Publishing Opportunities

Plagiarism

Office of Disabilities Access

What is Thorough Research?

Literature Review and synthesizing Sources

ENGL 4245: Postcolonial Literature and Theory

How to Write a Research Question

Summarizing, Paraphrasing, and Quotiong from Purdue OWL

Citation Styles - English predominately uses MLA

Annotated Bibliography

Common Writing Assignments from Purdue Writing Lab

How to use RefWorks

UNT Writing Lab

Student Publishing Opportunities

Plagiarism

Office of Disabilities Access

What is Thorough Research?

Literature Review and synthesizing Sources

Additional Links