Skip to Main Content

notice Some items are only available on campus or will require authentication via EUID and Password at the point of use.

MGMT 3720: Organizational Behavior

Resources to complete assignments in MGMT 3720.

Getting Started

Consider the following to understand the difference between news, trade and scholarly articles:

  • Scholarly/Peer-reviewed articles are written, read and sometimes evaluated by experts in the field to inform and report on research in a specific discipline.
  • Trade publications provide information for individuals in a specific industry or field.
  • Substantive news informs or educates the general public on a particular issue or topic.
  • Popular news reflects on popular culture of the time and often brings entertatinment value.
  • Sensational new incites emotions, interest or reactions and is typically inaccurate.

Content adapted from OLIN Library at Cornell University and California State University, Chico

Where can I get peer-reviewed articles?

ABI/INFORM

Provides full text and abstracts of articles in journals, magazines, and newspapers covering a wide range of topics in business and industry. Dates of Coverage: 1923 – Current

Using the "Advanced Search," check the "Peer Reviewed" box under "Limit your results."

Access the database at: https://libproxy.library.unt.edu/login?url=http://search.proquest.com/abiglobal

Find a video tutorial at: https://youtu.be/FPbAsS41bRA

Academic Search Complete

Comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals

For news articles, click on "Newspaper" under "Publication Type" in the Basic or Advanced Search. Then type keywords associated with your topic in the search box and click the "Search" button.

Access the database at: https://libproxy.library.unt.edu/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=ehost&defaultdb=a9h

Business Sources Complete

Provides full text and abstracts of articles in more than 1,200 journals, magazines, newspapers, videos, and periodicals covering a wide range of topics in business and industry.

Click on "Newspaper" under "Publication Type" in the Basic or Advanced Search. Then type keywords associated with your topic in the search box and click the "Search" button.

Access the database at: libproxy.library.unt.edu/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=ehost&defaultdb=bth

Find a video tutorial for this database at: https://www.youtube.com/embed/y2mADUuozW8

Nexis Uni

Provides access to news, legal, and business sources including journals, television and radio broadcasts, newswires and blogs, newspapers, and legal sources for federal and state cases and statutes.

For news, type keywords into the "Search in all News For" search box and click the "Search" button.

Access the database at: https://libproxy.library.unt.edu/login?url=http://www.nexisuni.com

Find video tutorials for this database at: https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PLdbPh35WxTMqcEizkbuKF6ev9PIvupOAJ

JSTOR

Provides access to archived backfiles of journals in business, including those dating back to the first volume ever published, along with thousands of monographs and other relevant materials.

Access the database at: https://libproxy.library.unt.edu/login?url=http://www.jstor.org/search