Article Search
UNT Libraries offers many resources including articles, journals, and databases to meet your research needs. The guides linked below provide instruction and tips on how to find and access each through UNT Libraries.
- Basic and Advanced Library ResearchLearn basic and advanced search methods for UNT Libraries online catalog, article search, and databases.
- Online Article SearchLearn how to use the Online Articles search, the Libraries' discovery tool that searches most of our journals simultaneously.
Database Search
Databases offer access to resources such as articles, journals, media, and more with the ability for more focused searching. Below are links to the directory of 700+ databases available through UNT Libraries and the top three databases recommended when searching for forensic science resources.
- UNT Libraries Database DirectoryA comprehensive list of available databases for more focused searching and resource discovery.
- Academic search completeAcademic Search Complete provides a scholarly collection providing full text coverage for over 10,500 journals for nearly all academic areas of study - including social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies, etc. Dates of Coverage: 1975 - Current
- Criminal Justice DatabaseThe Criminal Justice Database is a comprehensive database supporting research on crime, its causes and impacts, legal and social implications, as well as litigation and crime trends. Scholarly journals, correctional and law enforcement trade publications, crime reports, crime blogs, and more are available. Major subject coverage includes criminology, corrections administration, criminal law, criminal justice, law enforcement, addiction, family law, industrial security, and rehabilitation.
- Web of scienceWeb of Science provides users access to integrated, multidisciplinary research with sizable search and navigation options. Web of Science can connect users with over 12,000 journals worldwide, including open-access journals.
What is Peer Review?
Many instructors require you to use peer-reviewed sources for your papers and projects, but what does that mean?
- Peer review is the process of having experts in a field review the quality of an article or book before it is published
- Most articles in scholarly and academic journals are peer-reviewed
- Books published by university or academic presses are peer-reviewed
Most databases allow you to limit your search to peer-reviewed articles. Here are two examples:
- Academic search completeCheck the "Scholarly (Peer-Reviewed) Journals" box under "Limit Your Results"
- Research librarySelect "peer-reviewed" beneath the search box.
On & Off-Campus Access
Issues accessing online resources such as an e-book, articles, or a database through UNT Libraries? Review the On & Off Campus Access guide for troubleshooting instructions or contact the Ask Us service for assistance.
- On & Off-Campus AccessActions to take if experiencing issues accessing an online library resource through UNT Libraries website.
- Ask Us!UNT Libraries hotline! Chat, email, call, or visit in-person to receive library assistance.
Ask Us!
Need help? Then use the library's Ask Us service. Get help from real people face-to-face, by phone, by email, or by live chat.
