History Librarian
Secondary Sources
-
Academic search completeAcademic Search Complete provides a scholarly collection providing full text coverage for over 10,500 journals for nearly all academic areas of study - including social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies, etc. Dates of Coverage: 1975 - Current
-
Arts & Humanities Citation IndexThe Arts & Humanities Citation Index (A&HCI) is a citation index, with abstracting and indexing for more than 1,700 arts and humanities journals. Subject coverage includes not only arts and humanities but also language and linguistics, poetry, music, classical works, history, oriental studies, philosophy, archaeology, architecture, history, religion, television, theater, and radio. It covers a wide range of resource formats as well, including articles, letters, editorials, meeting abstracts, errata, poems, short stories, among many others.
-
Arts & Humanities Full TextArts & Humanities Database provides online access to select contemporary specialist arts titles combined with journals from related fields including ethnic studies, women’s studies, sociology, cultural studies, and more. Arts & Humanities Database titles include both scholarly peer-reviewed journals and selected trade and consumer titles relevant to applied arts and cultural studies. This database is part of the Art, Design & Architecture Collection.
-
ATLA religion database with ATLASerialsATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials includes more than 555,000 article citations from more than 1,656 journals (518 currently indexed), more than 232,000 essay citations from over 16,700 multi-author works, more than 511,000 book review citations, and a growing number of multimedia citations. Full text is provided for more than 266,000 electronic articles and book reviews, from more than 130 journals selected by leading religion scholars in the United States. Dates of Coverage: 1949 to present, although indexing for some journal titles extends back into the nineteenth century.
-
Bloomsbury Cultural History DatabaseBloomsbury Cultural History provides access to Bloomsbury's Cultural Histories series via a single cross-searchable and browsable interface. The Cultural Histories Series offers a survey of a wide range of subjects spanning Antiquity, the Middle Ages, the Early Modern period, and the Eighteenth, Nineteenth, Twentieth, and Twenty-first Centuries.
-
British History OnlineBritish History Online is a not-for-profit digital library based at the Institute of Historical Research. It brings together material for British history from the collections of libraries, archives, museums and academics. These primary and secondary sources, which range from medieval to twentieth century, are easily searchable and browsable online.
-
Cambridge Histories OnlineCambridge Histories Online is the online version of the printed book series from Cambridge University Press. This resource provides authoritative historical essays and bibliographies on wide ranging topics. Cambridge Histories Online contains e-Book collections in the subjects medieval history, Asian history, Middle East and African studies, philosophy and political thought, music and theater and more.
-
Cambridge journals onlineCambridge Journals Online A collection of full-text journals from the Cambridge University Press providing online access to nearly 200 of the world's leading journals. Dates of Coverage: Varies by title. 1997-current is the most common date range. Some date back to 1989.
-
De Gruyter OnlineDe Gruyter is a scholarly publishing house specializing in academic literature. De Gruyter Online includes information on more than 60,000 books, journals, and electronic products, as well as millions of entries from electronic journals, eBooks and databases, and subject coverage which includes architecture, chemistry, computer sciences, engineering, history, mathematics, physics, and social sciences, among others.
-
Directory of open access journals DOAJ.DOAJ (Directory of Open Access Journals) links to over 4000 open access journals across a variety of subjects and topics.
-
Duke University PressDuke University Press Journals includes online access to over forty Duke science, humanities and social science journals. Provides free searching and citations, with abstracts from scientific and academic journals, reports, and periodicals. Dates of Coverage: 2000 – Current
-
Gale OneFile: Gender StudiesGale OneFile: Gender Studies offers balanced articles covering topics including gender studies, family and marital issues, and more.
-
Gale OneFile: Military and IntelligenceGale OneFile: Military and Intelligence provides journals, magazines, and reports that cover past and present military affairs.
-
Gale OneFile: War and TerrorismGale OneFile: War and Terrorism covers conflicts on a global scale, including their causes, impacts, and perceptions.
-
Gale OneFile: World HistoryGale OneFile: World History offers coverage of events in world history as well as scholarly work in the field.
-
Gender studies databaseGender Studies Database Combines the Women's Studies International and Men's Studies databases with the coverage of sexual diversity issues. This database includes more than 764,000 records, Dates of Coverage: 1972 and earlier to the present.
-
Historical AbstractsHistorical Abstracts Provides searchable access to abstracts of journal articles and citations to book titles and dissertations gleaned from over 1700 journal titles dealing with the history of the world (excluding North America) from 1450 to the present. Writings in over 50 languages are included. All abstracts, however, are written in English. Links to full-text journal articles in JSTOR and Project Muse are available from some abstracts. Indexes publications from 1954 to the present. Dates of Coverage: 1998 - Current
-
JSTORJSTOR provides access to archived backfiles of journals in the arts and sciences, business, language and literature, science, ecology and botany, and music: over 2,000 academic journals, dating back to the first volume ever published, along with thousands of monographs and other relevant materials. Users can access the full-text content beginning with the first volume of each journal although recent volumes may or may not be included, depending on the agreement between JSTOR and publishers of the journal in question. As a result, some titles may lag behind in terms of JSTOR coverage. Content may date back to 1890, up to present-day.
-
Military & government collection.Military and Government Collection Provides full text, abstracts, indexes, journal articles, book reviews, and current news pertaining to all branches of the military. Dates of Coverage: varies by title.
-
Oxford OpenOxford University Press (OUP) is the largest university press in the world and a major publisher of academic journals, both in the sciences and the humanities. OUP is also one of the first university presses to publish an open access journal and currently maintains a number of publications that fall under open access, which users can peruse through the link. OUP also offers a limited number of monographs for open access as well.
-
Project MuseProject Muse serves as a leading provider of digital humanities and social science content for the scholarly community, granting patrons access to books and electronic journals through their online portal. Project Muse provides content from a number of university presses and scholarly societies, with over 120 publishers participating.
-
ProQuest Research Library: Historydesigned to cover the top 150 core academic subject reference areas, as well as provide hundreds of general interest periodicals from around the world, so not only is it an invaluable database for a number of different academic disciplines, it's also accessible to readers and researchers at every level.
-
Taylor & Francis online journalsTaylor & Francis Journals is a package offering full-text access to over 200 journals and index access to over 1,600 titles spanning all areas of humanities, social sciences, science, engineering and technology. Dates of Coverage: Varies by journal.
Secondary Source Definition
A secondary source is second-hand information written or created after an event. Secondary sources may summarize, interpret, review, or criticize existing events or works. Secondary sources were written or created after an event by people who were not at the original event. Secondary sources can be many formats including books, articles, encyclopedias, textbooks, or a scholar’s interpretation of past events or conditions.
Examples of Primary Sources and Secondary Sources:
Primary Source: Secondary Source:
An original painting by Mary Cassatt A book about the artist Mary Cassatt
President Lincoln's Gettysburg Address An article about Abraham Lincoln
A photograph of Harry Houdini A website about Houdini's magic tricks
An original Gershwin musical score A recent recording of Gershwin songs
(Source: U.S. Library of Congress https://ask.loc.gov/faq/303148)