Being familiar Indigenous protocols is important within researching Indigenous music. Below are some recommended sources to learn about Indigenous protocols for research:

• Decolonizing Methodologies: Research and Indigenous Peoples by Linda Tuhiwai Smith (also available online here)
• Indigenous Methodologies: Characteristics, Conversations, and Contexts by Margaret Kovach
• Applying Indigenous Research Methods: Storying with Peoples and Communities edited by Sweeney Windchief and Timothy San Pedro
• Protocols for Native American Archival Materials
• Indigenous Studies Research Ethics (Trent University)
• Protocols for Libraries, Archives and Information Services (Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Library, Information and Resources Network Inc.) 
• Indigenous Data, Indigenous Methodologies and Indigenous Data Sovereignty by Maggie Walter and Michele Suina

You can find more writings by searching for authors' other works, as well as their collaborators and cited sources. The books included in the "Books and Sheet Music" tab are a good place to start.

There is no journal specifically for Native American/Indigenous music studies. Articles are typically found in music or Indigenous journals and databases, as well as history, sociology, anthropology, philosophy, and more.

Journals on Indigenous Culture

• NAIS: Journal of the Native American and Indigenous Studies Association
• Indigenous Nations Studies Journal
• Cultural Survival Quarterly
• Settler Colonial Studies
• American Indian Culture and Research Journal
• American Indian Quarterly
• Canadian Journal of Native Studies

  ---

Databases on Indigenous Culture

• American Indian Movement and Native American Radicalism
• Indigenous Newspapers in North America
• Tribal Treaties Database
• Gale Indigenous Peoples of North America
• Google Arts & Culture Indigenous Expressions
• Indigenous Histories and Cultures in North America
• Bibliography of Indigenous Peoples in North America
• National Native American Boarding School Healing Coalition Resource Database Center (Advisory: The content contained herein may trigger secondary trauma or PTSD; we encourage individuals to seek counseling or healing if you experience any stress related to boarding school history. Indigenous peoples are warned that this database contains images, names, and references to deceased persons.)
• Toolboxes for Nation Building
• Native Land Digital
• Carlisle Indian School Digital Resource Center
• Genoa Indian School Digital Reconciliation Project
• I-Portal: Indigenous Studies Portal (University of Saskatchewan)
• Early Encounters in North America
• Ethnic NewsWatch
• American Indians and the American West

  ---

Music Sources

For music sources, please refer to the below UNT Music Library research sources. Use a variety of keywords to locate Indigenous topics. For example, "Indigenous," "Native American," and "American Indian" or "Haudenosaunee" and "Iroquois" may yield different sets of desired results.

• Music Research Guide
• Music Streaming Audio and Video Databases
• Music Education Research
• Other UNT Music Library Guides