Guides: PUBH 4015: Ethics in Public Health: Find Policy Information

Policy research databases

The following library databases all contain reports, research summaries, policy briefs, and other relevant resources to support your research assignment.

Policy File Index
Policy File Index is a resource for U.S. public policy research. Information is provided from public policy think tanks, nongovernmental organizations, research institutes, university centers, advocacy groups, and other entities. Foreign and domestic policy topics are included. Some records link directly to the full-text report, paper, document, or other source. Subject coverage includes social sciences, political science, public policy, international relations, public administration, and economics.
CQ Press library
Created and hosted by CQ Press, the CQ Press Library is the definitive reference resource for research in American government, politics, history, public policy, and current affairs. These reference products offer researcherswhether students, scholars, professionals, or interested citizensa range of tools for discovering and understanding CQ Press's content. Dates of Coverage: varies by source.

Additional policy resources

The following websites contain health policy information that may be helpful for your research paper. The websites below represent the federal government (Congressional Research Service), nonpartisan private foundations (Kaiser Family Foundation and Robert Wood Johnson Foundation), "think tanks" (Commonwealth, Urban Institute, and Pew Research Center) and independent scholars (JAMA). They all present reports and other information products informed by evidence and empirical research.

Congressional Research Service
U.S. Congress' research arm that provides nonpartisan briefing papers. Search by topic to find detailed, thorough, and authoritative reports on a variety of health policy topics.
JAMA Forum Archives
Health policy research and commentary from the Journal of the American Medical Association Network
Kaiser Family Foundation website
Kaiser Family Foundation is a nonprofit organization focusing on national health issues, as well as the U.S. role in global health policy. KFF develops and runs its own policy analysis, journalism and communications programs and serves as a nonpartisan source of facts, analysis and journalism for policymakers, the media, the health policy community and the public.
Commonwealth Fund
A private foundation that funds independent research on health care, including cost, access, and quality in the U.S. and elsewhere.
Robert Wood Johnson Foundation
Philanthropy focused solely on health that funds studies of insurance issues.
Urban Institute - health and health policy
The Urban Institute studies health care costs, access, quality, and coverage to guide state and federal health policy. Using microsimulation tools and rigorous data analysis, experts predict the trade-offs of reform proposals and policy decisions and identify solutions to get the most value from our health care system.
Pew Research Center
Pew Research Center is a nonpartisan fact tank that informs the public about the issues, attitudes and trends shaping the world. Pew conducts public opinion polling, demographic research, content analysis and other data-driven social science research and they do not take policy positions.

PUBH 4015: Ethics in Public Health

Policy research databases

Additional policy resources

Additional Links