Search for a newspaper title in the library collection
To browse or search within a particular newspaper online, start by searching for the newspaper title in the UNT Libraries e-Journals search.
- In the main search box on UNT Libraries homepage http://www.library.unt.edu/, type the newspaper title into the search field, and click "Search"
- On the results page, select the matching title. It could be under "Books & More" or "Journals"
- Next, click on the full text option that includes the dates you want, next to the title that most closely matches the newspaper title you searched
- Several databases allow you to search older archival content from the New York Times.
- Current articles from the New York Times are available in Gale and NexisUni databases
Newspaper article databases
- Nexis UniNexis Uni provides access to news, legal, and business sources including journals, television and radio broadcasts, newswires and blogs, newspapers, and legal sources for federal and state cases and statutes.
- LexisNexis Newspaper InstructionsInstructions for using the advanced search options in LexisNexis, to narrow results to newspaper articles, published within the last year, and related to regional and local government
- Access world newsAccess World News provides full-text information from over 600 U.S. and over 700 international news sources. Includes newspapers, newsmagazines, news wires, and transcripts. Dates of Coverage: Current
NOTE: The license for this product restricts authorized use to access by current faculty and students of the University of North Texas. The person accessing this link is liable for any infringement. - Alternative press index.Alternative Press Index indexes nearly 300 alternative, radical and left periodicals, newspapers and magazines covering cultural, economic, political and social change. Coverage is international and interdisciplinary. Dates of Coverage: 1991 to present
- Press ReaderPressReader is a newspaper database that includes LA Times, Fort Worth Star Telegram, and many more US and international newspapers. All of the publications offered can be read online, in print or downloaded via the PressReader app.
*Press Reader is great for scanning today's headlines, but not as great for searching for subject-specific content.
Journal article databases
- ABI/INFORMABI Inform provides full text and abstracts of articles in journals, magazines, and newspapers covering a wide range of topics in business and industry. Dates of Coverage: 1923 – Current
- Academic search completeAcademic Search Complete provides a scholarly collection providing full text coverage for over 10,500 journals for nearly all academic areas of study - including social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies, etc. Dates of Coverage: 1975 - Current
- JSTORJSTOR provides access to archived backfiles of journals in the arts and sciences, business, language and literature, science, ecology and botany, and music: over 2,000 academic journals, dating back to the first volume ever published, along with thousands of monographs and other relevant materials. Users can access the full-text content beginning with the first volume of each journal although recent volumes may or may not be included, depending on the agreement between JSTOR and publishers of the journal in question. As a result, some titles may lag behind in terms of JSTOR coverage. Content may date back to 1890, up to present-day.
- Online ArticlesThe "Online Articles" tab on the library homepage provide a way to search ALL library databases simultaneously. The advanced search can be used to narrow content type to newspapers or journal articles.
It's a good place to search by individual journal or newspaper title, using the advanced search options.
It's also a good place to search when your topic is interdisciplinary.
And finally, it can be used to easily search for specific articles by title, when you want to find the full text article for which you already have a citation. Just plug the entire article title into the search box and search.