It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Peer review is a practice in which an article proposed for publication is reviewed by a group of experts in the same field as the article to establish that it meets established standards for scholarly research.
Many databases include a checkbox that allows you to limit search results to peer reviewed items. Sometimes it appears in the area below the basic search box. If it isn't there, look at the search options available with the advanced search.
Another way to determine if an article is Peer Reviewed or Scholarly, is to search for thetitle of the journal which published the articlein:Ulrichsweb
TheReferee Shirticon indicates the journal isrefereed or peer reviewed.
Finding Trade Publications
A trade journal is a periodical that targets individuals working in a particular industry, trade or profession. They are often published by industry or professional associations. The articles focus on trends, best practices and events in that field. New practices and trends often appear in trade journals before they appear in scholarly journals.
Many databases include a checkbox that allows you to select the types of sources that will be included in the search results. It is usually in a list of items called "Publication Type," "Source Type," or "Content Type." Sometimes it appears in the area below the basic search box. If it isn't there, look at the search options available with the advanced search.
Interlibrary Loan Service
If there is article you are looking for but it is not owned by the UNT Libraries, you can make a request for it through our Interlibrary Loan Service. For more information about the service and how to set up an ILLiad account to request materials, visit here.
These are suggested databases you may search within to find articles on your topic. To find other databases the Libraries provides access to, please go here.
Academic Search Complete provides a scholarly collection providing full text coverage for over 10,500 journals for nearly all academic areas of study - including social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies, etc. Dates of Coverage: 1975 - Current
AgEcon Search Full-text open access library of scholarly articles on agricultural economics, including subdisciplines such as agribusiness, food supply, natural resource economics, environmental economics, policy issues, agricultural trade, and economic development. Maintained at the University of Minnesota by Magrath Library and the Department of Applied Economics. Dates of Coverage: 1995 - present
AGRICOLA covers all aspects of agriculture and allied disciplines, such as animal and veterinary sciences, entomology, plant sciences, forestry, aquaculture and fisheries, farming systems, agricultural economics, extension and education, food and human nutrition, and earth and environmental sciences. This resource provides more than 5 million citations to journal articles, monographs, theses, patents, software, audiovisual materials, and technical reports.
Business Insights: Global provides an international perspective on company and industry information for over 500,000 companies. Includes company profiles, industry rankings, marketing information, products, brands, investment ratings, financial ratios, financial statements, market size, industries by SIC, directory information, and more. Dates of coverage: varies by company
Business Source Complete provides full text and abstracts of articles in more than 1,200 journals, magazines, newspapers, videos, and periodicals covering a wide range of topics in business and industry. Provides company profiles, industry profiles, market research reports and country reports. Additional full text, non-journal content includes financial data, books, monographs, major reference works, book digests, conference proceedings, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses and more. Dates of Coverage: 1886 to present.
UNT may not subscribe to all titles through this platform: full access is not guaranteed. Patrons may wish to utilize other resources to fulfill their information needs. Emerald, also known as Emerald Publishing, manages a portfolio of over 295 journals and over 2,500 books, with a significant range of subject coverage.
Food Studies Online offers a variety of information related to food studies with 80,000 pages of primary archival materials, images, and secondary works, plus 200 hours of documentaries and series. Highlights include documentaries, a series of interviews with small farmers, records from the National Archives related to the school lunch program as well as WWII food campaign (Victory Gardens, for example), restaurant menu collections and more.
This resource provides patrons with a collection of consumer health information, with access to more than 80 full-text consumer health magazines as well full-text access to current health-related pamphlets and 110 health reference e-books. This database covers topics such as AIDS, cancer, diabetes, drugs and alcohol, womens health, and more.
This resource provides patrons with a trusted source of nursing and allied health literature, with coverage of an array of relevant topics including pediatric nursing, critical care, mental health, nursing management, medical law, and more. This database includes more than 355 full-text journals and more than 830 abstracted and indexed journals.
The journals division of Human Kinetics produces over 25 scholarly and professional publications spanning over almost as many fields and professions. They profess that their scholarly journals provide the latest research while their professional publications offer practical information.
MEDLINE via EBSCOhost authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Created by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) indexing with tree, tree hierarchy, subheadings and explosion capabilities to search citations from current biomedical journals. Included are citations from Index Medicus, International Nursing Index, Index to Dental Literature, HISTLINE, SPACELINE, PREMEDLINE®, AIDSLINE®, BIOETHICSLINE®, and HealthSTAR®. Dates of Coverage: Varies by publication
Nexis Uni provides access to news, legal, and business sources including journals, television and radio broadcasts, newswires and blogs, newspapers, and legal sources for federal and state cases and statutes.
PubMed Central (National Library of Medicine) Digital archive of life sciences journal literature, developed and managed by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) at the U.S. National Library of Medicine (NLM) Dates of Coverage: Varies by journal PMC has material dating back to mid- to late-1800s or early 1900s for some journals
ScienceDirect connects researchers, teachers, and students to a broad array of high quality journal articles, book chapters, and supplementary data users can access over 2,000 academic journals and more than 33,000 books. ScienceDirect offers content from four major subject areas: physical sciences and engineering, life sciences, health sciences, and social sciences and humanities. ScienceDirect also hosts a number of open-access journals.
SPORTDiscus via Ebscohost offers comprehensive bibliographic coverage of sport, , physical fitness, exercise, sports medicine, physical education, kinesiology, health education, biomechanics, movement science, injury prevention rehabilitation, physical therapy, rehabilitation, nutrition, exercise physiology, sport and exercise psychology, occupational health and therapy, public health and more. This database contains over 1.7 million records with journal and monograph coverage going back to 1800, over 22,000 dissertations and theses, and articles in 60 different languages. The content also contains international references from journal and magazine articles, books, book chapters, conference proceedings and more. Dates of Coverage: Varies by publication some citations date back to 1800.
A list of nutrition journals found in the UNT Libraries collection may be found at this link. If accessing any of the resources remotely, you will be asked to enter your euid and password.