Guides: MKTG 3650: Foundations of Marketing Practice: Find News & Trade Articles

What's the difference between news and trade articles?

Consider the following to understand the difference between news and trade articles:

Trade publications provide information for individuals in a specific industry or field.
Substantive news informs or educates the general public on a particular issue or topic.
Popular news reflects on popular culture of the time and often brings entertainment value.
Sensational news incites emotions, interest or reactions and is typically inaccurate.

Content adapted from OLIN Library at Cornell University and California State University, Chico

Find News & Trade Articles at UNT Libraries

60 Minutes: 1997-2014
This online collection provides 350 hours of video from 17 years of broadcasts. True to 60 MINUTES’ iconic style, each news segment within the collection serves as a standalone short documentary on a specific news topic.
ABI/INFORM
ABI Inform provides full text and abstracts of articles in journals, magazines, and newspapers covering a wide range of topics in business and industry. Dates of Coverage: 1923 – Current
Access world news
Access World News provides full-text information from over 600 U.S. and over 700 international news sources. Includes newspapers, newsmagazines, news wires, and transcripts. Dates of Coverage: Current

NOTE: The license for this product restricts authorized use to access by current faculty and students of the University of North Texas. The person accessing this link is liable for any infringement.
Newspaper Source Plus
Newspaper Source Plus includes more than 860 full-text newspapers, providing more than 35 million full-text articles. In addition, the database features more than 857,000 television and radio news transcripts.
Nexis Uni
Nexis Uni provides access to news, legal, and business sources including journals, television and radio broadcasts, newswires and blogs, newspapers, and legal sources for federal and state cases and statutes.
PressReader
PressReader is a news community where people can read, share, and talk about news. PressReader partners with top magazine and newspaper publishers in over 100 countries to help them distribute their content globally. All of the publications offered can be read online, in print or downloaded via the PressReader app.
Regional business news
Regional Business News includes abstracts for regional U.S. and Canadian business publications , including newspapers, radio & TV news transcripts, and trade publications. Dates of Coverage: Varies by title.

MKTG 3650: Foundations of Marketing Practice

What's the difference between news and trade articles?

Find News & Trade Articles at UNT Libraries

Additional Links