Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

PSCI 3160 Mass Media in American Politics

Library research guide for PSCI 3160

How to Find Articles in Required Journal Titles

One of the requirements for your paper is that you MUST include at least TWO journal articles from The American Journal of Political Science, American Political Science Review, Journal of Politics, Political Research Quarterly, Political Behavior, Communications Research, or Political Communication.

To accomplish this, you will need to search the library catalog for the journal title. First, go to the library website, then select the Books & More tab (circled in red below), next select Journal Title from the drop down menu below the text box (circled in red below), add the title to the text box (the example shows American Journal of Political Science highlighted in yellow below), finally, click the Search button to the right of the text box.

 

The results page will show links to print and online holdings, select the link for the online holdings (highlighted in yellow below).

The next page will show the databases that have access too the American Journal of Political Science and their coverage. Select Academic Search Complete (highlighted in yellow below) from the list. At this point, if you are off campus, you will be prompted to enter your EUID and Password to access the database.

When you are in Academic Search Complete, you will want to select the link to Search within this publication (circled in red below).

This will take you to the basic search screen, select the Advanced Search link (circled in red below), to search within the American Journal of Political Science.

In the advanced search, enter search terms in the second text box (the example, politics and television, highlighted in yellow below) and click the Search button to the right (circled in red below).

If you need help, please contact your Political Science Librarian!

Finding Scholarly/Peer Reviewed Articles

Communication and Mass Media Complete provides the most robust, quality research solution in areas related to communication and mass media. Incorporates the content of CommSearch (formerly produced by the National Communication Association) and Mass Media Articles Index (formerly produced by Penn State) along with numerous other journals in communication, mass media, and other closely-related fields of study. Cover-to-cover (“core”) indexing and abstracts for more than 570 journals, and selected (“priority”) coverage of nearly 200 more, for a combined coverage of more than 770 titles.

To access Communication and Mass Media Complete, go to the Databases tab from the blue box on the library homepage. Use the Select a Database drop down, select Communication and Mass Media Complete (highlighted in yellow below) from the drop down menu, then click the Go button to the right (circled in red below). 

Enter your search terms in the text box (highlighted in yellow below) then click the Search button to the right of the text box (circled in red below.) If you are searching a phrase in any database hosted by Ebsco you will need to put it in quotes (the example below shows "House of Cards") this lets the database know you want those words searched back to back instead of anywhere in the record.

Use the limiters on the left side of the page to view only Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals (circled in red below.) If you are getting too many results, you can add addition search terms to narrow your search, using the word and to let the database know you want articles with "House of Cards" and conventions (highlighted in yellow below). If you need help please ask your Political Science Librarian!

Finding News Transcripts via LexisNexis

To locate news transcripts from LexisNexis, use the Search By Subject or Topic drop down (circled in red below) then click on the Broadcast Transcripts link (highlighted in yellow below), this will take you to a new search screen.

On the Broadcast Transcripts Search page (pictured below), type in your selected television program in the text box (the example shown is the Daily Show highlighted in yellow), then click on the Advanced Options link just below the text box. Select your Date range (highlighted in yellow below) and the news Sources (highlighted in yellow below) you want to review. Finally, click Apply (circled in red below), then click the Search button to the right of the text field (circled in red below). The results page will show all transcripts with your search term for your date range by the sources selected.

If you need help, please contact your Political Science Librarian!

Additional Recommended Databases

The following are additional suggested databases for finding scholarly (peer reviewed) journals for this paper.

Additional Links

top