Descriptions of major items in the UNT Libraries Government Documents Map Collection; links to selected map collections on the Internet.
Last Updated: Aug 22, 2012
We've moved! Several of the links listed below will not work yet. We'll try to get that corrected ASAP.
- K-12 Educators
The UNT Libraries' Map Collection, which contains some of the Libraries' maps, atlases, and posters, is housed in the Government Documents Department on the Third Floor of Willis Library.
A few maps are listed in the UNT Library Catalog, but many are not. If you want to know if we have a map, or if you want someone to retrieve a map for you, ask for assistance at the Government Documents Service Desk on the 3rd Floor of Willis Library.
Always check the publication date when you use a map or atlas. The world's borders change often these days, so the maps we have are not always up to date.
- Online Maps
Many maps are available online today. These maps are often more up to date than the paper maps available in the library.
- Perry-Castañeda Library Map Collection at UT - Austin
Extensive collection of scanned images of outline maps, as well as links to numerous other maps available on the Internet.
- Library of Congress Map Collections
The Geography and Map Division of the Library of Congress holds more than 4.5 million items, of which this online set represents only a small fraction: those that have been converted to digital form. The focus of Map Collections is Americana and Cartographic Treasures of the Library of Congress. These images were created from maps and atlases and, in general, are restricted to items that are not covered by copyright protection.
- Maps and GIS INFOMINE
Links to satellite images, photographs, software and data/image bases, and other resources related to maps and geographic information systems. Can be searched and browsed by title or by Library of Congress subject headings, keywords, and authors.
- National Geographic Maps
Generate a custom-made map using an interactive mapping tool, browse an extensive collection of historic and contemporary maps, or purchase
maps from National Geographic's collection of world-renowned cartography.
- Rand McNally
Get online maps, directions, and mileage information, or purchase maps and atlases from this popular provider of map resources.
- U.S. Geological Survey Books and Other Publications Online
A limited number of publications in the various USGS formal and informal report series are available on the Internet. First select the individual series to view a list of titles.
- Interactive Mapping Services
Create your own custom maps on the fly with these online mapping services.
- Google Maps
Generates a zoomable map focused on an address or ZIP code. Provides driving directions, interactive maps, and satellite/aerial imagery for anywhere in the world. Can also search by keyword such as type of business.
- Bing Maps
Free mapping service allows you to create, customize, and save easy-to-read digital maps pinpointing almost any location within the United States or Canada. Also includes traffic reports, a business directory, pictures, detailed maps of venues, and numerous calculators and other apps.