Al Jazeera’s Creative Commons Repository contains broadcast footage that Al Jazeera has released under various Creative Commons licenses.

A selection of online video clips on current news events.

Contains all C-SPAN programs since 1987, indexed, abstracted, and cataloged by the C-SPAN Archives staff.

A large selection of streaming video from the PBS public affairs series, Frontline.

Economics videos created by the International Monetary Fund.

This resource features more than 250 campaign commercials from every presidential election since 1952.

Online episodes of the public affairs series Moyers and Company

Provides direct access to visual news stories and analysis of the current issues, selected from the web by journalists and documentarians.

A series of animated films critically exploring topic such as consumerism, globalization and the financial system.

This website contains video lectures from leading scholars in the areas of astronomy, biology, chemistry, computer science, economics, engineering, English,entrepreneurship, history, law, mathematics, medicine, philosophy, physics, political science, psychology and religion.

Annenberg Media distributes a wide variety of educational films. If you are using an Annenberg Media VIDEO CONTENT course in an online, HYBRID, BROADCAST, OR VIDEO BASED environment and linking to the VOD, a distance learning license is required.

Journal of Visualized Experiments (JoVE) is an online journal publishing visualized (video-based) biological research studies. JoVE offers open access to its journal issues two years after original publication.

With a library of over 2,400 videos covering everything from arithmetic to physics, finance, and history and 125 practice exercises, we're on a mission to help you learn whatever you want, whenever you want, at your own pace.

Free online audio & video lectures, along with supporting materials, covering a wide variety of math and science related subjects, including biology, physics, computer science, mathematics, chemistry, medicine and engineering.

MIT instructors provide a range of courses freely available online.

This webpage provides links to public domain video of some of those sites, including national parks, monuments, battlefields, historic sites and related areas.

A series of films created by Ascher Shapiro in the 1960s, used to teach fluid mechanics.

Relativity Series is an ongoing series featuring science-themed plays. The series currently includes 25 plays on topics from astronomy, physics, and cosmology to the mathematics of code-breaking, the ethics of scientific research, and the invention of television.

The Roman Vishniac Film Collection comprises Vishniac's pioneering work in naturalist mircocinematography and photomicroscopy. Portions of this collection may be viewed online

Contains multimedia videos highlighting the U.S. Department of Energy's scientific research.

The Alfred P. Sloan Foundation Science and Film website hosted by the Museum of the Moving Image "supports the creation of realistic and entertaining stories about science and technology, many of which challenge existing stereotypes about scientists and engineers". The website features full-length digital films, dialogues between scholars and filmmakers, and a selection of articles written by film critics.

The Stanford Health Library provides a collection of online videos covering various health topics, including health and society, cancer support, and women's health.

TED.com offers the best talks and performances from TED and partners available to the world, for free. More than 900 TEDTalks are now available, with more added each week.

View select films from the PBS series American Experience online in their entirety.

Annenberg Media distributes a wide variety of educational films. If you are using an Annenberg Media VIDEO CONTENT course in an online, HYBRID, BROADCAST, OR VIDEO BASED environment and linking to the VOD, a distance learning license is required.

The EVIA Digital Archive Project is a collaborative endeavor to create a digital archive of ethnographic field video for use by scholars and instructors.

Great Performances presents a diverse programming portfolio of classical music, opera, popular song, musical theater, dance, drama, and performance documentaries.

A collection of over 100,000 free videos and films online. Includes a large selection of ephemeral films from the Prelinger Archives.

A large growing collection of historical and contemporary dance performances from the New York Public Library's Jerome Robbins Dance Division Moving Image Archive.

Documentaries, animations, alternative dramas and interactive productions from the National Film Board of Canada collection.

A variety of full length films, short films and lesson plan based clips from the acclaimed non fiction film series P.O.V.

"The Roland Collection of films on art offers inexhaustible worlds of history, culture, philosophy, emotion, human document, celebration, protest, moral challenge and imaginative liberation - all embodied in the forms of art. "

TED.com offers the best talks and performances from TED and partners available to the world, for free. More than 900 TEDTalks are now available, with more added each week.

TED-Ed is a free educational website for teachers and learners. TED-Ed’s award-winning original lessons, represent collaborations between expert educators, screenwriters and animators.

Selected video excerpts and transcripts from public television station WGBH's archives.

The Human Rights Channel is a collaboration between WITNESS and Storyful. The collection includes over 1,892 videos from 90 countries. The HRC identified, verifies, and curates citizen video. This footage is filmed by normal citizens across the world, who find themselves in anything but normal situations--and who decide to take action and film what's going on around them. Through their eyes, we see the world's most pressing human rights issues; and we can use this knowledge to create meaningful change.

The Bray Studios produced roughly 540 animated films between 1913 and 1936. The majority were of the comical "cartoon" type, but numerous educational and technical animated films were also included.

The BFI, a world renowned archive of British film history, has made a large selection of cinema and television related films, clips and trailers available through their YouTube channel.

Critical Commons is a non-profit advocacy coalition that supports the use of media for teaching, learning, and creativity by providing resources, information, and tools for scholars, students, educators and creators. The website offers film, television, and video clips, accompanied by commentary.

Mosfilms, the legendary Russian film studio, has made a number of their classic films available for free online viewing and for low cost download. Films are available on the Mosfilms website and on the Mosfilm YouTube channel.

This resource features over fifty of Max Fleischer's animated shorts.

Documentaries, animations, alternative dramas and interactive productions from the National Film Board of Canada collection.

More than 50 films provide a representative cross section of the output produced by the Thanhouser film enterprise based in New Rochelle, New York between 1910 and 1917.

The Sound Recordings catalog comprises over 17,400 digital audio files, beginning with Alan Lomax’s first recordings onto (newly invented) tape in 1946 and tracing his career into the 1990s. In addition to a wide spectrum of musical performances from around the world, it includes stories, jokes, sermons, personal narratives, interviews conducted by Lomax and his associates, and unique ambient artifacts captured in transit from radio broadcasts

A collection of vintage motion pictures offers rich perspectives on the American Indian experience.

From the late 1940s to the early 1960s, the AJC-radio TV Department produced a steady stream of films related to questions of intergroup relations. In addition to films and television, this archive also contains online radio programs and oral histories.

Provides online access to BBC's archives including themed collections of radio and TV programs, documents and photographs.

British Pathe Limited makes available 75 years of English newsreel footage. 85,000 films are available through their YouTube page.

The Civil Rights Digital Library directs users to online films, texts, images, audio recordings, etc related to the Civil Rights movement in the United States in the 1950's and 1960's.

Several hundred early motion pictures are viewable on the Library of Congress' Digital Collections web page. Collections include, American at Work, American Variety Stage, Origins of American Animation and others.

A collection of films from various European film archives.

Provides streaming access to a large collection of documentary films about American folk, or roots, cultures.

The Fortunoff Video Archive for Holocaust Testimonies is a collection of over 4,400 videotaped interviews with witnesses and survivors of the Holocaust.

The Gordon Knox Film Collection contains over 100 films created by Texas-born filmmaker Gordon Knox (1906 – 1992) or Mr. Knox’s production company, The Princeton Film Archives. The collection contains short and feature-length documentaries produced between 1937 and 1964 for the United States Armed Forces, state and federal government agencies, non-profit organizations and private sector clients.

A collection of over 60,000 "ephemeral" (advertising, educational, industrial, and amateur) films.

Search over 6.4 million records with 536,000 images, video and sound files, electronic journals and other resources from the Smithsonian's museums, archives & libraries.

A small collection of episodes from the sensational 1970's all black variety show, Soul!. Made available by WNET Thirteen.

29 films from the Sulphur Springs Collection of Pre-Nickelodeon Films collection, 1898 - 1906. Includes 7 panaramas taken by Edison cameramen of the aftermath of the 1906 San Francisco earthquake.

A collection of Texas films including local television, home movies, advertisements, industrial films, features, documentaries and more.

The Texas Historical Television Footage collection contains unedited television footage regarding events and sites of various places across Texas; including Grapevine, McAllen, College Station, Corpus Christi, and Brownsville.

A collection online video and audio recordings of notable lectures, events, and readings held at University of California, Berkeley.This collection includes information onf the Free Speech Movement, the Black Panther Party, Anti-Vietnam War Protests in the San Francisco Area and Beyond, and LGBT History.

In the pre-TV era, people saw the news every week in their neighborhood movie theaters. Newsreels were shown before every feature film and in dedicated newsreel theaters located in large cities. Universal Newsreel, produced from 1929 to 1967, was released twice a week. Each issue contained six or seven short stories, usually one to two minutes in length, covering world events, politics, sports, fashion, and whatever else might entertain the movie audience. These newsreels offer a fascinating and unique view of an era when motion pictures defined our culture and were a primary source of visual news reporting.

YouTube Channel for the US National Archives