Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
US Federal Government Agencies
Agency for Toxic Substances and Disease Registry (ASTDR) (U. S. Department of Health and Human Services)
ATSDR's mission is to prevent exposure and adverse human health effects and diminished quality of life associated with exposure to hazardous substances from waste sites, unplanned releases, and other sources of pollution present in the environment.
Bureau of Reclamation
The mission of the Bureau of Reclamation is to manage, develop, and protect water and related resources in an environmentally and economically sound manner in the interest of the American public.
Center for Domestic Preparedness (Federal Emergency Management Agency)
The Center for Domestic Preparedness (CDP) develops and delivers advanced training for emergency response providers, emergency managers, and other government officials from state, local, and tribal governments. The CDP offers more than 50 training courses at its resident campus in Anniston, Alabama focusing on incident management, mass casualty response, and emergency response to a catastrophic natural disaster or terrorist act. Training at the CDP campus is federally funded at no cost to state, local, and tribal emergency response professionals or their agency.
Department of Defense
The mission of the Department of Defense is to provide the military forces needed to deter war and to protect the security of the United States. The Department of Defense is America's oldest and largest government agency. Today the Department is not only in charge of the military, but it also employs a civilian force of thousands.
Department of Homeland Security
The U.S. Department of Homeland Security has five main areas of responsibility: guarding against terrorism; securing U.S. borders; enforcing U.S. immigration laws; improving readiness for, response to, and recovery from disasters; and maturing and unifying the Department.
Emergency Management Institute (Federal Emergency Management Agency)
Through its courses and programs, EMI serves as the national focal point for the development and delivery of emergency management training to enhance the capabilities of federal, state, local, and tribal government officials, volunteer organizations, and the public and private sectors to minimize the impact of disasters on the American public. Instruction focuses on the four phases of emergency management: mitigation, preparedness, response, and recovery.
Environmental Protection Agency - Emergency Response
To ensure that this nation is better prepared for environmental emergencies, EPA is working with other federal partners to prevent accidents as well as to maintain superior response capabilities. One of their roles is to provide information about response efforts, regulations, tools, and research that will help the regulated community, government entities, and concerned citizens prevent, prepare for, and respond to emergencies.
Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI) (U.S. Department of Justice)
The FBI investigates and responds to incidents of domestic terrorism and coordinates investigations of related disasters with other federal agencies.
Federal Emergency Management Agency (U.S. Department of Homeland Security)
FEMA's mission is to reduce loss of life and property and protect our nation's critical infrastructure from all types of hazards through a comprehensive, risk-based, emergency management program of mitigation, preparedness, response, and recovery.
Federal Emergency Management Agency. Region 6
Headquartered in Denton, Texas, FEMA Region 6 includes 68 Tribal Nations + Arkansas, Louisiana, New Mexico, Oklahoma, and Texas.
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) Emergency Response and Recovery
CDC Emergency Response and Recovery is part of the Division of Global Health Protection and Security They respond to complex emergencies like war, famine, civil strife, natural disaster, genocide, and displacement.
Landslide Hazards Program (U.S. Geological Survey)
The Landslide Hazards Program (LHP) supports the USGS mission to serve the Nation by providing reliable scientific information to minimize loss of life and property from natural disasters. The LHP's mission is to provide information that leads to the reduction of losses from landslides and increase in public safety through improved understanding of landslide hazards and strategies for hazard mitigation. In pursuit of the program mission, the LHP conducts landslide hazard assessments, pursues landslide investigations and forecasts, provides technical assistance to respond to landslide emergencies, and engages in outreach activities.
National Centers for Environmental Information (National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration)
the world's largest active archive of weather data. National Centers for Environmental Information produce numerous climate publications and responds to data requests from all over the world.
National Disaster Medical System
The National Disaster Medical System (NDMS) is a federally coordinated system that augments the Nation's medical response capability. The overall purpose of the NDMS is to supplement an integrated National medical response capability for assisting State and local authorities in dealing with the medical impacts of major peacetime disasters and to provide support to the military and the Department of Veterans Affairs medical systems in caring for casualties evacuated back to the U.S. from overseas armed conventional conflicts.
Earthquakes Hazards Program (U.S. Geological Survey)
Seismic hazard maps, interactive fault map. earthquake monitoring information, and more
National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA)
NOAA's mission is to describe and predict changes in the Earth's environment and to conserve and manage wisely the Nation's coastal and marine resources. Several NOAA agencies related to emergency management are listed separately.
National Security Council
The National Security Council (NSC) is the President's principal forum for considering national security and foreign policy matters with his senior national security advisors and cabinet officials. Since its inception under President Truman, the Council's function has been to advise and assist the President on national security and foreign policies. The Council also serves as the President's principal arm for coordinating these policies among various government agencies.
National Voluntary Organizations Active in Disaster
Forum where organizations share knowledge and resources throughout the disaster cycle—preparation, response and recovery—to help disaster survivors and their communities. Members of National VOAD form a coalition of nonprofit organizations that respond to disasters as part of their overall mission.
National Weather Service (National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration)
The National Weather Service (NWS) provides weather and flood warnings, public forecasts, and advisories for all of the United States, its territories, adjacent waters and ocean areas, primarily for the protection of life and property. NWS data and products are provided to private meteorologists for the provision of all specialized services.
National Weather Service - Dallas/Ft. Worth, Texas (National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration)
Provides weather and flood warnings, public forecasts, advisories, and statistics on weather for the Ft. Worth and Dallas, Texas area. This web page does not replace officially disseminated weather forecasts and warnings.
Nuclear Regulatory Commission
The U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission (NRC) will promptly send a team from the Regional Office in response to an event involving radioactive materials that could threaten public health and safety.
Office of Response and Restoration (National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration)
NOAA's Office of Response and Restoration (OR&R) protects coastal and marine resources, mitigates threats, reduces harm, and restores ecological function. The Office provides comprehensive solutions to environmental hazards caused by oil, chemicals, and marine debris. For information on OR&R's activities as part of the Damage Assessment, Remediation and Restoration Program, see the DARRP Web site.
Small Business Administration - Emergency Preparedness and Disaster Assistance
SBA's Disaster Loan Program offers financial assistance to those who are trying to rebuild their homes and businesses in the aftermath of a disaster.
U.S. Agency for International Development (USAID)
An independent federal government agency, USAID conducts foreign assistance and humanitarian aid to advance the political and economic interests of the United States. It administers the international disaster assistance program of the United States, and provides relief, rehabilitation and reconstruction assistance to victims of natural and manmade disasters.
U.S. Army. Corps of Engineers
In addition to its military responsibilities the Corps plans, designs, builds, and often operates and maintains projects that provide river and harbor navigation, flood control, water supply, hydroelectric power, environmental restoration, wildlife protection, and recreation. It also undertakes disaster relief and recovery work.
U.S. Army. Corps of Engineers - Southwestern Division
The Southwestern Division is one of eight U. S. Army Corps of Engineers Divisions. Headquartered in Dallas, Texas, the Pacesetter Division oversees military and civil works construction and disaster assistance in all or part of seven states.
U.S. Department of State
The State Department coordinates with other federal agencies to defend against threats or the actual use of weapons of mass destruction by terrorists. It also works with other nations around the world to respond to natural and manmade disasters.
U.S. Fire Administration (Federal Emergency Management Agency)
The U.S. Fire Administration provides leadership and coordination and supports the nation's fire prevention and control, fire training and education, and emergency medical services activities.
U.S. Geological Survey - Volcano Hazards Program
The U.S.G.S. Volcano Hazards Program works to lessen the harmful effects of volcanic activity by monitoring volcanoes, evaluating when a volcano is likely to erupt, and identifying the dangerous areas around active and potentially active volcanoes.
U.S. Occupational Safety and Health Administration
The mission of the Occupational Safety and Health Administration (OSHA) is to save lives, prevent injuries and protect the health of America's workers.
USGS Emergency Management (U.S. Geological Survey)
During incidents of natural significance, the U.S. Geological Survey (USGS) provides support to certain National Response Framework emergency support functions. The USGS serves the Nation by providing reliable scientific information to describe and understand the Earth; minimize loss of life and property from natural disasters; and manage water, biological, energy and mineral resources. The USGS has a special scientific focus for FY 07 and beyond on lessening the adverse impacts of natural hazards—volcanoes, earthquake, hurricanes, landslides, wild fires, and floods.
U.S. Department of Labor - Disaster Unemployment Assistance (DUA)
The Robert T. Stafford Disaster Relief and Emergency Assistance Act of 1974, as amended, authorizes the President to provide benefit assistance to individuals unemployed as a direct result of a major disaster. The U.S. Department of Labor oversees the DUA program and coordinates with the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA), to provide the funds to the state UI agencies for payment of DUA benefits and payment of state administration costs under agreements with the Secretary of Labor. The Department of Labor also provides flood recovery assistance and National Emergency Grants to states.
State & Local Agencies
Association of State Floodplain Managers
Organization of professionals involved in floodplain management, flood hazard mitigation, the National Flood Insurance Program, and flood preparedness, warning and recovery. The mission of ASFPM is to promote education, policies, and activities that mitigate current and future losses, costs, and human suffering caused by flooding, and to protect the natural and beneficial functions of floodplains—all without causing adverse impacts.
National Governors Association
This bipartisan organization of the nation's governors promotes visionary state leadership, shares best practices and speaks with a unified voice on national policy.
State and Local Government on the Net
Comprehensive link to state government Web sites, updated daily. Also links to federal and non-governmental national organizations that serve state and local governments.
Texas Commission on Environmental Quality
The Texas Commission on Environmental Quality strives to protect the state's human and natural resources consistent with sustainable economic development. The agency responds to environmental emergency, discharge, spill, or air release that endangers the environment or individuals.
Texas Department of State Health Services - EMS/Trauma Systems
The lead state agency responsible for EMS systems, professional certification and licensure, education, trauma facility designation, prevention and community relations and medical standards on motor vehicle operations.
Texas Dept. of Insurance.
The Texas Department of Insurance regulates the state’s insurance industry, oversees the administration of the Texas workers’ compensation system, performs the duties of the State Fire Marshal’s Office, and provides administrative support to the Office of Injured Employee Counsel – a separate agency.
Texas Division of Emergency Management (Texas Department of Public Safety)
The Texas Division of Emergency Management (TDEM) coordinates the state emergency management program, which is intended to ensure the state and its local governments respond to and recover from emergencies and disasters, and implement plans and programs to help prevent or lessen the impact of emergencies and disasters. TDEM implements programs to increase public awareness about threats and hazards, coordinates emergency planning, provides an extensive array of specialized training for emergency responders and local officials, and administers disaster recovery, hazard mitigation, and homeland security grant programs in the State of Texas.
Texas Legislature Online (Texas Legislature)
Search bill text, updated laws, the Texas Constitution, and research information on members of the Legislature.
Railroad Commission of Texas
The Railroad Commission regulates the petroleum and natural gas industries as well as the commercial transportation industries. It is responsible for emergency response issues related to these areas.
Texas Secretary of State
The Secretary is responsible for authenticating the publication of Texas laws and the publication of executive agency rules and regulations. Select "Functions of the Office" to search the Texas Administrative Code and the Texas Register for Texas agency rules and regulations relating to emergency management and disaster programs.
International Association of Emergency Managers
Non-profit educational organization dedicated to promoting the "Principles of Emergency Management" and representing those professionals whose goals are saving lives and protecting property and the environment during emergencies and disasters.
United Nations Office for Disaster Risk Reduction
As the United Nations Office for Disaster Risk Reduction, UNDRR brings governments, partners and communities together to reduce disaster risk and losses to ensure a safer, more sustainable future.
Pan-American Health Organization
The World Health Organization's PAHO advocates for health risk reduction, provides public health assistance, and generates and disseminates knowledge about all aspects of disaster preparedness, risk reduction and management. See in particular Disaster Preparedness and Emergency Relief.
World Health Organization
WHO is the directing and coordinating authority for health within the United Nations system. It is responsible for providing leadership on global health matters, shaping the health research agenda, setting norms and standards, articulating evidence-based policy options, providing technical support to countries and monitoring and assessing health trends. See in particular Disasters and Emergencies.