Guides: Maps: Thematic & Historical Maps

About Thematic and Historical Maps

Thematic maps show information about specific topics such as geology, economy, or land-use or features such as soil-types or forests. The information is usually superimposed over a base map.

Historical maps may show places as they existed in the past, or may show locations where major events occurred. Many older maps that showed contemporary information at the time they were made are now useful for historical purposes.

Thematic and Historical Maps at the UNT Libraries

To identify thematic and historical maps and atlases in the general collection, search the UNT Library Catalog by subject or keyword.

The Sycamore Library has many thematic and historical maps, several of which are suitable for photocopying. Many of our thematic and historical maps are not indexed in the Library Catalog. Please ask at the Sycamore Library Service Desk for assistance.

Other thematic and historical maps are available in UNT Special Collections.

Shepherd's Historical Atlas
A classic, standard reference filled with beautiful engraved color maps that show regions of the world as they existed at various points in history. The 1911 edition and 1923 edition are available online from the University of Texas.
Texas: A Historical Atlas
86 entries feature 175 maps illustrating the most significant aspects of the state's history, geography, and current affairs. The heart of the book is its wealth of historical information. The exploration of Texas and its settlement by various peoples is covered, as well as modern and contemporary Texas with its hurricanes and highways, power plants and population trends. Earlier edition available online as Historical Atlas of Texas.
Historical Maps on File
This looseleaf set contains maps showing many historical periods and themes. The simple line drawings are designed to be easily photocopied on 8 1/2" x 11" paper.

Thematic and Historical Maps Available Online

American Memory Collection, Collections with Maps
Scanned images of many maps of historical importance owned by the Library of Congress..
Atlapedia® Online
Full color physical maps and political maps, as well as key facts and statistics on countries of the world. Also includes school and homework resources for teachers and students.
Atlas of Cyberspaces
This is an atlas of maps and graphic representations of the geographies of the new electronic territories of the Internet, the World Wide Web, and other emerging cyberspaces. These cybermaps help to visualise and comprehend the new digital landscapes that exist beyond our computer screen, in the wires of the global communications networks and vast online information resources. Some of the cybermaps on this website use the familiar cartographic conventions of real-world maps, while others are much more abstract representations of electronic spaces, using new metrics and grids.
Creeklife Interactive Watershed Map
Automatically traces out all known watershed boundaries depending on the location you target. The map covers watersheds across all states and territories of the USA and features dynamic delineation of watershed boundaries at national, state, county, and city levels.
Digital Sanborn Maps, 1867–1970
Texas maps only—Available to members of the UNT community
Includes most of the fire insurance maps of Texas produced by the Sanborn Map Company from the mid-1880s to around 1950. Includes structural information about individual buildings, as well as street names, street and sidewalk widths, property boundaries, building use, and house and block numbers. Other features shown include pipelines, railroads, wells, dumps, and heavy machinery.
Flood Maps
Download a current or historical Flood Insurance Rate Map (FIRM) or Flood Insurance Study (FIS) for your area. Also includes links to community risk maps, hurricane maps, and disaster maps.
Historic Maps
The best online historic and old maps from around the world.
Historical Maps
Scanned images of historical maps of every region of the world. Includes links to other Web sites that have historical maps.
Images of Early Maps on the Web
Links to thousands of sites that provide images of early maps. Updated every two months.
Mapmaker Interactive
This National Geographic interactive site dynamically generates customized maps on a variety of themes.
A Medieval Atlas
Maps both antique and recent depicting Europe and other areas during the Middle Ages. Indexed by region, place name, time period, and topic.
Union List of Sanborn and Other Fire Insurance Maps
These maps were created to assist fire insurance companies in assessing risk associated with a specific property. The maps list street blocks and building numbers that were in use when the map was made, as well as earlier numbers. This list includes holdings of Sanborn maps by various libraries, indexed by state and by city. Many of these maps are available online.
Visual Collections: Cartography
Links to selected collections of historical map images available on the Web.
World Map of Time Zones with Current Time
Current time around the world for business and world travel. Includes information for countries and territories observing Daylight Saving Time and Summer Time. Time zone abbreviations around the globe and detailed time zone maps of the United States, Europe, Asia, Australia, Canada, Middle East, Oceania, and Russia.

Maps

About Thematic and Historical Maps

Thematic and Historical Maps at the UNT Libraries

Thematic and Historical Maps Available Online

Additional Links