Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Journal Articles on Art Works and Aesthetics and Kanopy Video Database
Journal Articles on Art and Aesthetics
Use the databases listed below to search for journal articles.
*If accessing off campus, you will be asked for your EUID and EUID password.
Search the same way you searched for books. Most art works WILL have journal articles written about them, so do search the name of your art work with quotes around it. Examples: "Mona Lisa", "The Creation of Adam" AND Michelangelo
Video: How to Find Journal Articles in Humanities Databases
Art & Architecture Source
Art Source covers a broad range of related subjects, from fine, decorative and commercial art, to various areas of architecture and architectural design. Providing full-text journal articles, indexing and abstracts for various journals, full-text books, and a collection of images, and more. International in scope, Art Source includes periodicals published in French, Italian, German, Spanish and Dutch. It is designed for use by a diverse audience, including art scholars, artists, designers, students and general researchers.
Art, Design and Architecture Collection
A comprehensive survey of current publications in the fields of visual and applied arts. This collection includes the specialist indexes ARTbibliographies Modern (covering modern and contemporary art), Design and Applied Arts Index (for all aspects of design and crafts) and the International Bibliography of Art (covering scholarship on Western art history), together with a complementary collection of current full-text journals, Arts and Humanities Full Text.
This EBSCOhost database searches over 70 databases at once. The databases in this search cover all subject areas. Be sure to check the box "Select All" and "Continue" to search all databases at once.
JSTOR provides access to archived backfiles of journals in the arts and sciences, business, language and literature, science, ecology and botany, and music: over 2,000 academic journals, dating back to the first volume ever published, along with thousands of monographs and other relevant materials. Users can access the full-text content beginning with the first volume of each journal although recent volumes may or may not be included, depending on the agreement between JSTOR and publishers of the journal in question. As a result, some titles may lag behind in terms of JSTOR coverage. Content may date back to 1890, up to present-day.
Grove Art Online Grove Art Online is the first place to search for an in-depth encyclopedia article on any aspect of art including art history, archaeology, architecture, art movements, art mediums, artist biographies, art theory and criticism, etc. Constantly updated with the latest entries about the contemporary art world and contains extensive image links and bibliographic information. Contains the entire text of The Dictionary of Art (1996, 34 vols.). Dates of Coverage: 1996 - present