Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

PHIL 3100: Aesthetics and Philosophy of Art: Art Images

A course guide for the aesthetics assignment. Professor Miguel Gualdrón Ramírez, Ph.d.

Selected Books

ARTstor: Art Image Database

ARTstor Image Database

Use ARTstor to find images of paintings, sculpture, architecture, decorative art, costume, jewelry and photographs, etc..

Accessing ARTstor:

Click on the ARTstor link at the bottom of this box. If accessing off campus, you will be asked for your EUID and EUID password before the database will open

Searching ARTstor:
You can use the default Basic search, or the Advanced Search that will allow you to limit your results to artworks of different formats, time periods, dates and or countries. You can search for works of art by the name of the artist, movement, or topic.

Search Examples:

Artist search: (last name, first name) Da Vinci, Leonardo, Moreau, Gustave; Blake, William; Smith, Kiki;
Topic search: Mona Lisa, Tapestry, Landscape, Emerald, Cat (will show all art works from prehistoric times to contemporary that depict cats). 
Click on the thumbnails of the images to see the full-resolution images.
Use the + tool to zoom in to experience the details of art works, architectural spaces, a velvet and embroidered surface of a dress, gemstone encrusted crowns and reliquaries and more. Use the Move tool to move around to different areas in the image.

Downloading/Saving Images:
If you would like to download and save the images, just register for a free account by clicking the Register link in the top right corner of every page. ARTstor images can be used for teaching and learning, they just cannot be put on the web or used commercially. Once you have an ARTstor account, you can also add images to your folder on the cloud. When you download an image, you will receive two files, one will be an image file of the work of art, and the second will be a text file of the catalog record from the museum or other cultural institution that owns the art.

Video Databases

Video Databases
 

Search the UNT Libraries subscription database for streaming videos. If accessing off campus, you will be asked for your EUID and EUID password.

Music Databases

Music Databases

Search Naxos Music databases for music files. If accessing off campus, you will be asked for your EUID and EUID password.

Additional Links

top