The UNT Libraries collection contains many news sources. Here is a list of some the databases we have have that provide news sources.

There are several ways to access the newspaper subscriptions in our collection, but the simplest way to read a daily newspaper is through the resource, PressReader. PressReader contains national and international newspapers, including: Dallas Morning News, Washington Post, Chicago Tribune, Los Angeles Times, The Guardian, The Globe and Mail, The Daily Telegraph, and more. 

To read a daily newspaper through PressReader, you can start by searching for PressReader (or Press Reader) in the "Databases" tab on www.library.unt.edu

You will be asked to log in with your euid and euid password, if you are off campus.

To select a publication from PressReader, use the coffee cup icon in the top left corner to open the PressReader HotSpot menu and click "Select Publication" 

Then browse or search publications

Once you've selected a publication, double click or use the mouse roller to zoom in and out and arrow left and right or drag with your mouse to change pages.

To print, save, share, listen to an article, click on the title of an article then click the square icon in the right corner of the page -- 

You will have to create a free account, to use the save and share options.

If the newspaper you want to read is not included in PressReader, you can search the library catalog by journal title, to find out if the library provides current access to your preferred newspaper and if so, through what database. For some newspapers our library subscription will not include the full content of each issue, or, as is the case for the New York Times, our coverage may be searchable, but not browsable (ie: the New York Times is included in the database, Nexis Uni, but there is no way to view all the articles from a daily issue of the New York Times. Instead one would have to search by topic and limit by date, in order to find a current New York Times article that includes their desired topic.). If you have trouble accessing newspapers, please get in touch with the social work subject librarian or contact Ask Us for help.

Finding Newspapers in the Catalog and Databases

In addition to Pressreader, we have access to other newspaper through different databases and the catalog. The instructions below show the three ways to access newspapers. Images of each step are provided to help you navigate the web pages.

Please note the catalog option refers to the Old Catalog system and not the new Discover Catalog. The steps are basically same but some screens will look different. If you need help, AskUs or contact a librarian.

Tip for Success

Please note that searching for news in databases will not give you the same browseability as searching on the newspapers’ website. You will need to think about your search methods in the same manner that you do when doing searches for literature reviews.  

Option 1: Find a Database with Newspapers via Database A-Z 

1. Click on the “Database” tab. Then click on the phrase “about 600.”  

2. Click on the “All Database Types” dropdown box and select “Newspapers.” 
3. Select one of the 19 databases below. 

Option 2: Find Newspapers via Database Subject Search

1. Click on the “Database” tab. Then click in the “Browse Subject” search box. Type “Newspapers” in the box.

2. Select one of the 36 databases below.

Option 3: Find a Newspaper by Title in the Catalog

1. Click on the “Books & More” tab. Change the search function drop down from the default "keyword" to “journal title.” Enter the title of the newspaper in the search box and click search.

2. Click on the hyperlinked name of the newspaper. It should the first option with either 1 or 2 entries.

3. Click on the hyperlinked name of the online version of the newspaper in the second record listed. This is the record that you want to access. The first record is for a physical periodical in remote storage. This record is for an item that has not circulated in 10 years and will have limited access to the user.

4. Review the date range of coverage provide by the database list. Options without an end date have present content. Use the dates and database options to select a database of choice. Click on the “Find It” button to access the database. You will then be taken to the database landing page.