SOWK 5323: Social Work Administration and Management: Grant Seeking

A guide to library resources for students in SOWK 5323

How to get access to Foundation Directory Online after you leave UNT

Foundation Directory Online (Subscription)

Foundation Directory Online

Foundation Directory Online contains profiles for grantmakers who fund organizations and includes:

  • Over 140,000 foundations, corporate donors, and grantmaking public charities
  • Over 3.2 million recent grants
  • Over half a million indexed trustee, officer, and donor names
  • Over 1 million IRS 990s—fully keyword-searchable
  • 54 search fields including keyword search
  • Detailed grantmaker profiles including contact information, key financial data, application information, and more

There are two versions of Foundation Directory Online (FDO): FDO Essential and FDO Professional. Both include the same funder profiles, but FDO Essential does not have all of the same bells as whistles as FDO Professional.

Foundation Directory Online Essential is temporarily available remotely to UNT and non-UNT community members. Users can set up a "day pass" that provides one 24-hour period of access every 30 days. To set up a day pass, create a free online FDO Essential account, then initiate the "day pass". More details on the day pass access model are available in the FDO Essential Day Pass Guide.

Foundation Directory Online Professional is available to UNT and non-UNT community members in-person on the desktop computers inside the Sycamore Library. For non-UNT users, Sycamore Library has two dedicated community use stations. If you need help finding these community-use computers stations, please ask at our service desk.

To access either FDO Essential or FDO Professional, you can click through the links above or go to library.unt.edu, click on the "Databases" tab, search for the database name, and click through to either FDO option. Please email the subject librarian if you experience any trouble accessing the databases.

Foundation Directory Online video tutorials

Sign up to receive RFPs

Pivot

Pivot Logo

Pivot provides a variety of features to support efficient identification and management of funding opportunities and potential collaborators:

  • Access to local and global funding opportunities from foundations, corporations and government agencies
  • Connections to local and global researchers with similar interests
  • Tools for managing funding timelines
  • Tools for communicating, organizing and collaborating around funding opportunities.

Pivot is available remotely to UNT community members. Non-UNT affiliated users can access the Pivot database from a community computer station in the Sycamore Library. 

Guidestar

Guidestar is a searchable directory that provides detailed information on many nonprofit organizations. It includes IRS-registered 501 nonprofit organizations that may accept tax-deductible contributions. Profiles of these organizations cover missions, programs, financials, leaders, and the IRS 990 filing from 1998 forward in most cases.

Guidestar is available remotely to all UNT community members. Non-UNT affiliated users can access Guidestar from a dedicated community computer station in Sycamore Library or Willis Library.

Additional Links

top