Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

International Business

International Business, including country legal and economic resources; national constitutions.

Books covering the U.S. legal system

Here are a few suggested U.S. sources for your class project to compare U.S. laws with equivalent laws in other countries.

UNT Libraries' Databases

Free Web Sites

  • Constitute Project (University of Richmond): Constitutions, charters, amendments, and other related documents arranged alphabetically by country.
  • Constitutional Law: Constitutions of the World (FindLaw) Constitutions arranged alphabetically by country.
  • Cornell University, Legal Information Institute: Law by Source: Global. This site provides constitutions, statutes, judicial opinions, and related legal information.
  • DoingBusiness.org (World Bank) measures business regulations and their enforcement. Indicators cover topics such as starting a business, employing workers, paying taxes, getting credit, etc.
  • EISL - Electronic Information System for International Law includes treaty collections, states & groups of states, international organizations (including United Nations and the European Union).
  • FindLaw provides U.S. law cases and codes at the federal and state level. It also provides laws and legal issues by topic. "U.S. Laws: Cases and Code" provides Supreme Court opinions as well as U.S. Court of Appeals Cases.
  • Foreign Corrupt Practices Act The purpose of the FCPA is to crack down on the bribery of foreign officials.
  • International Business (Business Reference & Services Section, "BRASS," of the Reference & User Services Association of the American Library Association). A comprehensive list of websites.
  • International Constitutional Law (University of Hamburg): Includes text of each constitution, as well as background material, commentary, and a key numbering system that enables comparison of different constitutions.
  • International Finance Corporation "As the world’s largest global development institution focused on the private sector, IFC plays a significant role in influencing the course of private sector development." See Industries and Topics A-Z
  • International Monetary Fund contains information on current lending practices, press releases.
  • JuriGlobe World Legal Systems Research Group Produced by the University of Ottawa. Furnishes legal systems classification, geographic distribution, U.N. member status, demographic distribution, world GDP and GNI per capita distribution, International Trade and Legal Integration, languages and legal systems.
  • Legal Research on International Law Issues Using the Internet Prepared by Lyonette Louis-Jacques, Foreign and International Law Library Liaison and Lecturer in Law, University of Chicago Law School, D'Angelo Law Library. This vast site provides foreign and international law research guides.
  • Library of Congress Country Studies provide the historical setting and the social, economic, political, and national security systems and institutions of countries throughout the world.
  • LLRX.com is a free Web journal focusing on technology and legal research, including continuously updated court rules, forms and dockets, and international and comparative law guides.
  • National Constitutions (Constitution Society). Constitutions arranged alphabetically by country.
  • OECD, Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development is best known for its publications and its statistics on 30 member countries, covering economic and social issues from macroeconomics, to trade, education, development and science and innovation.
  • Thomas-Legislative Information: Provided by the U.S. Congress, this site furnishes updated information about treaties the Senate is considering for adoption.
  • Transparency International provides corruption measurement tools: Corruption Perceptions Index, Bribe Payers Index, Global Corruption Barometer, Global Corruption Report.
  • United Nations Includes UN at a glance, structure and organization, and member states. Sections include Information Centers, International Court of Justice, Global Compact, Partnerships, and Rule of Law.
  • World Trade Organization deals with the rules of trade between nations.
  • The WWW Virtual Library International Affairs Resources provides over 2000 carefully selected, annotated links in 35 international affairs categories. It includes international relations and international studies. The WWW Virtual Library International Business page provides comprehensive country information, international development, European Union, United Nations, and US Government Sources pages.

Additional Links

top