Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Religion: Introduction

Welcome

Welcome to the research guide for religion.

 

The word religion comes from medieval Latin religio, meaning "obligation" or "bond," derived from ancient Latin re- (back) + ligare (tie or join), meaning "to tie back," ostensibly to one's roots.1

Religion usually connotes a system of faith-based belief in a supreme power or powers, interpretation of sacred texts or traditional lore to guide human actions, and commitment to moral or philosophical precepts; it may include public professions of belief, regular participation in rituals, and obligation to educate others outside the group regarding the belief system.2,3

1 Religion. (2012). In Merriam-Webster's collegiate dictionary. Retrieved from Credo Reference

2 Barrett, D. (2007). Religion. In Chambers dictionary of the unexplained. Retrieved from Credo Reference 

3 Religion. (1993). In Bloomsbury guide to human thought. Retrieved from Credo Reference 

About This Guide

Use this guide to find materials related to religion.

The Articles & Databases tab furnishes tools and guidance to search the subscription databases of periodical literature and other scholarly research resources. This tab also offers some strategies for finding appropriate information and points out some databases or other resources that address issues related to religion.

The Books & Media tab provides a search interface and advice for finding books, audiovisual media, maps, and other items owned by the UNT Libraries.

The Reference Sources tab highlights some resources related to religion.

The Websites tab lists freely available Internet resources relevant to religion.

Credo Reference

Credo Reference is an excellent place to begin your research. It will provide broad treatments of topics and lists of sources for further investigation.

Tracking Research with RefWorks

RefWorks is a tool that allows you to create a database of citations for academic and personal use.

RefWorks allows you to add references from databases, the UNT library catalog, websites and more. Then you can generate reference lists for your papers and projects in the citation style of your choice.

Visit the RefWorks guide to create your account and start adding references to your own database.

Subject Guide

Help: Ask Us!

Ask Us!

Additional Links

top