Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

PSCI 4490: LAW AND POLICY PROCESS

This guide is for Kimi King's section of PSCI 4490: Law and Policy Process

Guide Introduction

This guide offers a variety of library and public resources for use in the course PSCI 4490: Law and Policy Process.

There many different places you can find legal and policy information. This guide breaks down resources that provide state and federal legislation, policy resources, administrative law, and newspapers. Many of the resources provide multiple resources in these areas so the databases and websites are listed multiple times. 

Not sure where to begin? 

Brea Henson and Robbie Sittel recommend the following resources as a starting place because they provide a wide breadth on information and are relatively user friendly. If you need research assistance, both of us are available to answer questions over email or via Zoom research consultations. Please contact us!

Databases

Your EUID and password are needed to access these resources.

  • Nexis Uni—Nexis Uni provides access to news, legal, and business sources including journals, television and radio broadcasts, newswires and blogs, newspapers, and legal sources for federal and state cases and statutes.

  • ProQuest Congressional—ProQuest Congressional Includes information on bills, laws, regulations, Congressional publications, current and previous Members of Congress, campaign finance information, financial disclosures, voting records, and committee membership. Also includes the full text of some Congressional reports, documents, and testimonies. Dates of Coverage: 1789 - present

  • Policy Archive—PolicyArchive digital archive of global, non-partisan public policy research includes summaries and full texts, videos, reports, briefs, and multimedia material of think tank, university, government, and foundation-funded policy research. A free, and open digital archive of foundation-funded and other public policy research.. 

  • Policy File Index—Policy File Index is a resource for U.S. public policy research. Information is provided from public policy think tanks, nongovernmental organizations, research institutes, university centers, advocacy groups, and other entities. Foreign and domestic policy topics are included. Some records link directly to the full-text report, paper, document, or other source. Subject coverage includes social sciences, political science, public policy, international relations, public administration, and economics.

Websites 

  • Congress.gov—Congress.gov is the official website for U.S. federal legislative information. The site provides access to accurate, timely, and complete legislative information for Members of Congress, legislative agencies, and the public. It is presented by the Library of Congress (LOC) using data from the Office of the Clerk of the U.S. House of Representatives, the Office of the Secretary of the Senate, the Government Publishing Office, Congressional Budget Office, and the LOC's Congressional Research Service.

  • Federal Register—The Office of the Federal Register (OFR) of the National Archives and Records Administration (NARA), and the U.S. Government Publishing Office (GPO) jointly administer the FederalRegister.gov website. We developed this website to make it easier for citizens and communities to understand the regulatory process and to participate in Government decision-making.

Writing your Elected Officials

Need a refresher on writing letters to your elected officials?

Check out the Voting and Civic Engagement library guide. 

Introduction to the UNT Libraries

General Library Information

Interlibrary Loan

Found something you'd like to use in your research that not available at the UNT Libraries? These materials can be requested via Interlibrary Loan.

Other Helpful Links

Additional Links

top