Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

PHIL 3500: Christianity & Philosophy: Articles & Databases

Christianity & Philosophy class page | Course description: Philosophical study of Christianity from its origins to the present, including Eastern Orthodoxy, Roman Catholicism, and Protestantism.

NOTE

Find Articles searches the full text of fee-based subscription and open access journals; the index covers over 92% of the content available through UNT Libraries.

Be sure to click the Find Articles tab before you search in the box below.

Search for Materials

 

Databases

The Find Articles interface above will search the databases listed in this box, but sometimes it is useful to search a database directly.

The indexes below are particularly useful for locating research on Christianity and philosophy. Many include full text of articles. Note that you may simultaneously search ATLA Religion Database, Academic Search Complete, and Religion & Philosophy Collection in EBSCOhost (follow the link, connect to EBSCOhost and then select the databases before entering your search).

The following databases index subjects in religion and philosophy, but include many other topics.

Search Strategies

Keyword

A keyword search returns the highest number of results. The terms you search can appear in the fields for title, author, subject, content notes, full text and elsewhere within a record.

• Example: Christian philosophy 

Ways to narrow the results:

• Add more topic terms or phrases: Christian philosophy history 

• Add variant terms or phrases: Christianity philosophy 

• Enclose words in quotation marks to ensure that the records retrieved include the two words as a phrase: "Christian philosophy"

Google Scholar Search

This search is broad and may find resources that are not immediately available from UNT Libraries. You can configure this search to have the results tell you whether you have full-text access through the UNT Libraries: start here, click on the Library Links option, search for University of North Texas System and then check the box to select it.

If UNT Libraries doesn't have it, in most instances access to materials from collections in other institutions is available through Interlibrary Loan.

Google Scholar Search

Help: Ask Us!

Ask Us! Research Assistance

Additional Links

top