Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

North Texas Now @ UNT Frisco with Profs. Dumaine & Mintun

This is a course page for the dual credit North Texas Now @ UNT Frisco with Profs. Dumaine & Mintun.

Primary Sources

In addition to newspapers, UNT Library has government documents, a digital archive of Texas history, and special collections that can be used for primary research. Information about each collection is listed below.  Please note that both some service desks and branch locations maybe closed to patrons due to COVID-19. 

Government Documents Collections

The Government Documents Department is responsible for the following collections, which are located at the Sycamore Library. The Sycamore Library is currently closed to patron. Items maybe requested for pick at Willis Library or for delivery (Distance Learners Only). 

  • U.S. Federal Documents
  • Texas State Government Documents
  • Maps and Posters
  • Legal Materials
  • Business Reference Collection
  • Tax Library

We also maintain several online Digital Collections.

If you need assistance finding materials in the Government Documents collections while the Government Documents Service Desk is closed, you can review the Government Information Online or content the Sycamore Library Reference Desk. 

The Portal to Texas History

About the Portal: http://www.library.unt.edu/news/digital-projects-unit/portal-texas-history

Constantly growing, the Portal to Texas History, created by Digital Projects, contains more than 2.8 million digital files and receives some 290,000 uses per month. It features digital reproductions of photographs, maps, letters, documents, newspapers, books, artifacts, and more.

To learn more about the Portal's contents, please click on explore by collections.

UNT Special Collections

UNT Special Collections has expanded our remote access options to reduce the need for in-person research visits to our reading room.

Please continue to use Aeon to initiate your request materials and/or photo-duplication services.

In Spring 2021 we will be offering the following remote access options (to learn more about these options, email Special Collections:

  • Complimentary digitization of archival and rare book materials on demand as allowed under copyright law (see our fee schedule for more information)
  • Digitization of audio and video materials on a cost recovery basis (see our fee schedule for specific fees)
  • Up to 5 hours of complimentary proxy research by a staff member (research services beyond 5 hours are available for a fee of $25/hour)
  • Virtual research and reference sessions (staff member will use a camera to page through a portion of a collection or book during a video call)
  • Access to over 350,000 digital items from 120 collections through The Portal to Texas History
  • Virtual class visits and instruction sessions (to schedule an instruction session please use this form

If the above access methods will not be sufficient for your needs, please contact Special Collections to request an in-person research appointment in our reading room. Research appointments will be offered on a limited basis. Visiting researchers will be expected to wash their hands prior to handling materials and to wear a mask that covers their nose and mouth while on campus in accordance with University policies. Specific guidelines for visiting researchers will be provided by email prior to your visit.

Additional Links

top