Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

North Texas Now @ UNT Frisco with Profs. Dumaine & Mintun

This is a course page for the dual credit North Texas Now @ UNT Frisco with Profs. Dumaine & Mintun.

Finding Library Resources 101

The UNT Libraries subscribe to hundreds of online databases, and provide access to thousands of electronic journal titles, e-books, and an array of online art, music, and media materials. This tutorial provides basic information about  finding, and getting help with these systems in general, butt if you need help, ask your librarian, Brea Henson.

Understanding the Kinds of Resources Available

UNT Electronic Databases are extraordinarily diverse.  The following list is representative, but not complete:

  • Full Text:  Some contain the "full text," including actual journal or newspaper articles or other content.
  • Partial Full Text:  Contents may be full text or abstracts.
  • No Full Text But Still Useful:  Many electronic databases were developed as tools to help you find information in other locations such as books, journals, or even web pages.
  • General Resources:  Some electronic databases cover a broad range of content areas and are considered "general resources."
  • Specialized:  Others focus on one content or subject area
  • Links to Articles:  More and more of our non-full text databases are now  providing a hyperlink to the full text article.  See the "Find Full Text" link in the database for details.

How to Find Resources

You essentially have two options.

  1. Find it Yourself: Find information yourself using one of our search/browse systems by following the directions below.
  2. Ask for Help: Contact AskUs or contact a librarian via email, phone, or in person.
Find it Yourself: Using the Search It All Tab

If you are not sure what type of materials you want, you can use the tab to conduct a board search of the catalog, articles, database, subject/course guides, and more about the topic you are interested in. Search results are categorized by resource type. Clicking on the resource type will take you to more information on your topic in that category.

  1. Enter the keyword or search term you are researching.
  2. Review the categories for similar information on that topic. 
Find it Yourself: Using the Online Articles Search Tab
  1. Click on the "Find" Tab Above, or go back to the libraries home page.

  2. You will see a tabbed search box. The "Online Articles" Search can search through millions of electronically available full-text, scholarly articles. Enter your search terms.

  3. If you want to expand your criteria beyond articles to include other material types, you can do so from the advanced search.

  4. On the results screen, use the left-column facet selectors to further refine your search.

Find it Yourself: Using the Books & More Tab
  1. Click on the "Books and More" tab to search materials in the catalog.
  2. Enter the keywords you want to search for in the box and select "search." Alternatively, you can use the "advance search" link to customize your search to online/physical items, collections, resource type, and more.
  3.  You will see a list of results.
  4. To select a resource, click on the title or the access button on the right hand side of the screen.
    • If a resources is an online resources, you will be prompted to log into the library database or ebook system.
    • If the item is a physical item, you can review the record of the time and request it use. 
  5. You can "Limit your search" by using the features on the left hand side the screen.
Find it Yourself: Using the Databases & e-Journals in the Catalog

As of Spring 2013, all databases, e-Journals, and newspapers can be located by searching/browsing within the library catalog as well as using the database tab.

  1. From the library homepage or on the find tab on any page, choose the "Databases & e-Journal" Tab, browse by letter, search by database name, of select a subject.
  2. Click "Find Databases & e-Journals" to go directly to the catalog search screens
  3. From the catalog, itself, you can click:
    • "Databases & e-Journals" from anywhere in the catalog on the "New Search" Dropdown menu at the top of the page.
    • From the "menu items" in the right-hand column on the catalog homepage.
Find it Yourself: Using the Databases Tab
  1. Click on the search box. Our most used databases will appear. You can select it by clicking on the name.
  2. To select another database. Type of the name of the database that you want to use and click the name. You will be prompted to log into the UNT database system.
  3. It you don't know which database you want to use, you can browse by subject and select a database that fits yours needs.
Find it Yourself: Using the E-Journals Tab
  1. Select the "e-journal" tab.
  2. Enter the name of the journal or newspaper that you wan to use.
  3. Review the record and select an access point. 
  4. Log into the database system.

Key Features

Library Homepage

Key features of the library homepage include

  1. Databases Tab: Browse by Title, Search by Title, Browse by Subject, or choose from a list of most Used Databases
  2. e-Journals Tab" Browse by Title, Search by Title or ISSN, Browse by Subject
  3. Find Online Articles: Searches for full-text articles in UNT subscriptions from one single search.  Great for getting started in a field.
  4. Find e-Books: Search for books available electronically by selecting "online" in the catalog results or selecting "online" under "AND have these attributes: Access" in the advanced search option.

Results Page

Key features of the results page include

  1. Linked Title: Provides direct access to the Database.  See "Access" (Above) for help with authentication.
  2. Information About the Resource: Each record provides information about the Resource.  Typically this includes the title, resource type, subjects covered, a description of the contents, coverage dates, help links/tutorials, and a contact person/service for additional help.
  3. Other Technical Requirements (rare):  A small number of items require special software to access.  Links will be provided where applicable.
  4. About this Database Link: Provides more information about the database, typically including the contributor, resource types, and other special information.  You can also get a permanent link on this page for sharing or future use.

Additional Links

top