Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

MC: Multicultural Center & Resources

This guide promotes the Multicultural Center, related resources and national heritage months. This guide is created/maintained by the Sociology Librarian, Lilly.Ramin@unt.edu

March is Women's History Month:  "The Library of Congress and others "join in commemorating and encouraging the study, observance and celebration of the vital role of women in American history."(WomensHistoryMonth.Gov)

This guide can be shared or cited as guides.library.unt.edu/mc/whm

  • For 2021, this guide page highlights ONLINE resources available to you either through UNT Libraries Online Resources or web resources that do not require a login. This online library guide  is a collaboration between the Women & Gender studies Librarian, Julie Leuzinger and the Sociology Librarian, Lilly Ramin. 

Women's History Month page on the MC Library Guide is maintained by the Sociology Librarian (Lilly) UNT students, faculty and staff can email Lilly.Ramin@unt.edu for collection suggestions or guide highlights. Thanks!  (Link to this box)  

Why, National Women's History Month in March?
"National Women’s History Month traces its roots to March 8, 1857, when women from various New York City factories staged a protest over poor working conditions. The first Women's Day celebration in the United States was in 1909, also in New York City. More than seven decades later, Congress in 1981 established National Women's History Week to be commemorated annually the second week of March. In 1987, Congress expanded the week to a month, and every year since has passed a resolution (and the president has issued a proclamation) designating March Women’s History Month". (WHM 2021 Census feature) Related: Census Stats for Stories: International Women's Day, March 8 2021

Browse the library collection
Try Library of congress subject heading, used at UNT Libraries, such as:

Women's studies > United States ONLINE
Women in the performing arts ONLINE
Women in Mass Media ONLINE

Many more topics. Please feel free to ask us if you need guidance.

Below you can find resource examples by format:
 

REFERENCE:

Yount, Lisa. 2021. Women in science and math.
Link in Discover catalog: https://discover.library.unt.edu/catalog/b6854384
Direct Link to resource with proxy or open source link:
EUID Login required?  Y
Format: e-book

 Martinez, Donna. 2016. American Women Leaders and Activists.
Link in Discover catalog: https://discover.library.unt.edu/catalog/b6506023
Direct Link to resource with proxy or open source link:
EUID Login required?  Y
Format: e-book

 

Griffin, Gabriele. 2017. A dictionary of gender studies.
Link in Discover catalog: https://discover.library.unt.edu/catalog/b5999338
Direct Link to resource with proxy or open source link:
EUID Login required?  Y
Format: e-book

 

DATABASE:

Gender Studies Database (EBSCO)
Link in Discover catalog: https://discover.library.unt.edu/catalog/b3774833
Direct Link to resource with proxy or open source link:
EUID Login required?  Y
Format: Database

 

PRIMARY SOURCE DISCOVERY:

 North American Women’s Letter’s and Diaries: Colonial to 1050                                                                
Link in Discover catalog: https://discover.library.unt.edu/catalog/b3195030
Direct Link to resource with proxy or open source link:
EUID Login required?  Y
Format: Database
North American Women's Letters and Diaries (NAWLD) is a full-text database of the personal experiences as reflected in the letters and diaries of 1,325 women who lived in North America before 1960.

 

Women at work during World War II: Rosie the Riveter and the Women's Army Corps
Link in Discover catalog: https://discover.library.unt.edu/catalog/b6213440
Direct Link to resource with proxy or open source link:
EUID Login required?  Y
Format: Database (additional women’s studies collections within History Vault)
Contains two major sets of records documenting the experience of American women during World War II: Records of the Women's Bureau of the U.S. Department of Labor, and Correspondence of the Director of the Women's Army Corps...

 

Suffragist Oral History Project (Berkeley)
Direct Link to resource with proxy or open source link: https://bancroft.berkeley.edu/ROHO/projects/suffragist/
EUID Login required?  N
Format: Primary Source Discovery on the Web
Description: Tape-recorded and transcribed oral histories from twelve leaders and participants of the woman’s suffrage movement.

 

GUIDE: African American Women Writers from the 19th Century (New York Public Library)

https://libguides.nypl.org/african-american-women-writers-of-the-19th-Century
EUID Login required?  N
Format: Primary Source Discovery on the Web
Description:
Digital collection of published works by 19th black women writers including biographies, poetry, and essays.

 

E-BOOKS:

Thomas, Tracy A. 2016. Elizabeth Cady Stanton and the feminist foundations of family law. 

Link in Discover catalog: https://discover.library.unt.edu/catalog/b5760417
EUID Login required?  Y
Format: e-book

Williams, Rachel Anne. 2019. Transgressive: a trans woman on gender, feminism and politics.

Link in Discover catalog: https://discover.library.unt.edu/catalog/b6146574
EUID Login required?  Y
Format: e-book

 

Hoston, William T. 2018. Toxic silence: race, black gender identity, and addressing the violence against black transgender women in Houston.

Link in Discover catalog: https://discover.library.unt.edu/catalog/b6776110
EUID Login required?  Y
Format: e-book

 

 Janet H. Tulloch, ed. 2013. A cultural history of women in antiquity.

Link in Discover catalog: https://discover.library.unt.edu/catalog/b6355858
EUID Login required?  Y
Format: e-book

 

Gallagher, Julie A., and Barbara Winslow. 2018. Reshaping women's history: voices of nontraditional women historians.

Link in Discover catalog: https://discover.library.unt.edu/catalog/b6093179
EUID Login required?  Y
Format: e-book

 Hopkins, Lisa, and Aidan Norrie. 2019. Women on the edge in early modern Europe.

Link in Discover catalog: https://discover.library.unt.edu/catalog/b6141074
Direct Link to resource with proxy or open source link:
EUID Login required?  Y
Format: e-book

Shari J. Stenberg and Charlotte Hogg, eds. 2020. Persuasive acts: women's rhetorics in the twenty-first century.

Link in Discover catalog: https://discover.library.unt.edu/catalog/b6503339
EUID Login required?  Y
Format: e-book

hooks, bell. 2015. Feminist theory: from margin to center.
Link in Discover catalog: https://discover.library.unt.edu/catalog/b6073165
EUID Login required?  Y
Format: e-book

ONLINE / Streaming Films at UNT

Log in with your EUID & Password, and you have access while a current student, staff, or faculty member

Films suggested by the Women and Gender Studies Subject Librarian, Julie Leuzinger:

Film: Dore, Mary, Nancy C. Kennedy, and Mark Degli Antoni. 2020. She's beautiful when she's angry.
Link in Discover catalog: https://discover.library.unt.edu/catalog/b6226184
EUID Login required?  Y
Format: streaming video (Unlimited User access)

Obama, Barack. 2011. Weekly address: women's history month & fair pay. Washington DC: White House.
Link in Discover catalog: https://discover.library.unt.edu/catalog/b6168266
EUID Login required?  Y
Format: streaming video

Film: Burns, Ken, Paul Barnes, Geoffrey C. Ward, Sally Kellerman, Julie Harris, and Elisabeth Griffith. 2003. Not for ourselves alone.
Part 1 and Part 2 hosted on UNT Panapto
Link in Discover catalog: https://discover.library.unt.edu/catalog/b3343710
EUID Login required?  Y
Format: streaming video (hosted on Panopto)

Film: Thirus, Zanah, Maiya Sinclair, and Nadirah Lugg. 2019. Black feminist.
Link in Discover catalog: https://discover.library.unt.edu/catalog/b6226350
EUID Login required?  Y
Format: streaming video

Raval, PJ, Julita Laude, Meredith Talusan, Naomi Fontanos, and Virginia Lacsa Suarez. 2019. Call Her Ganda.
Link in Discover catalog: https://discover.library.unt.edu/catalog/b6742501
EUID Login required?  Y
Format: streaming video
CARE WARNING: if possible, can you put a care warning on this, it is excellent, but there is transphobia, murder, and violence dealing with U.S. foreign relations with the Philippines (J.L)

Websites: Government Information/ NGOs/Data:

  • Women’s Footprint in History
  • Direct Link to resource with proxy or open source link: https://interactive.unwomen.org/multimedia/timeline/womensfootprintinhistory/en/index.html EUID Login required?  N Format: website.
    Description: Interactive timeline of women throughout history
     
  • National Coalition for Women and Girls in Education
    Direct Link to resource with proxy or open source link: https://www.ncwge.org/ EUID Login required?  N
    Format: NGO
    Description: The National Coalition for Women and Girls in Education (NCWGE) is a nonprofit organization established to educate the public about issues concerning equal rights for women and girls in education, monitor the enforcement and administration of current legislation, and conduct and publish research and analysis of issues concerning equity in education.
     
  • The Institute for Women’s Policy Research
    Direct Link to resource with proxy or open source link: https://iwpr.org/  
    EUID Login required?  N Format: NGO
    Description: The Institute for Women’s Policy Research (IWPR) is a nonpartisan, nonprofit organization that engages in research and dissemination to shape public policy and improve the lives and opportunities of women from diverse backgrounds. As a nonpartisan organization, the independence of our research is essential to maintaining the highest standards of integrity and quality. IWPR ensures these standards through rigorous internal and peer review processes. All reports receive at least two external reviews; some shorter products receive external review as well. All publications receive internal peer review by researchers not involved in their production.
     
  • Data & Statistics from the Women’s Bureau of the Department of Labor
    Direct Link to resource with proxy or open source link: https://www.dol.gov/agencies/wb/data
    EUID Login required?  N Format: Government resource
    Description: Here you will find current and historical statistics on a broad range of topics and sub-populations of women in the labor force. This page is updated regularly.
     
  • Gender Data Portal from the World Bank
    Direct Link to resource with proxy or open source link: https://www.worldbank.org/en/data/datatopics/gender
    EUID Login required?  N Format: NGO
    Description: The Gender Data Portal is the World Bank Group’s comprehensive source for the latest sex-disaggregated data and gender statistics covering demography, education, health, access to economic opportunities, public life and decision-making, and agency.
     
  • Gender Indicators from the United Nations
    Direct Link to resource with proxy or open source link: https://genderstats.un.org/#/home
    EUID Login required?  N
    Format: NGO
    Description: A collection of 52 qualitative indicators and 11 quantitative indicators addressing relevant issues related to gender equality and/or women's empowerment.
     
  • International Center for Research on Women
    Direct Link to resource with proxy or open source link: https://genderstats.un.org/#/home
    EUID Login required?  N
    Format: NGO
    Description: ICRW is the world's premier research institute focused on tackling challenges facing women and girls worldwide.

Swank Digital Campus / Online films accessible with your UNT  EUID & Password

~ For more classic films, check out Reel to Real Classics blog

Additional Links

top