Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

MC: Multicultural Center & Resources

This guide promotes the Multicultural Center, related resources and national heritage months. This guide is created/maintained by the Sociology Librarian, Lilly.Ramin@unt.edu

Dancer Spinning at Carnval. From Multicultural Center archive in Special Collection Hispanic Latinx Heritage Month MC library guide

Welcome! Explore our library resources recognizing Hispanic and Latinx communities and contributions during this celebratory month (and after). Items may be added based on feedback from Student Organizations, The MC or other members of the UNT community. This guide features examples.  Sept 15-Oct 15 is "National Hispanic Heritage Month" in the U.S.[Photo:  Dancer spinning at Carnaval from Multicultural Center archives)


UNT Libraries subjects to browse (examples): 
NOTE on Subject heading from Library of Congress:  Latino or Latina Americans is often categorized as Hispanic Americans  Below are existing examples only, not a comprehensive list of all Hispanic or Latinx Identities.  

HLHM events at UNT

Event Subtitle:  HLHM
Event Date:  Tuesday, October 12, 2021
Event Location:  Chemistry Building 109
Start Time:  5:45 p.m.
End Time:  7:45 p.m.
Flyer for includes details @UNT_MC Twitter : ..talk to a registered dietician and counselor about the question "y la dieta?"!! Let's talk about it!
Somos Familia
Event Date:  Thursday, October 7, 2021
Event Location: Union 333A
Start Time:  6:30 p.m.
  • The Pride Alliance wishes students, faculty and staff a happy Hispanic, Latino, Latina and Latinx Heritage Month! Drop by our Somos Familia panel & learn about the intersections between the Latinx & LGBT community.

(Link to this events box)

IDEA calendar

La Cocina de las Patronas

Be sure to watch the film before the discussion.

Event Date:  Wednesday, September 22, 2021
Event Location:  Zoom
Start Time:  6:30 p.m.
Details on the IDEA calendar page for this event
 
UNT Carnaval
Tuesday, September 14, 2021 - 11:30am to 1:00pm

Join the Multicultural Center and UPC as we celebrate Hispanic Heritage Month with free food, music, and dancing!

(Link to this events box)

E-Books (Online)

  •  access with your UNT EUID & Password.
  • Topics and themes below are general.

Afro-Cuban e-book collection highlights:

Literature

Women & Gender - Latinx (E-Books Online)


Popular Culture/Mass Media/Stereotypes.

History and Identity



Print books at Willis Library (3rd floor)

  • The third floor of Willis Library has many  subject-specific print books if you like to browse by subject. There is a helpful "Find It" Banner  that list the Library of Congress Subject Headings. You can also ask at the Library Services Desk, or with one of our helper library shelvers if you see them while browsing.


Sycamore Library* (Sycamore Hall)

To locate specific items or find out what items might be at Sycamore Library please visit their library help desk Sycamore Hall!. Government resources typically do not require a login. *Sycamore Library was called Eagle Commons Library until August 2021.

  • National Parks:Joyner, B. D., & United States. (2009). Hispanic reflections on the American landscape: Identifying and interpreting Hispanic heritage.Link to PDF Government Agency: United States National Park Service, issuing body

Subject Heading: United States -- Civilization -- Hispanic influences

  • American Latino Theme Study: FDLP: Opportunities for: "historic preservationists in government agencies and the private sector now have a tool to help identify and evaluate Latino-related places for historical significance; ...more of these places are likely to be nominated to the National Register of Historic Places and for National Historic Landmark designation."
Sycamore Library Juvenile Collection


Media Library (Chilton) and Streaming Films

The media library collection films, games and more! For assistance locating materials, including physical DVDs and games,  you can visit the help desk, email media.library@unt.edu or search the Library Catalog.

Streaming Films:

These are Online/Streaming films available at UNT Libraries. Log in with your EUID

Music Library

To locate specific artists or genres, please visit the experts at the Music Library (4th floor, Willis Library building)

Subject headings to browse for artists (examples only):


Special Collections

To locate materials on specific subjects or areas of interest please visit the experts in Special Collections (4th floor, Willis Library building) or email SpecialCollections@unt.edu/

Examples of resources:

Digital Libraries, Newspapers, and Portal to Texas History

Digital Collections, Portal to Texas History and Newspapers


The following Portal to Texas History collections were suggested by Jake Magnum, Project Development Librarian:

Direct Link to resource with proxy or open source link: 

Spanish-language materials (example provided by Sarah Lynn Fisher

  • The Texas Digital Newspaper Program collection on the Portal to Texas History includes over 12,500 searchable Spanish-language issues published from 1813-2019."  Browse this TDNP collection

In addition to E-books, journals and streaming films at the library, there are resources in UNT Digital Libraries collections including Portal to Texas History

Example: One of 9 books in the series: Al Filo: Mexican American Studies series available

  • Three Decades of Engendering History (2014) by Antonia Castañeda et al. "The Decolonial Imaginary is a smart, challenging book that disrupts a great deal of what we think we know... it will certainly be read seriously in Chicano/a studies." Women's Review of Books Emma Perez discusses the historical methodology which has created Chicano history and argues that the historical narrative has often omitted gender. She poses a theory which rejects the colonizer s methodological assumptions and examines new tools for uncovering the hidden voices of Chicanas who have been relegated to silence."

Additional Links

top