Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

MC: Multicultural Center & Resources

This guide promotes the Multicultural Center, related resources and national heritage months

Welcome to the Hispanic Heritage Month guide!

This page:  guides.library.unt.edu/mc/hhm

HHM MC graphic 2020

(c) graphic by Jesse K., UNT Libraries External Relations.  

Explore our library resources recognizing Hispanic and Latinx communities and contributions during this celebratory month (and after). These are examples. Items may be added based on feedback from Student Organizations, The MC or other members of the UNT community!

Browse related subjects at UNT Libraries:             

NOTE on Subject heading from Library of Congress:  Latino or Latina Americans is often categorized as Hispanic Americans
You can search by keyword, title, or start with a subject heading and modify based on theme. Below are existing examples only, not a comprehansive list of all Hispanic or Latinx Identities. Please ask us if you need help navigating the collection

UNT DIvision website has a Hispanic/Latinx page on the IED website

October 14th 7:00-9:00pm
The Latin Vote MC event tweet 

The Latin Vote MC event

Multicultural Center@UNT_MC

Hispanic Heritage Month - Oct 15. October calendar of affiliated events 

Tweet with Oct calendar image:
"Join us we continue to celebrate Hispanic Heritage Month through the month of October! #SiSePuede #YoSoyUNT"

October events Multicultural Center calendar

Image of October calendar of events affiliated with the Multicultural Center at UNT

Multicultural Center@UNT_MC

The UNT Multicultural Center Calendar of September Events for Hispanic Heritage Month
Sept MC Hispanic Heritage Month events pic

Twitter: @UNT_MC

LMAS presents "American Exile" (World Premiere)
Date:Saturday, September 17, 2020 - 7:00pm | Event Location: Virtual

To attend, go to the registration page for this event  (opens in new window)

Film pic American Exile

//t

 

Hispanic Heritage Month - Boca 31 Cooking Class
Event Date:
Tuesday, September 22, 2020
Event Location:
ZOOM Registration Required - See Below
Start Time: 7:00pm

Join us for a LIVE cooking class with Chef Andres Meraz, at Boca 31.Boca 31 is a Latin culinary journey designed to excite the mind and tempt the palate.Registration Required:  Zoom ID 990 2877 6219 UNT IED calendar (MC event) link

Boca 31 image HHM

Sept 24 at 7:00pm | Zoom (Sponsors LHSU and MC)
Share the MC's Tweet on this even on Latinx and Mental Health

The following Portal to Texas History collections were suggested by Jake Magnum, Project Development Librarian:

Direct Link to resource with proxy or open source link: 

Spanish-language materials (example provided by Sarah Lynn Fisher

  • The Texas Digital Newspaper Program collection on the Portal to Texas History includes over 12,500 searchable Spanish-language issues published from 1813-2019."  Browse this TDNP collection

ECL & Goverment Collections

Examples documented in the UNT Libraries collection |Goverment resources aredo not typically require a login 

National Parks:
Joyner, B. D., & United States. (2009). Hispanic reflections on the American landscape: Identifying and interpreting Hispanic heritage.Link to PDF Government Agency: United States National Park Service, issuing body
Subject Heading: United States -- Civilization -- Hispanic influences

American Latino Theme Study: FDLP 

  • Opportunites for: "historic preservationists in government agencies and the private sector now have a tool to help identify and evaluate Latino-related places for historical significance; ...more of these places are likely to be nominated to the National Register of Historic Places and for National Historic Landmark designation."
  • Interesting resources - check out Salsa: Latino Roots of American Food 

E-Books (access with EUID & password )

Hispanic Heritage Month - sample resources at UNT Libraries.

Women/Latinx

Popular Culture/Mass Media/Stereotypes.

 

History

Art, Cuban -- African influences  and Electronic books

  • Rodríguez-Mangual, E. M. (2004). Lydia Cabrera and the construction of an Afro-Cuban cultural identity. Chapel Hill: University of North Carolina Press.

In addition to E-books, journals and streaming films at the library, there are resources in UNT Digital Libraries collections including Portal to Texas History

Example: One of 9 books in the series: Al Filo: Mexican American Studies series available

  • Three Decades of Engendering History (2014) by Antonia Castañeda et al. "The Decolonial Imaginary is a smart, challenging book that disrupts a great deal of what we think we know... it will certainly be read seriously in Chicano/a studies." Women's Review of Books Emma Perez discusses the historical methodology which has created Chicano history and argues that the historical narrative has often omitted gender. She poses a theory which rejects the colonizer s methodological assumptions and examines new tools for uncovering the hidden voices of Chicanas who have been relegated to silence."

To locate specific artists or genres, please visit the experts at the Music Library (4th floor, Willis Library building)

Subject headings to browse for artists (examples only):

Popular music — Latin America

Latin jazz

Special Collections (Willis 4th floor)

To locate materials on specific subjects or areas of interest please visit the experts in Special Collections (4th floor, Willis Library building) or email SpecialCollections@unt.edu/ (940) 565-2769

Examples of resources:

Additional Links

top