Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

MC: Multicultural Center & Resources

This guide promotes the Multicultural Center, related resources and national heritage months. This guide is created/maintained by the Sociology Librarian, Lilly.Ramin@unt.edu

November is Native American Heritage Month

Native American Heritage Month wording at top. Picture of tribe members below wording in traditional clothing.

Image of Native American people in traditional clothing.

November is Native American Heritage Month (NAHM)

Historically in the U.S., this month has been referred to as American Indian Heritage Month This month recognizes the accomplishments of the peoples who were the original inhabitants, explorers and settlers of the United States. NAHM celebrates the cultures, traditions, and histories and acknowledges the important contributions of Native people. Suggestions? Email me, the UNT Sociology Librarian, at Lilly.Ramin@unt.edu


Related Links:

Subject terms for browsing the Library catalog:

Native American Heritage Month terms for browsing in our collections (examples only). These headings are from Library of Congress.

For online format materials, examples include:

Subjects on specific time periods in history, example: World War, 1939-1945 > Participation, Indian

Groups and people

Database highlight at UNT Libraries:

  • For research on specific tribes and more

AIHC screenshot fourth tab

Caption: Screenshot of AIHC database, 4th tab, pictured above. 

Sycamore Stacks: The Sycamore Library Blog

Indigenous People Day and resources
UNT news: Celebrating Indigenous Peoples Day – A Message from the President

Indigenous studies E-Books

E-Books Online from UNT Libraries

  • Full Text books accessible online, and off campus with your active UNT EUID login.

New for 2022 (all formats)

Media Library (Chilton) and Streaming Films

The media library collection films, games and more! For assistance locating materials, including physical DVDs and games,  you can visit the help desk, email media.library@unt.edu or search the Library Catalog.

Subject Headings in Library catalog for film related items (example):

Film examples:

Film recommendations (Music related) by Joseph Sioui (Music Library staff):

Music Library
To locate specific artists or genres, please contact the experts at the Music Library on the 4th floor of Willis Library. 

Subject headings to browse for artists (examples only):

Music Library Recommendation by Joseph Sioui:

Special Collections (Willis Library 4th floor)

T
o locate materials on specific subjects or areas of interest please visit the experts in Special Collections (4th floor, Willis Library building) or email
SpecialCollections@unt.edu

Land Acknowledgement (UNT Pride Alliance and UNT NASA)

This Land Acknowledgement was written in collaboration with the UNT Native American Student Association. More information about their organization can be found on the UNT NASA website.

Land Acknowledgement is a formal statement that recognizes and respects Indigenous Peoples as traditional stewards of this land and the enduring relationship that exists between Indigenous Peoples and their traditional territories. To recognize the land is an expression of gratitude and appreciation to those whose territory we reside on, and a way of honoring the Indigenous people who have been living and working on the land from time immemorial. It is important to understand the long existing history that has brought us to reside on the land, and to seek to understand our place within that history. Land acknowledgements do not exist in a past tense, or historical context: colonialism is a current ongoing process, and we need to build our mindfulness of our present participation. It is also worth noting that acknowledging the land is Indigenous protocol. We would like to open our event today by acknowledging that the land on which we gather is the occupied/unceded/seized territory of the Wichita and Caddo Affiliated Tribes. These tribes have stewarded this land throughout the generations and we would like to pay our respects to elders, both past and present.
(Wording above is from the UNT IDEA Land Acknowledgement [webpage]

Additional Links

top