Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

HNRS 1500: Introduction to Research: An Interdisciplinary Perspective: Additional Resources

Publishing & Presenting Resources

The following are a list of resources for you to browse to find out publishing rates and presenting opportunities in your field. If you need help navigating these resources, just Ask Us!

  • SAGE Research Methods Online
    • SAGE Research Methods is a research methods tool created to help researchers, faculty and students with their research projects. SAGE Research Methods links over 175,000 pages of SAGE’s renowned book, journal and reference content. Researchers can explore methods concepts to help them design research projects, understand particular methods or identify a new method, conduct their research, and write up their findings. Since SAGE Research Methods focuses on methodology rather than disciplines, it can be used across the social sciences, health sciences, and more. Subject coverage includes sociology, health, criminology, education, anthropology, psychology, business, political science, history, economics, among others.
  • Cabell's Directory of Publishing Opportunities
    • Cabell's Directories of Publishing Opportunities The Directories contain addresses, phones, e-mails, web site addresses, and guidelines and submission information for over 4,000 journals in Business, Economics, Education and Psychology. The Directory helps users choose journals by topical coverage. It also provides manuscript and publication guidelines, as well as descriptions of the review processes for the journals included.
  • PapersInvited
    • PapersInvited consists of detailed information and deadlines about calls for papers for forthcoming conferences and special issues of scholarly journals. These calls for papers are issued by professional bodies, journal editors and other conference organizers in all disciplines and from all over the world. Thus, the database serves as an alerting service for researchers, scholars and students that are seeking opportunities to present and publish their research.
  • Scholarly Electronic Publishing Bibliography
    • Scholarly Electronic Publishing Bibliography contains elected English-language articles, books, and other printed and electronic sources that are useful in understanding scholarly electronic publishing efforts on the Internet. The bibliography covers a wide range of topics, such as digital copyright, digital libraries, digital preservation, digital repositories, e-books, e-journals, license agreements, metadata, and open access. A limited number of pre-1990 key resources are included.
  • Ulrichsweb
    • Ulrichsweb is a source of detailed information on more than 300,000 periodicals and serials of all types: academic and scholarly journals, e-journals, peer-reviewed titles, popular magazines, newspapers, newsletters, and more. The database covers more than 900 subject areas. Records provide data points such as ISSN, publisher, language, subject, abstracting & indexing coverage, full-text database coverage, tables of contents, and reviews written by librarians.
  • RefWorks
    • RefWorks: reference management software that allows users to generate citations and bibliographies in a variety of formats. Available to all UNT members, but you need to sign up for an account the first time you use. Note: Please be aware that Write-N-Cite v.2 requires that documents be saved in Word 97-2003 (.doc) format to work properly. Write-N-Cite III should be used for Word 2003 and later.
  • Opposing Viewpoints In Context
    • Opposing Viewpoints In Context covers today's hottest social issues, from Offshore Drilling to Climate Change, Health Care to Immigration. Helps students research, analyze and organize a broad variety of data for conducting research, completing writing assignments, preparing for debates, creating presentations and more. Includes pro/con essays; topic overviews; primary source documents; biographies of social activists and reformers; court-case overviews; periodical articles; statistical tables, charts and graphs; images; podcasts, including weekly presidential addresses and premier NPR programs; and a national and state curriculum standards search, correlated to the content that allows educators to quickly identify material by grade and discipline.

Research Video Tutorials

For learning more about research, analyzing data, and SPSS, watch these YouTube Videos:

 

This video series includes tutorials on LaTeX.

 

Additional Links

top