Foundation Grants to Individuals Online is available on the desktop computers inside the Sycamore Library in Sycamore Hall. Google Chrome browser must be used to access this database. It provides details on funders that provide scholarships, fellowships, grants, and a wide range of financial support to individuals
The 990-PF is the information return that U.S. private foundations file with the Internal Revenue Service. It provides:
Access to this information is also available through the Foundation Directory Online Quick Start and via 990 Finder.
The free version of the Foundation Directory Online, Quick Start - http://foundationcenter.org/find-funding/fdo-quick-start - is accessible from anywhere and provides free, public access to essential information about over 100,000 foundations and over 250,000 IRS Forms 990-PF.
You can search by grantmaker name, state, or zip code. Funder profiles include:
Address and contact information
Fields of interest
Foundation Directory Online contains profiles for grantmakers who fund organizations and includes:
There are two versions of Foundation Directory Online (FDO): FDO Essential and FDO Professional. Both include the same funder profiles, but FDO Essential does not have all of the same bells as whistles as FDO Professional.
Foundation Directory Online Essential is temporarily available remotely to UNT and non-UNT community members. Users can set up a "day pass" that provides one 24-hour period of access every 30 days. To set up a day pass, create a free online FDO Essential account, then initiate the "day pass". More details on the day pass access model are available in the FDO Essential Day Pass Guide.
Foundation Directory Online Professional is available to UNT and non-UNT community members in-person on the desktop computers inside the Sycamore Library. For non-UNT users, Sycamore Library has two dedicated community use stations. If you need help finding these community-use computers stations, please ask at our service desk.
To access either FDO Essential or FDO Professional, you can click through the links above or go to library.unt.edu, click on the "Databases" tab, search for the database name, and click through to either FDO option. Please email the subject librarian if you experience any trouble accessing the databases.