Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Costume History and Fashion Design

This guide contains research resources for costume and fashion history, fashion design and theater costuming

Historic Costume and Fashion Images: Databases

Historic Costume and Fashion Images: Image Databases


If accessing these databases off campus, you will be asked for your EUID and EUID password.

Historic Costume e-Books

Historic Costume E-Books

 

Use these highly illustrated e-books to find images of the costumes and clothing people were wearing in different historic periods.
To open the book, just click on the book cover or title and then the green "Find It" button.
*If you are accessing off campus, you will be asked for an EUID and EUID password before the book will open. 
 

Historic Costume and Fashion Images: Books

Historic Costume and Fashion: Books


For books on costume and fashion in the UNT Libraries, search the UNT Library Catalog. Choose the Keyword search.
Search the name of the designer or topic in the search box. Example: Chanel, Coco; Chanel, Coco AND dress, Medieval AND clothing; Medieval AND fashion; "Art Deco" AND fashion; accessories AND renaissance; shoes AND history.

Historic Costume Identification: Microforms

Historic Costume and Fashion Images: Microfilm


Visual Catalogue of Fashion and Costume in the Victoria and Albert Museum, 1556-1975. MicF 245
Includes prints, drawings, and plates of costume and fashion designs owned by the museum.

Pacquin-Worth Fashion Drawings, 1865-1956 MicF385
Provides 5,000 illustrations of Parisian fashion designs.

Fashion For America MicF633
Provides information on the U.S. fashion industry during the 20th century created from images in the collection of the Fashion Institute of Technology Library.

Swinging Sixties: Fashion Design in Britain, 1960-1969 MicF 384
Contains images of Sixties designers, haute couture, and manufacturing houses.

London College of Fashion Designer Files MicF 802
Contains 25 years of clippings of various designers' work from fashion magazines such as Vogue and Elle.

New York and Hollywood Fashion and Costume Design from the Brooklyn Museum Collection MicF 366
Provides an overview of fashion and costume design from 1910 through the late 1950s. Includes 657 sketches representing 55 designers. Examples of Hollywood designers included are Charles LeMaire, Edith Head, Walter Plunkett, and Irene.
 

Film & Theater Costuming Books

Film & Theater Costuming: Books


Most books are located on the 3rd floor of the Willis Library. Click on the title to see the location and call number.

*Also see the Historic Costume and Fashion Identification Sources tab for great visual reference books.

Survey of Historic Costume
GT580. T67 1998
More Costumes for the Stage
GT1741. J323 1993
American Costume, 1915-1970: A Source Book for the Stage Costume
PN2067.03 1982
Costume on the Stage, 1640-1940 (DeMarly)
GT1741.D4 1982
Theatrical Costume, Masks, Make-up and Wigs: A Bibliography and Iconography
Z5691 .J68 2000
 

Additional Links

top