Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Costume History and Fashion Design

This guide contains research resources for costume and fashion history, fashion design and theater costuming

How to Find Books on Costume History and Fashion Design at the UNT Libraries

Books on Historic Costume and Fashion


For books on costume and fashion in the UNT Libraries, search the UNT Library Catalog. Choose the Keyword search.
Country or Period Search: France AND costume (or dress, or clothing, or fashion), France AND Baroque AND costume, Spain AND Medieval AND costume, "Art Deco" AND  fashion; Accessories AND Renaissance; shoes AND history.
Designer Search:  Chanel, Coco; Chanel, Coco AND dress,Dior, Christian AND fashion

How to Find More Books on Costume and Fashion at Other Libraries

A Sampling of Books on Costume and Fashion at the UNT Libraries

Historic Costume and Fashion: Reference Books


Most books are located on the 3rd floor of the Willis Library. Click on the title of the book to see the location and call number.

Survey of Historic Costume
20,000 Years of Fashion (Boucher)
The Guide to Historic Costume
The Illustrated Encyclopaedia of Costume and Fashion: from 1066 to the Present
Encyclopedia of Clothing and Fashion
The Illustrated Encyclopaedia of Costume and Fashion 1550-1920
Encyclopaedia of Fashion
Esquire's Encyclopedia of 20th Century Men's Fashions
Evolution of Fashion
The Face of the Century: 100 Years of Makeup and Style
Fashion in Costume, 1200-2000
Fashions in Hair (Corson)
Fashions in Makeup (Corson)
Godey's Lady's Book 1830-1898
A History of Men's Fashion
Men's Fashion: The Complete Source Book
20th Century Fashion
Contemporary Fashion
Visual History of Costume Accessories
17th-century men's dress patterns, 1600-1630
How to read a suit: a guide to changing men's fashion from the 17th to the 20th century
Waistcoats: from the Hopkins collection c.1720-1950
Footwear: shoes and boots from the Hopkins Collection
Fashion in detail: from the 17th and 18th centuries
Historical pattern archive: women's clothing 1837-1969
The American duchess guide to 18th century dressmaking: how to hand sew Georgian gowns and wear them with style
The American duchess guide to 18th century beauty: 40 projects for period-accurate hairstyles, makeup and accessories
18th-century fashion in detail
Fashioning fashion: European dress in detail, 1700-1915


Historic Costume Books in Special Collections


Special Collections on the 4th floor of the Willis Library houses many rare and fragile materials on the history of costume and fashion design. These items may be used only in Special Collections.


Le Costume en France de François: 1er à 1900
Costume Historique
Costumes Civils et Militaires des Français à Travers les Siècles
Costumes of Eastern Europe
Delineations of the Most Remarkable Costumes of the Different Provinces of Spain
Deutsche Volkstrachten
Encyclopedia of World Costume (Yarwood)
Fashion: From Ancient Egypt to the Present Day
History of French Masculine Costume
History of the Feminine Costume of the World (2 vols.)
Mexican Costume
The history of fashion in France
Zur Geschichte der Costume
 

Additional Links

top