Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

CHEM 5010: Graduate Teaching and Research, Fall 2020: October 14

Library research instruction and assignments for graduate students in chemistry.

Library assignment for October 14

Before coming to class on Wednesday, October 14, please do the following:

  • Register for a RefWorks account,
  • Review the information below, moving through the boxes in numerical order, and
  • Download the Library Assignment #2 - it will be posted in Canvas on the morning of October 14. If you want a hard copy, print it before you come to the computer lab.

If you have any difficulties registering, please contact me for help. During class, I will give a short talk, and then you will have the rest of the time to work on your assignment.

The assignment is due on Monday, October 19 before the beginning of class. Submit the Word file in Canvas, and don't forget to put your name and course code on the assignment! 

The purpose of this assignment is to learn how to give correct attribution to authors of scholarly communications and create a bibliography of references on your topic using the reference manager, RefWorks. You will learn to collect and save references and produce bibliographies in ACS numeric superscript citation style. The link to the online ACS manual is at the bottom of this box, in case you need to refer to it.

NOTE: Dr. Slaughter would like you to check three items in the bibliography you'll be creating. Make any necessary changes before you submt the bibliography.

  1. Make sure that each reference uses the ACS abbreviation for the journal. You can check that at CASSI (CAS Source Index Search Tool). Paste the journal title or abbreviation from each reference into the search and make sure it's correct. If there are no search results, then leave the title as it is. If there is more than one result, select the abbreviation closest to the title you have.
  2. Make sure the pages numbers are inclusive. They should be like this: 426-438. There should not be only one number (426), or abbreviated numbers (426-38). Check the article itself or the article abstract at the journal website for the final page number.
  3. Some references are in the database before the article is published and are called "ahead of print" or "preprint." Remove these words from the reference and add "in press" and the DOI (digital object identifier) as shown in this example: Nin-Hill, A.; Rovira, C. ACS Catal. 2020in press. DOI: 10.1021/acscatal.0c02609/. You can find the DOI on the full text article or go to the journal website and find the article's abstract, which usually has a DOI. 

1. Information and Plagiarism

When scholars write articles and books, they create information for their academic community. Articles and books have value because of the research and writing scholars put into them and the impact they have on a field. In recognition of that value, it is considered an ethical practice in academia to provide citations and full references to scholarly works when we paraphrase or directly quote them in our own writing. The act of using someone else's ideas without giving them credit is called plagiarism and is a violation of the code of student conduct at UNT. To learn more, watch the short video, Academic Plagiarism and How to Avoid It, produced by the University of Canterbury Libraries. Also visit the library's Plagiarism guide for more tips on avoiding plagiarism.

In this library assignment, you'll learn how to use the tool, RefWorks, to help you give correct attribution to scholars when you use their work. RefWorks can create bibliographies with full references in the citation style your professor requires. You can also use RefWorks in conjunction with a Microsoft Word add-in, RefWorks Citation Manager to create in-text citations and bibliographies. We won't be using RefWorks Citation Manager for this library assignment, but you can find out how to install and use it at the RefWorks library guide.

2. Create and Access Your RefWorks Account

RefWorks is available to UNT faculty, staff, and students as long as the Libraries have a contract with RefWorks. To create an account, follow these steps:

  1. Go to the RefWorks login page.
  2. Click on the Create Account at the bottom of the login window.
  3. Enter your UNT email address, e.g., marybrown@my.unt.edu and create a password.
  4. RefWorks will send you an authentication email with a link to your new account in a few minutes.
  5. Next complete the registration, and then you can start using your new account.
  6. You can now login with your username and password through https://refworks.proquest.com/ wherever you have an Internet connection. 
  7. Visit our RefWorks Library Guide to learn how to make your research more efficient.

To explore alternatives to RefWorks, visit the Reference Managers library guide.

3. Organizing References with Folders in RefWorks

View UNT's RefWorks video channel of 4 videos for more details about RefWorks. You have access with your EUID and password through Microsoft Stream in Office 365.

To organize your references from the beginning, create folders in your RefWorks account before you start importing references from journal article databases. Watch this video to learn how.

4. Starting Research with RefWorks

Watch this video to learn how to export references directly from a journal article database to your RefWorks account.

The method of directly importing references into your RefWorks account works with most databases, but it does not work for ACS Publications (includes jounals) or SciFinder-n. See Box 5: Adding References Using Indirect Export, for directions on gathering references from those databases.

Below are other databases containing chemistry journal articles that you may want to explore. They all will directly export references to your RefWorks account.

5. Adding References Using Indirect Export

SciFinder-n and ACS Publications are among the handful of databases that do not export references directly to RefWorks. You have to take the intermediate step of creating a text document to import into RefWorks in these cases. The steps below show you how to accomplish this using SciFinder-n.

1. Do a search in SciFinder-n and select the references you would like to export to RefWorks.

2. Select the Download button at the top right of the results screen.

 

3. Select Citation (.ris) from the File Type dropdown menu.

 

4. Download the RIS file to your computer.

5. In your RefWorks account, select the + icon and then select Import References.

 

6. On the next screen, drag the RIS file from Downloads to the grey bar in RefWorks and drop it. 

 

7. RefWorks should recognize the RIS format and ask you to select the exporting database. Scifinder-n is not an option, so select RIS Format instead. Then click the Import button at the bottom right.

8. Finally, your references should appear in the Last Imported folder.

6. Creating a Bibliography in RefWorks

Watch this video starting at minute 2:55 to learn how to create your bibliography. Remember to select the ACS numeric superscript citation style!

7. Other Reference Managers

There are several good reference managers that can help you organize your research, in addition to RefWorks. EndNote is one that is available to you through the Chemistry Computer Lab. Free applications that are very similar to RefWorks are Zotero and Mendeley. Visit the Reference Managers library guide to learn more about all of these applications.

Additional Links

top