Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

BUSI 5190: Administrative Strategy

Company, industry, and market research resources, including SIC/NAICS codes and financial ratios to help students complete this capstone course.

Getting Started

Following are company resources organized by type, which include a) advertising expenditures, b) consumer behavior & public opinion, c) market research reports & information, and d) demographics & target markets. To get started:

  1. Click on the side navigation tab or scroll down for what you need
  2. Choose a resource by clicking on the tab
  3. Read the information and tips below the tab
  4. Click the link to connect to the resource
  5. Contact your Business Librarian if you need help.

Advertising Expenditures

SRDS Business Media Source provides planning data on trade media, including print journals and websites that reach business-to-business audiences. Data includes rates and contact information, audience metrics and audit statements, and more.

NOTE: Locating information on advertising expenditures can be difficult. Below are a few suggested resources that might help:

SRDS Consumer Media Source provides planning data on U.S. print magazines and websites that reach consumer audiences. Information provided includes rates and contact information, audience metrics and audit statements, and more. Search options include media type, keyword, title, consumer market classification, and BPA, CVC or AAm audited.

NOTE: Locating information on advertising expenditures can be difficult. Below is a link to a suggested resource that might help:

SRDS Newspaper Media Source provides planning data on daily U.S. papers, newspaper groups, community papers, alternatives, shoppers, classifieds and their websites. Information provided includes rates and contact information, audience metrics and circulation, and more. Search options include geography, media type, newspaper types, press associations, titles, and keywords.

NOTE: Locating information on advertising expenditures can be difficult. Below is a link to a suggested resource that might help:

NOTE: Locating information on advertising expenditures can be difficult. Below are a few suggested resources that might help:

Consumer Behavior & Public Opinion

ABI/INFORM Global full text and abstracts of articles in journals, magazines, and newspapers covering a wide range of topics in business and industry. Dates of Coverage: 1923 – Current.


Video tutorials: https://youtu.be/6p2eJqJT0SI

Business Source Complete provides full text and abstracts of articles in more than 1,200 journals, magazines, newspapers, videos, and periodicals covering a wide range of topics in business and industry. Provides market research reports and country reports. Additional full text, non-journal content includes financial data, books, monographs, major reference works, book digests, conference proceedings, case studies, investment research reports, SWOT analyses and more. Dates of Coverage: 1886 to present.


Video tutorial: https://youtu.be/MZJp6P4vids

Combine the industry, company, or NAICS with keyword terms like "consumer behavior," "purchase decision," "product choice" via Google to search for relevant materials.

When searching via Google combine limiters with keywords to return specific results. Below are a few examples:

  • Site:.pdf will limit to PDF
  • Site:.org limits to organizational site
  • Site:.gov limits to a government website

iPoll Databank contains over half a million of U.S. national public opinion surveys in a variety of topics. Includes questions and answers from over 150 survey organizations. Dates of Coverage: last 70+ years.

Free web resources on public opinion polling:

Free web resources on consumer behavior & public opinion:

Market Research Reports & Info

Business Insights: Global provides an international perspective on company and industry information for over 500,000 companies. Includes company profiles, industry rankings, marketing information, products, brands, investment ratings, financial ratios, financial statements, market size, industries by SIC, directory information, and more. Dates of coverage: varies by company.

Business Source Complete provides full text and abstracts of articles in more than 1,200 journals, magazines, newspapers, videos, and periodicals covering a wide range of topics in business and industry. Provides company profiles, industry profiles, market research reports and country reports. Additional full text, non-journal content includes financial data, books, monographs, major reference works, book digests, conference proceedings, case studies, investment research reports, SWOT analyses and more. Dates of Coverage: 1886 to present.

IBISWorld is a wide-ranging collection of U.S. and global industry market research and U.S. risk ratings. It contains business reports in five categories: industry market research, industry risk ratings and company research for the U.S., global industry research (including a special collection of China Industry Reports), and selected economic and demographic data. Market analysis components include overviews, industry performance and outlook, competitive and regulatory environment, major competitors, operational conditions and key statistics. U.S. risk reports discuss industry and market risk, including industry life cycle, growth potential and economic sensitivity. Downloadable report elements include SWOT analyses, statistical tables and graphs.

Statista provides access to statistics and studies gathered by market researchers, trade organizations, scientific publications, and government sources on over 600 industries.


Video tutorial: https://youtu.be/knHjh7qiR2I

Demographics & Target Markets

IBISWorld is a wide-ranging collection of U.S. and global industry market research and U.S. risk ratings. It contains business reports that include market segmentation and demographic data. Market analysis components include overviews, industry performance and outlook, competitive and regulatory environment, major competitors, operational conditions and key statistics.

Statistical Abstract of the United States, published since 1878, is the authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States. Topic areas include population demographics, vital statistics, education, employment, labor force, business enterprise, manufactures, wholesale and retail trade, banking and finance, foreign commerce, and international statistics. Dates of Coverage: 1878 (with some data back to 1789)–present.

Social Explorer is an online research tool designed to provide quick and easy access to current and historical census data and demographic information. The easy-to-use Web interface lets users create maps and reports to better illustrate, analyze, and understand demography and social change. In addition to being a comprehensive data resource, Social Explorer also offers features and tools to meet the needs of both demography experts and novices. To learn more about Social Explorer, visit http://www.socialexplorer.com/pub/aboutus/home.aspx.

PolicyMap is an online data and mapping application that provides access to over 15,000 indicators related to demographics, housing and more. Data is available at all common geographies including address, block group, census tract, zip code, county, city, state, and MSA as well as unique geographies like school districts and political boundaries.

Free web resources for demographics & target markets:

Additional Links

top