Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

BUSI 2200: Professional Development II-Critical Thinking and Decision Making in Business

Resources covering topics related to critical thinking, problem solving and decision making, particularly in business situations.

Getting Started

Following are industry resources organized by type, which include:

To get started:

  1. Click on one of the above links or scroll down for what you need
  2. Choose a resource by clicking the tab
  3. Read the information and tips below the tab
  4. Click the link to connect to the resource
  5. Contact your Business Librarian for help.

Industry Associations

Associations Unlimited contains information for approximately 460,000 international and U.S. national, regional, state, and local nonprofit membership organizations in all fields, including IRS data on U.S. 501(c) nonprofit organizations. For some 2,600 major U.S. national associations, provides full-text association materials such as brochures, pamphlets, and membership application forms.


Video tutorial:
 https://youtu.be/s1b-5eD4Coc

Leadership Library on the Internet provides directory information for individuals in federal, state, and local government, corporations, financial institutions, nonprofit organizations, the news media, law firms, trade associations, interest groups, and more. Search or browse by name, job title, organization name, industry, alma mater, etc.


No video tutorials available currently

Industry Classification Codes

The North American Industry Classification System (NAICS) is used by Federal statistical agencies in classifying business establishments for the purpose of collecting, analyzing, and publishing statistical data related to the U.S. business economy.

NOTE: Identify code to search databases and the Internet for industry specific information.

The Standard Industrial Classification (SIC) codes are four-digit numerical codes assigned by the U.S. government to business establishments to identify the primary business of the establishment.

NOTE: Identify code to search databases and the Internet for industry specific information.

The International Standard Industrial Classification (ICIS) system maintained by the United Nations and used for some international databases and resources.

NOTE: Identify code to search databases and the Internet for industry specific information.

Financial Ratios

eStatement Studies is the online version of RMA’s Annual Statement Studies which provides benchmark financial statement data broken down by industry for analysis and comparison. Lisa McDaniel, Lecturer in Finance, prepared the instructions on using this database.

NOTE: This resource is available via the CoB Labs, not the UNT Libraries.

  • Lab computers have a shortcut in the FIREL section called eStatements Web.
    • This is the only way to access the eStatements website (without logging in).
    • If you would rather log in, here is the URL to log in: https://rmau.org/autologin
       
  • Questions about the eStatement Studies should be directed to the UNT FIREL Department at (940) 565-3050 or firelrec@unt.edu.
     
  • Use UNT computer lab or remote access through VMWare to enter the website using this link: http://www.statementstudies.org/iplogin.aspx 
    • Contact the CoB Lab for log in assistance: 940-565-2350

 

D&B Industry Norms & Key Business Ratios provides industry benchmark financial ratios by industry code and company size.

NOTE: ON RESERVE at the Eagle Commons Library Service Desk, Call Number: HF5681.R25.I53

RMA Annual Statement Studies provides industry benchmark financial ratios by industry code and company size.

NOTE: ON RESERVE at the Eagle Commons Library Service Desk, Call Number: HG1507.R6

Almanac of Business & Industry Financial Ratios, "Troy's Almanac" provides industry benchmark financial ratios by industry code and company size.

NOTE: ON RESERVE at the Eagle Commons Library Service Desk, Call Number: HF5681.R25.A4​

Profiles & Overviews

Business Insights: Global provides industry information for over 900 industries, including industry definition, snapshot, background and development, current conditions, industry leaders, major countries in the industry, etc.

From the home page, click on "industry essays" under the "Global Company and Industry Intelligence" heading. Or, search by industry name or NAICS code in the search box -- be sure and change the search option to "Industry" since the default search option is "Company."

Business Sources Complete provides industry profiles and reports that include industry definitions, establishments, trends, ratios, market overview, market data, market segmentation, market outlook, Five Forces Analysis, leading companies, macroeconomic indicators, and more.

Choose "Industry Profile" from the drop down list for "Publication Type" below the available "Search Options." Then type in the "Industry" and click "Search." If you are only interested in U.S. reports/profiles, limit your search by "Geography" by choosing "United States."


Video tutorial: https://youtu.be/dVHsKuPNUek

IBISWorld is a collection of U.S. and global industry market research and U.S. risk ratings. It contains business reports in five categories including industry market research, industry risk ratings, and company research for the U.S., global industry research, and selected economic and demographic data. Market analysis components include overviews, industry performance and outlook, competitive and regulatory environment, major competitors, operational conditions, and key statistics.

Nexis Uni industry overviews include an industry descriptions, top companies, ratio components, industry stock charts, recent industry news and more.

To access these profiles, click the "Business" box under "Discover topics," then click "Company Dossier." A new search form will appear with an option to search by "Industry" -- to do so, click the "Industry" tab. Enter a complete or partial industry name or SIC code(s) and then click the red "Search" button.

"First Research," accessible through the database, "Mergent Intellect," offers over 500 industry profiles covering 1000 industry segments which can be browsed or searched directly. Industry overviews include information on the competitive landscape, products and operations, technology, sales and marketing, finance and working capital, regulation, international insights, regional highlights, and human resources. In addition to the overview, "First Research" covers industry news, quarterly updates, industry forecasts, companies, critical issues and more.

NOTE: You must enter an email address before accessing "First Research," so you can take advantage of the "News Alerts" feature. Also, Mergent Intellect should offer access to the same information previously found in Hoovers. If you run across an instance where it is not offering certain information that you usually obtain through Hoovers, please contact Yvonne Dooley at yvonne.dooley@unt.edu.


Connect to Mergent Intellect

NOTE: Hoover's was sunset by the vendor in December 2018. All data previously available in Hoover's Online is now accessible through Mergent Intellect.

Morningstar Investment Research Center provides research on 11 market sectors, including basic materials, communication services, consumer defensive, consumer cyclical, energy, financial services, healthcare, industrials, real estate, technology and utilities. They also provide quarterly and annual market overviews, along with current and historical quarterly industry reports.

To access these reports, click on the "Markets" tab and click on the report you would like to view (i.e. Industry Reports, Sector Reports, etc.).

Value Line Research Center offers access to one-page reports on more than 90 industries. Each industry report contains, among other things, Value Line's Timeliness, Safety, and Technical ranks, financial and stock price forecasts for the coming 3 to 5 years, an analyst's written commentary, and much more.

To access these reports, connect to the Value Line Research Center and click on the "Browse Research" tab and look for the "Industry Screens." From the drop-down list, choose one of the industries to view, such as "Advertising." In the upper right-hand corner, click on the "Industry Analysis" button and a one-page report will appear in PDF format.

Also, free Web resource for industry profiles/overviews:

Industry Statistics

IBISWorld is a collection of U.S. and global industry market research and U.S. risk ratings. It contains business reports in five categories including industry market research, industry risk ratings, and company research for the U.S., global industry research, and selected economic and demographic data. Market analysis components include overviews, industry performance and outlook, competitive and regulatory environment, major competitors, operational conditions, and key statistics.

The Organization for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD) is a group of countries that seeks to promote democracy and the market economy. The Statistics available in OECD iLibrary cover topics including environment, health, economic projects, education, finance, information and communication technology, national accounts, productivity, public sector, tourism, and many more. Datasets can be exported in several formats or charts or graphs can be made on the site.


Video tutorial: https://youtu.be/nN5tNWvfDB4

Statista aggregates statistical data on international industries from thousands of sources including market researchers, trade organizations, scientific journals, and government databases. Provides access to quantitative data on media, business, finance, politics, and other areas of interest.


Video tutorial: https://youtu.be/knHjh7qiR2I

Wharton Research Data Services (WRDS) provides a business intelligence, data analytics, and financial research platform, enabling thought leadership, historical analysis, and insight into innovations in academic research. It offers access to over 350 terabytes of data across multiple disciplines, including Accounting, Banking, Economics, ESG, Finance, Healthcare, Insurance, Marketing, and Statistics.

UNT's subscription includes access to Audit Analytics, Bank Regulatory, Blockholders, CBOE (Chicago Board Options Exchange), S&P Compustat Bank, Compustat North America, Center for Research in Security Prices (CRSP), DMEF Academic Data, EVENTUS, FINRA TRACE, and many others.

NOTE: To access this platform, you must register for a WRDS account and sign in.


Video tutorials: https://vimeo.com/whartonwrds

Also, free Web resource for industry statistics:

Industry Trends

ABI/INFORM Global  provides full text and abstracts of articles in journals, magazines, and newspapers covering a wide range of topics in business and industry. Dates of Coverage: 1923 – Current

Business Source Complete provides full text and abstracts of articles in journals, magazines, newspapers and periodicals covering a wide range of topics in business and industry, including industry trends.

Use the Advanced Search to search by "Subject Terms (SU)"  or terms found in the "Abstract or Author-Supplied Abstract (AB)." You can limit your results to full text articles.  You can also search by NAICS/Industry Code.


Video tutorial: https://youtu.be/MZJp6P4vids

IBISWorld is a collection of U.S. and global industry market research and U.S. risk ratings. It contains business reports in five categories including industry market research, industry risk ratings, and company research for the U.S., global industry research, and selected economic and demographic data. Market analysis components include overviews, industry performance and outlook, competitive and regulatory environment, major competitors, operational conditions, and key statistics.

Nexis Uni industry overviews include an industry descriptions, top companies, ratio components, industry stock charts, recent industry news and more.

To access these profiles, click the "Business" box under "Discover topics," then click "Company Dossier." A new search form will appear with an option to search by "Industry" -- to do so, click the "Industry" tab. Enter a complete or partial industry name or SIC code(s) and then click the red "Search" button.

Thomson ONE Banker conducts powerful searches against data from multiple databases and displays detailed reports and charts. Search across multiple databases for immediate access to news, quotes, earnings estimates, key financials, ratios, and growth rates for over 65,000 active and inactive global companies. The data is drawn from IBES, Worldscope, SDC, other Thomson databases, and Edgar filings. Save search criteria and results for quick reference. Analyze the performance of companies individually or in the context of peers and industry averages. Obtain more than 200 pre-formatted presentation-ready reports and charts containing financials.

NOTE: You must use Internet Explorer to access this database


Video tutorials: https://youtu.be/fyzYxA7YfEw

Additional Links

top