Guides: COMM 3010: Communication Perspectives: Journals and Databases

Other options for research material

Google Scholar
Google Scholar includes peer-reviewed literature (not all of which the UNT Libraries subscribes to), theses and dissertations, and informal publications like drafts of articles, working papers, and technical reports tied to institutions and individual scholars. Google Scholar provides links to full text for freely available publications and to those to which the UNT Libraries subscribe

InterLibrary Loan (ILL)

WorldCat Discovery
WorldCat is a union catalog that itemizes the collections of 72,000 libraries in 170 countries and territories that participate in the Online Computer Library Center global cooperative. Find out where you information is located.

Newspapers

ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The Globe and Mail
This resource provides patrons access to an online archive of The Globe and Mail through ProQuest. This historical newspaper can provide genealogists, researchers, and scholars with access to first-hand accounts and coverage of politics, society, and historical events of the time. Date coverage of this newspaper ranges from 1844 to 2011.
Dallas Morning News Historical Archive
Dallas Morning News Historical Archives (1885-1984) This resource offers full page reproductions of The Dallas Morning News newspaper from 1885-1984.

NOTE: The license for this product restricts authorized use to access by current faculty and students of the University of North Texas. The person accessing this link is liable for any infringement.
Historical Newspapers in Washington
The Historical Newspapers in Washington project is part of the Washington State Library’s program to make its rare, historical resources more accessible to students, teachers and citizens across the state. Newspapers uploaded through this project will represent different geographic regions of the state with date coverage ranging from as early as 1870s.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The New York Times (1851-1922)

Databases

EBSCOhost.
EBSCOhost is an intuitive online research platform including the following databases. Academic Search Complete, Business Continuity & Disaster Recovery Reference Center, Communication & Mass Media Complete, EBSCOhost Multilingual, International Bibliopgraphy of Theatre & Dance, PsycINFO, Reference Latina, and Sustainability Reference Center.
ComAbstracts
ComAbstracts published by CIOS, Communication Institute for Online Scholarship contains abstracts of articles published in the primary professional literature of the communications field. The database is unique in its comprehensive coverage of scholarly books in communication and journalism. Dates of Coverage: 1966 - present
ComIndex
ComIndex Journal index database published by CIOS, Communication Institute for Online Scholarship. The literature included in this database is restricted to first line scholarship published in academic journals that serve the communication discipline. Dates of Coverage: 1960's - current
Sage Journals online
SAGE Full-Text Collections include Communication Studies, Criminology, Education, Management & Organization Studies, Materials Science, Health Sciences, Political Science, Psychology, Sociology, and Urban Studies & Planning.
Sage Research Methods Datasets
Research in Communication and Media Studies often looks at the ways in which the media reflects, represents and influences the world. This includes the study of journalism, film and television, advertising and other forms of digital media. Data often takes the form of documents, such as newspapers, photographs or internet posts, and common methods of analysis include content analysis, discourse analysis and media analysis. Communication researchers may also look more broadly at how humans interact with each other, which often includes examining their social networks.
Sage Research Methods Cases
Choose from hundreds of case studies showing how methods are applied in real research projects.
Sage Research Methods Videos
Learn research skills by watching and listening to memorable research methods and statistics lessons by providing interactive, engaging, visual content.
Business Continuity and Disaster Recovery Reference Center
Business Continuity & Disaster Recovery Reference Center is a full-text database designed to support continuity experts and information professionals. It covers all aspects of business continuity and disaster recovery (BC/DR), including risk evaluation, emergency preparedness and crisis communications.

Statistical Information

Bureau of Economic Analysis
BEA strives to provide the most timely, relevant, and accurate economic data to you, our users, to help promote a better understanding of the U.S. economy.

Difference between UNT research material, Google and Yahoo

A comparison of UNT Databases, Electronic Journals, eBooks, and our catalog items cannot be compared exactly to Google and Yahoo, because they have different system functions in a very different manner.

UNT searches a well-defined set of items with clear specifications while Google's and Yahoo's scope of coverage is not defined; so we are not searching identical data.
A direct comparison is impossible; however, we can look at the information possibilities between UNT's research options and Google and Yahoo.

UNT Research options:

We use controlled vocabulary searching which includes a list of standardized subject headings to describe what a source is about. This allows researches the ability to identify more sources on similar topics with one search.
- A big problem many students struggle with his narrowing their topic.
- Developing a concise theses statement or question.

Google Scholar:

Easy place to begin a search and find possible items.
- Can provide options for word usage in your searches.
- Can suggest a scholarly database or journal to look into.
Does not offer the number and extent of special searching and limiting features.
May find older items outside the parameters of some databases
Can be difficult to find the actual article
- Possibly only the citation is available
- Possibly on the abstract is available
May have access to gray literature (manifold document type) a document that is not controlled by a commercial publisher.
- Reports
- Conference proceedings
- Doctoral thesis/dissertations
- Blogs,etc.

Google:

Overload of information - not necessarily on your specific topic.
Quality of research information must be determined by your own evaluations
Search content could be inundated with advertisements
Searches all possible word variations

Yahoo:

Overload of information - not necessarily on your specific topic.
Quality of research information must be determined by your own evaluations
Search content could be inundated with advertisements

Shultz, Mary. “Comparing Test Searches in PubMed and Google Scholar.” Journal of the Medical Library Association : JMLA 95.4 (2007): 442–445. PMC. Web. 31 Aug. 2018.

GreyNet Internalational 2018. Grey Literature Network Services, http://www.greynet.org/home.html. Accessed 31, Aug. 2018.

COMM 3010: Communication Perspectives

Other options for research material

Newspapers

Databases

Statistical Information

Difference between UNT research material, Google and Yahoo

Additional Links