Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Industry Research

UNT Libraries business resources that offer industry information.

Business Insights: Global

Business Insights: Global provides industry information for over 900 industries, including industry definition, snapshot, background and development, current conditions, industry leaders, major countries in the industry, etc.

From the home page, click on "industry essays" under the "Global Company and Industry Intelligence" heading. Or, search by industry name or NAICS code in the search box -- be sure and change the search option to "Industry" since the default search option is "Company."

Connect to Business Insights: Global

Video Tutorials

Business Source Complete

Business Sources Complete provides industry profiles and reports that include industry definitions, establishments, trends, ratios, market overview, market data, market segmentation, market outlook, Five Forces Analysis, leading companies, macroeconomic indicators, and more.

Choose "Industry Profile" from the drop down list for "Publication Type" below the available "Search Options." Then type in the "Industry" and click "Search." If you are only interested in U.S. reports/profiles, limit your search by "Geography" by choosing "United States."

Connect to Business Sources Complete

Video tutorials

IBIS World

IBISWorld is a collection of U.S. industry market research reports. Market analysis components include overviews, industry performance and outlook, competitive and regulatory environment, major competitors, operational conditions, and key statistics.

Connect to IBISWorld

Video tutorials

Mergent Intellect

"First Research," accessible through the database, "Mergent Intellect," offers over 500 industry profiles covering 1000 industry segments which can be browsed or searched directly. Industry overviews include information on the competitive landscape, products and operations, technology, sales and marketing, finance and working capital, regulation, international insights, regional highlights, and human resources. In addition to the overview, "First Research" covers industry news, quarterly updates, industry forecasts, companies, critical issues and more.

NOTE: You must enter an email address before accessing "First Research," so you can take advantage of the "News Alerts" feature. Also, Mergent Intellect should offer access to the same information previously found in Hoovers. If you run across an instance where it is not offering certain information that you usually obtain through Hoovers, please contact Yvonne Dooley at yvonne.dooley@unt.edu.

Connect to Mergent Intellect

Video tutorials

Morningstar Investment Research Center

Morningstar Investment Research Center provides research on 11 market sectors, including basic materials, communication services, consumer defensive, consumer cyclical, energy, financial services, healthcare, industrials, real estate, technology and utilities. They also provide quarterly and annual market overviews, along with current and historical quarterly industry reports.

To access these reports, click on the "Markets" tab and click on the report you would like to view (i.e. Industry Reports, Sector Reports, etc.).

Connect to Morningstar Investment Research Center

Video tutorials 

Statista

Statista aggregates statistical data on international industries from thousands of sources including market researchers, trade organizations, scientific journals, and government databases. Provides access to quantitative data on media, business, finance, politics, and other areas of interest.

Connect to Statista

Video tutorial

Value Line Research Center

Value Line Research Center offers access to one-page reports on more than 90 industries. Each industry report contains, among other things, Value Line's Timeliness, Safety, and Technical ranks, financial and stock price forecasts for the coming 3 to 5 years, an analyst's written commentary, and much more.

To access these reports, connect to the Value Line Research Center and click on the "Browse Research" tab and look for the "Industry Screens." From the drop-down list, choose one of the industries to view, such as "Advertising." In the upper right-hand corner, click on the "Industry Analysis" button and a one-page report will appear in PDF format.

Connect to Value Line Research Center

Video tutorials 

Free Resources

Below are free Web resource for industry profiles/overviews:

Additional Links

top