Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Environmental history and disaster data
Global Terrorism Database
The Global Terrorism Database (GTD) is an open-source database including information on terrorist events around the world from 1970 through 2012.
EM-DAT International Disaster Database
The main objective of the database is to serve the purposes of humanitarian action at national and international levels. It is an initiative aimed to rationalise decision making for disaster preparedness, as well as providing an objective base for vulnerability assessment and priority setting. EM-DAT contains essential core data on the occurrence and effects of over 18,000 mass disasters in the world from 1900 to present. The database is compiled from various sources, including UN agencies, non-governmental organisations, insurance companies, research institutes and press agencies.
National Hurricane Center
A center of the National Weather Service. Issues watches, warnings, forecasts, and analyses of hazardous tropical weather. Includes satellite and radar images, information on hurricane awareness, and historical storm-related data.
Environmental Protection Agency -- Emergency Response
EPA responds to oil spills, chemical, biological, radiological releases, and large-scale national emergencies. EPA also provides additional response assistance when state and local first responder capabilities have been exhausted or when additional support is requested.
UC Boulder - National Hazards Center
A basic goal of the Center is to strengthen communication among researchers and the individuals, organizations, and agencies concerned with reducing damages caused by disasters. More than a quarter century of cultivating discourse among these groups has placed the Natural Hazards Center center-stage in both the national and global hazards communities.
Check out the Quick Response Reports in the Publications section of the website and the Web Resources list in the Resources section of the website. Sign up for the Disaster listserve and search the HazLit library catalog for books and other materials, many of which are freely accessible online.
National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA) Storm Events Database
The Storm Events Database contains the records used to create the official NOAA Storm Data publication, documenting:
The occurrence of storms and other significant weather phenomena having sufficient intensity to cause loss of life, injuries, significant property damage, and/or disruption to commerce;
Rare, unusual, weather phenomena that generate media attention, such as snow flurries in South Florida or the San Diego coastal area; and
Other significant meteorological events, such as record maximum or minimum temperatures or precipitation that occur in connection with another event.
The database currently contains data from January 1950 to October 2017, as entered by NOAA's National Weather Service (NWS).
Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA)
focuses on U.S. disasters. It provides extensive information about historic and current disaster situations, federally-declared disasters, news releases, fact sheets, and a searchable photo archive.
GenDisasters is focused on providing historical information related to North American accidents and disasters. It includes information on more uncommon incidents such as buggy accidents and cave-ins. It is possible to browse and search by date, location, and type of accident
Includes first hand accounts for some historic U.S disasters
USGS historical topographical maps
In 2009, USGS began the release of a new generation of topographic maps (US Topo) in electronic form, and is now complementing them with the release of high-resolution scans of more than 178,000 historical topographic maps of the United States. The topographic map remains an indispensable tool for everyday use in government, science, industry, land-use and management planning, history, and recreation.
As physical and cultural features change over time, maps are updated and revised, and new editions printed. Although out of date, historical maps are often useful to scientists, historians, environmentalists, genealogists and others researching a particular geographic location or area. A series of maps of the same area published over a period of time can show how an area looked before development and provide a detailed view of changes over time.
EPA's Environmental Impact Statement Database
The Environmental Impact Statement (EIS) Database provides information about EISs prepared by federal agencies, as well as EPA's comments concerning the EISs.
All EISs are filed with EPA, and EPA publishes a "Notice of Availability" each week in the Federal Register. The "Notice of Availability" is the start of the 45-day public comment period for Draft EISs. This notice is also the start of the 30-day "wait period" for Final EISs, in which agencies are generally required to wait 30 days before making a decision on a proposed action.
This database contains:
Records of all EISs received by EPA since 1987
EPA comment letters on EISs since 2001
Electronic (PDF) versions of EISs received by EPA since October 2012
To find older EISs, Contact the preparing agencies "contact person" which is listed in EPA's EIS Database.
Contact the Northwestern University Transportation Library EXIT
One of the largest collections of EISs is available from Northwestern University's Transportation Library. Nearly all of the EISs issued by Federal agencies since 1969 are held, usually including both Draft and Final EISs, as well as related documents (e.g., Environmental Assessments (EAs), Findings Of No Significant Impact (FONSI), Record Of Decisions (RODs), supplementary reports, and maps).
Northwestern University Transportation Library Address
1970 Campus Drive
Evanston, IL 60208
Ask your local librarian to contact the EPA Headquarters Repository to arrange an interlibrary loan.
The EPA Headquarters Repository in Washington D.C. houses a microfiche collection of final EISs filed from 1970 through 1977, and all draft, final and supplemental EISs filed from 1978 through 1990. These microfiches are available through inter-library loans; please ask your local librarian to contact the EPA Headquarters Repository to arrange an interlibrary loan.
National Archives Catalog
The National Archives Archival Research Catalog (ARC) contains environmental studies materials. This collection contains images, documents -- a good set of primary sources.
U.S. Army Corps of Engineers
Sources from the Army Corps of Engineers: histories, photographs, etc.