Guides: MKTG 3710: Marketing Research & Analytics: News & Scholarly Articles

News vs. Scholarly Articles: Understanding the Difference

Evaluating different types of resources:

Scholarly/Peer Reviewed Article: written, read and sometimes evaluated by experts in their field. The purpose of a scholarly article is to inform and report on research in a specific discipline.
Trade Publication: provide information for individuals in a specific industry or field.
Substantive News: provide information to inform or educate the general public on a particular issue or topic.
Popular News: reflect on popular culture of the time and often bring an entertainment value.
Sensational News: intends to incite emotions, interest or reactions. Sensational news is typically inaccurate.

Content adapted from Olin Library at Cornell University and CSU, Chico

Where do I go for business news and scholarly articles?

ABI/INFORM
ABI Inform provides full text and abstracts of articles in journals, magazines, and newspapers covering a wide range of topics in business and industry. Dates of Coverage: 1923 – Current
Academic search complete
Academic Search Complete provides a scholarly collection providing full text coverage for over 10,500 journals for nearly all academic areas of study - including social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies, etc. Dates of Coverage: 1975 - Current
Business Abstracts with Full Text
Resource Type: Research Database with Full Text
Subjects Covered:Business and Management
Contents: Provides full-text articles from 450+ publications dating back to 1982. Coverage includes product evaluations, corporate profiles, surveys, statistical rankings, reports from associations, societies, trade shows, and conferences. Over 600,000 corporate names indexed to industries and countries; charts, graphs, photographs and other graphical content; and SIC and NAICS industry and product codes for over 190,000 subject terms.
Business Insights: Global
Business Insights: Global provides an international perspective on company and industry information for over 500,000 companies. Includes company profiles, industry rankings, marketing information, products, brands, investment ratings, financial ratios, financial statements, market size, industries by SIC, directory information, and more. Dates of coverage: varies by company
Business Source Complete
Business Source Complete provides full text and abstracts of articles in more than 1,200 journals, magazines, newspapers, videos, and periodicals covering a wide range of topics in business and industry. Provides company profiles, industry profiles, market research reports and country reports. Additional full text, non-journal content includes financial data, books, monographs, major reference works, book digests, conference proceedings, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses and more. Dates of Coverage: 1886 to present.
Cabell's directories of publishing opportunities
Cabell's Directories of Publishing Opportunities The Directories contain addresses, phones, e-mails, web site addresses, and guidelines and submission information for over 4,000 journals in Business, Economics, Education and Psychology. The Directory helps users choose journals by topical coverage. It also provides manuscript and publication guidelines, as well as descriptions of the review processes for the journals included. Dates of Coverage: Current
ECO - Electronic Collections Online.
ECO (Electronic Collections Online) is a database hosted by OCLC, with over 5,000 journals spanning a number of academic disciplines, such as agriculture, business, education, history, philosophy, science, among others.
Emerald
UNT may not subscribe to all titles through this platform: full access is not guaranteed. Patrons may wish to utilize other resources to fulfill their information needs. Emerald, also known as Emerald Publishing, manages a portfolio of over 295 journals and over 2,500 books, with a significant range of subject coverage.
Hoovers Online (Now Mergent Intellect)
The Hoover's Online plaform is being phased out by Dun & Bradstreet. The link in this record now points to the replacement product, Mergent Intellect.
JSTOR
JSTOR provides access to archived backfiles of journals in the arts and sciences, business, language and literature, science, ecology and botany, and music: over 2,000 academic journals, dating back to the first volume ever published, along with thousands of monographs and other relevant materials. Users can access the full-text content beginning with the first volume of each journal although recent volumes may or may not be included, depending on the agreement between JSTOR and publishers of the journal in question. As a result, some titles may lag behind in terms of JSTOR coverage. Content may date back to 1890, up to present-day.
Nexis Uni
Nexis Uni provides access to news, legal, and business sources including journals, television and radio broadcasts, newswires and blogs, newspapers, and legal sources for federal and state cases and statutes.
Morningstar investment research center
Morningstar Investment Research Center Provides research on more than 30,000 stocks, mutual funds, and exchange-traded funds (ETFs) and provides screening tools and data points to build portfolios. Furnishes analysts' reports to analyze funds, stocks, and ETFs. Provides current and historical performances for stock indexes, industries, sectors, and fund categories. Returns are updated daily. Dates of Coverage: Current as well as historical.
Research library
Research library (Periodical Abstracts Research II) a general reference database of a diversified mix of scholarly journals, trade publications, and magazines covering over 150 academic disciplines. Note: If search results do not show beyond first page, you should click Tools-Internet Options-Delete Files and then click on Settings to make sure Automatically is checked.Dates of Coverage: 1971 - Current
Regional business news
Regional Business News includes abstracts for regional U.S. and Canadian business publications , including newspapers, radio & TV news transcripts, and trade publications. Dates of Coverage: Varies by title.

University Libraries

MKTG 3710: Marketing Research & Analytics

Business Librarian

News vs. Scholarly Articles: Understanding the Difference

Where do I go for business news and scholarly articles?

MKTG 3710: Marketing Research & Analytics

News vs. Scholarly Articles: Understanding the Difference

Where do I go for business news and scholarly articles?

Additional Links