Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

ENGL 5750: Bibliography and Methods of Research in Literature

This is the guide for Dr. Nicole Smith

Research Strategies

Literary Research Series:

This Scarecrow Press series features research strategies along with the best tools for conducting specialized period and national literary research.

 Emphasizing research methodology, each series volume takes into account the unique challenges inherent in conducting research of that specific literary period and outlines the best practices for research within it.

Volumes place the research process within the period's historical context and compare print and electronic reference sources. Chapters will typically cover these types of sources: general literary reference materials; library catalogs; print and online bibliographies, indexes, and annual reviews; scholarly journals; contemporary reviews; period journals and newspapers; microform and digital collections; manuscripts and archives; and Web resources. Additional or alternative chapters might be included to highlight a particular research problem or to examine other pertinent period or national literary resources.

This research series was designed by University of Denver Libraries.  

British Romantic Era

General Literary Reference Resources

Microform and Digital Collections

Finding Microform and Digitized Collections:

Microform and Digitized Collections:

Eighteenth and Nineteenth Century Journals and Newspapers

Finding Articles:

Manuscripts and Archives

Websites for Locating Archives and Manuscripts Collections:

Additional Links

top