Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Important Website Links
AOCS Lipid Library
Find all things lipid - information, properties, pathways, methods - at the online library on the American Oil Chemists Society website. Developed by Drs. W.W. Christie and John Harwood. (Dr. Harwood visited UNT two years ago to give a seminar on his research)
This tool is "a new multiple sequence alignment program that uses seeded guide trees and HMM profile-profile techniques to generate alignments" from the European Bioinformatics Institute.
The proteomics bioinformatics resource portal from the Swiss Institute for Bioinformatics.
The Image J download from NIH.
A collection of motif-based sequence analysis tools funded by the National Center for Research Resources.
National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI)
The portal to the National Library of Medicine's suite of bioinformatics tools, including PubMed, BLAST, and Gene.
This bioinformatics tool "will take a DNA sequence and find the large, non-overlapping open reading frames using the E.coli genetic code and the sites for all Type II and commercially available Type III restriction enzymes that cut the sequence just once." Provided by New England BioLabs.
OligoCalc: Oligonucleotide Properties Calculator
Thermodynamic Calculations taking into account base stacking energy. The nearest neighbor and thermodynamic calculations are done essentially as described by Breslauer.
A tool that identifies primers in gene sequences from the Bioinformatics Department of the University of Tartu, Estonia.
This tool from Bioinformatics Organization converts a DNA sequence into its reverse, complement, or reverse-complement counterpart.
The Arabidopsis Information Resource website provides access to bioinformatics tools, genomic data for Arabidopsis, and more.
Keeping a Lab Notebook
Pdf of webinar, slides and notes about how to keep a lab notebook—from the NIH.
How to Start - and Keep- a Laboratory Notebook
Nice detailed description of how to start and keep a lab notebook, including considerations for electronic data, and record keeping in line with policies to protect intellectual property. By J. Thomson, Univ CapeTown, South Africa.
UNT Library Links
Remember to contact Erin O'Toole at email@example.com if you have any questions about the Libraries!
UNT Libraries homepage
Start searches for books, articles and more from the central search box on the homepage. Also find links to the Libraries' major services.
Subject Guides and Class Pages
Subject guides are collections of research tools for a discipline, like biology. Class pages are collections of research tools for the assignments in a specific course, like BIOL 3900. Use this portal to search for guides and class pages.
Citation and Style Guides
Visit this page to find out how to cite in APA, Chicago, and many other styles.
Reserve a Group Study Room
Looking for someplace to study with a group? You can reserve a room in the Willis or Eagle Common Libraries up to a week in advance.
Create and use your ILLiad interlibrary loan account to request books or articles you need that the UNT Libraries don't own.
Search for scholarly articles, many of which you can find online through the UNT Library Catalog. If you are on campus, FIRST adjust the Library Links setting to link directly from Scholar to ejournals. See the directions below.
Google Scholar Settings: Library Links
Select Library Links in the left column. Search for "University of North Texas System," select it and Save. Now you can link directly to the full-text articles from Google Scholar.
MEDLINE - PubMed Abstracts for journal articles covering the broad realm of biomedical literature covered in MEDLINE, PreMEDLINE, and HEALTHSTAR, life science journals (publisher-supplied citations), and online books. Includes medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and preclinical sciences. Uses MESH headings as well as keyword searching. , life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites. Dates of Coverage: Varies by title.