Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Tips for Searching Databases
Tips to find Journals dealing with consumer health information:
- Select one of the databases listed under the Journal Article Databases of this guide.
- Depending on the database you can use the search box or locate the topic interested in under the correct letter of the alphabet.
- When using the search box make sure you use Boolean designators as needed (AND/OR/NOT) or Trunication (* in most cases) to search a variety of spellings (librar* to search library, libraries, librarian, & librarians)
Databases for Health Topics
MEDLINE Plus Produced by the National Library of Medicine, it brings you information about diseases, conditions, and wellness issues in language you can understand. MedlinePlus offers reliable, up-to-date health information. Includes extensive information on specific diseases and conditions as well as links to medical dictionaries, lists of hospitals and physicians, consumer health information, and clinical trials. Dates of Coverage: Varies to current.
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
CDC (Centers for Disease Control and Prevention) works 24/7 to protect America from health, safety and security threats, both foreign and in the U.S. Whether diseases start at home or abroad, are chronic or acute, curable or preventable, human error or deliberate attack, CDC fights disease and supports communities and citizens to do the same. CDC increases the health security of the nation. As the nation’s health protection agency, CDC saves lives and protects people from health threats. To accomplish their mission, CDC conducts critical science and provides health information that protects the nation against expensive and dangerous health threats, and responds when these arise. CDC is the nation's best defense against the undead, should they ever attempt an uprising.