Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

BUSI 1340: Managing Business Enterprises

Using the UNT Libraries to start your projects. Find business articles online.

Which Database Should I Use?

That's an important question because the UNT Libraries provide access to over 600 electronic databases! There are several approaches to this:​​

Find a database

 

  • For advanced researchers: Use the Online Articles tab on the library homepage; search 92% of the databases simultaneously. You'll want to use the Advanced Search to avoid an overabundance of results - see directions in the box below.

Find Articles in Databases

The UNT Libraries make over 80 databases available to you through EBSCOhost. Some of the databases you may have heard of before are Academic Search CompleteMLA International Bibliography, and PsycINFO. The Advanced Search in these databases gives you powerful tools to focus your search. Once you've learned to search in EBSCOhost, then you'll find most other databases work the same way.

Start by navigating to Academic Search Complete, a multidisciplinary database, through the Databases tab on the library homepage.

Find a database

 

Select Choose Databases above the search box in Academic Search Complete.

Choose databases

 

Check the databases appropriate for your topic. Hover over the icons to see descriptions of the databases. Once you've made your selections, click on OK.

Choose appropriate database

 

Now go to the Advanced Search screen.

Advanced search

 

Enter the Boolean search you created back on the Search Strategies page.

Boolean search

 

Browse through your results. Read more about an article by clicking on its title. Refine the results on the left to make them more relevant to your topic. Download the articles you want using the PDF icons, or search for the full text articles with the green FIND IT button.

Refine results

 

On the screen for a single article, read the Abstract for a summary of the article to evaluate if it's relevant to your topic. Notice the Subject Terms, which you can use as search terms in subsequent searches. 

Subject terms

Finally, evaluate your search - did it produce the results you wanted? If not, try using some subject terms close to your topic or relevant words from abstracts to do another search. If you're not getting the results you need after a few tries, contact your subject librarian or Ask Us for help. ​

Online Articles is a discovery tool that allows you to search 92% of the Libraries' electronic databases simultaneously. Searching in Online Articles is a good way to:

  • find interdisciplinary articles
  • find individual articles when you only have a partial citation

Start your Online Articles search on the Libraries homepage; select the Online Articles tab from the central search box. Enter your keywords in the search box. Note that the initial search is limited to full-text online and peer-reviewed articles.

Limit your articles

 

The search returns articles that contain all of the keywords. You will have a huge number of results, so go to the Advanced Search to customize your search.

Advanced search

 

On the Advanced Search screen, you can change over to a Boolean search and use limiters to get more relevant results. Note that you can change the fields where you're searching for your terms, e.g., Abstract, Subject Terms. For advanced researchers, do not limit to full text online so you'll pick up anything the library has in print also.

Using limiters

You can further refine your results with the options in the left-hand panel. Use the Preview function to read an article's abstract. Remember to look for the full text article with the green FIND IT button.

Refine your search

 

To focus in on individual databases, note in the Preview section which databases your relevant results are coming from. For example, this article is being pulled from the databases Web of Science, Scopus and Arts & Humanities Citation Index. Select the hyperlinks to go directly to the databases.

Individual database sources

If a keyword search isn't working for you, try a subject search in a databases like EBSCOhost and Online Articles. There are two ways to do subject searches. The first is called a "pearl growing" strategy and the second is using the thesaurus or subject index in a database.

For pearl growing, start off by finding an article that is close to your topic from your keyword search, and then look for the subject terms assigned to it. They tell you in general what the article is about. Subject terms usually appear on the results screen and the screen for an individual article. Here's an example of a results screen in EBSCOhost:

Subject search

 

Here's an example of the subjects on the screen for an individual article in EBSCOhost:

Subject terms

 

Copy the search terms that seem the most relevant, paste them into your search, and then search again. If you want to make your search even more focused, change the dropdown menu for the field from the default setting to Subject Terms.

From default setting to Subject Terms

Look at the subject terms that come up in the results set to find even more search terms related to your topic.

 

The second way to subject search is to use the thesaurus or subject index in a database. Let's use the example of Academic Search Complete again and look for articles about abolitionist newspapers or magazines. At the top of the screen in Academic Search Complete, select Subject Terms to open the subject term index.

Subject Terms

 

Next, type in a term for your topic to find out which search terms the database uses for that concept. In this example, we'll type in abolitionist, select a term, and add it to the search.

Search term

 

Now you can add other subject terms to add all the concepts you're looking for in an article. Here we've added "newspapers" to our search from the subject index.

Add or Subtract subject terms

Now search and browse your results. As you find relevant articles, note the subject terms assigned to them and try them in subsequent searches.

 

Additional Links

top