Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
About This Page
Listed in the columns to the right are websites related to African American Studies and Africa Studies. These links provide access to a wealth of information freely available online. The sources appear here after evaluation for their scholarly research value.
Additional free resources will be added to this page over time, so please check back periodically.
Google Web Search
Use this search to cast your search net even further afield.
Open Access or Fee-free Resources
Bibliographic databases and other resources related to Africa.
African American History
From the American Memory project of the U.S. Library of Congress, this resources is a group of collections related to the history of African Americans.
African Studies Abstract Online / ASA Online
A quarterly overview of journal articles and edited works on Africa in the field of the social sciences and the humanities
Africans in America: America's journey through slavery
The Africans in America web site is a companion to a six-hour PBS television series
. The site examines the economic and intellectual foundations of slavery in America and reveals how the presence of African people and their struggle for freedom transformed America.
Afrocentric Voices in Classical Music
Information on African American music performers and composers and the vocal music forms they influenced, especially opera, art songs and spiritual arrangements. Includes biographical sketches, bibliographies, research centers, special collections, and more.
Aggregates thousands of news and information items daily from over 130 African news organizations and its own reporters to an African and global public.
Behind the Veil: Documenting African American Life in the Jim Crow South
A scholarly collection of recordings and transcripts of 100 oral history interviews chronicling African-American life during the age of segregation in the American South, from the 1890s to the 1950s.
Black Diaspora Review
Provides a forum for the scholarly critiques and debate of every aspect of Black Diaspora Studies.
BlackPast.org: Remembered & RSycamore Libraryaimed
Reference materials on six centuries of African American history, including encyclopedias, full text primary documents, major speeches of black activists and leaders and links to websites for historical, museum and archival research.
Jackson Davis Collection of African American Educational Photographs
A collection of nearly 6,000 photographs of African Americans throughout the Southeastern U.S. from the first half of the twentieth century.