Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

African American Studies: Digital Collections at UNT

Guide for conducting research related to African American studies in the collections of the University of North Texas Libraries

About This Page

Juneteenth Texas: Essays in African-American Folklore
Juneteenth Texas: Essays in African-American Folklore
Photo Credit

Digital Collections in the column to the right searches online content hosted in the UNT Digital Library and The Portal to Texas History and the The Gateway to Oklahoma History. The UNT Digital Library is home to materials from the University's research, creative and scholarly activities, and also showcases content from the UNT Libraries collections. The Portal to Texas History is a gateway to Texas history materials. It includes unique collections of Texas libraries, museums, archives, historical societies, genealogical societies, and private family collections. The Gateway to Oklahoma History is an online repository of Oklahoma history, including hundreds of thousands of newspaper pages dating from the 1840s to the 1920s. Many of the items in the Digital Collections are electronic versions of primary source materials.

(Be sure the Digital Collections tab is activated before conducting your search.)

NOTE

Be sure to click the UNT Digital Collections tab before you search in the box below.

Search for Materials

 

UNT Digital Collections - African American Studies - Search Tips

Search Strategies - Keyword

A keyword search for African American will find numerous results in Digital Collections. To focus your search results:

Enclosed the search terms in quotation marks to ensure that the records retrieved include the two words as a phrase.

Add more topic terms or phrases to focus your results. For example, if your topic covers a speech, or politics, or an event, include the term in your search ("African American" speeches or "African American" politics or "African Americans" "Civil War").

• If your topic is a specific person or group, search for the name.

Additional Links

top