Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
We've moved! Several of the links listed below will not work yet. We'll try to get that corrected ASAP.
Mostly Foreign and International
Online sources of foreign and international historic documents and speeches.
Electronic Information System for International Law
Portal to high quality primary materials, authoritative Web sites, and helpful research guides to international law available on the Internet. Users can connect directly to the Web resource that interests them by clicking on its title, but will also find valuable added information through a "More Information" button on each record. Legal citations, entry into force and signature dates, amendments, and brief descriptions are among the specialized data made available by EISIL's content providers.
EuroDocs: Online Sources for European History
These links connect to European primary historical documents that are transcribed, reproduced in facsimile, or translated. They shed light within the respective countries over a broad range of historical happenings (political, economic, social and cultural). The order of documents is chronological wherever possible, and may include video or sound files, maps, databases, and other documentation.
Historical Text Archive
High quality articles, books, essays, documents, historical photos, and links, screened for content, on a broad range of historical subjects.
Constitutions of the nations of the world, in English when available.
Major online sources of historic documents and speeches from the United States of America.
AMDOCS: Documents for the Study of U.S. History
Extensive collection of historic documents and speeches from pre-Columbian times to the present, grouped by time period.
America's Historical Documents
The National Archives preserves and provides access to the records of the U.S. federal government. Here is a sample of these records, from the most celebrated milestones to little-known surprises.
American Memory provides free and open access through the Internet to written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience. It is a digital record of American history and creativity. These materials, from the collections of the Library of Congress and other institutions, chronicle historical events, people, places, and ideas that continue to shape America, serving the public as a resource for education and lifelong learning.
The American Presidency Project
This online resource has consolidated, coded, and organized the following resources into a single searchable database:
• A Compilation of the Messages and Papers of the Presidents: Washington – Taft (1789–1913)
• Public Papers of the Presidents of the United States: Hoover – G.W. Bush (1929–2007) & Obama (2009)
• Weekly Compilation of Presidential Documents: Carter – G.W. Bush (1977–2009)
• Daily Compilation of Presidential Documents: Obama (2009–2012)
Their archives also contain thousands of other documents such as party platforms, candidates' remarks, statements of administration policy, documents released by the Office of the Press Secretary, and election debates.
American Rhetoric online speech bank
American Rhetoric Online Speech Bank Database of and index to 5000+ full text, audio and video versions of public speeches, sermons, legal proceedings, lectures, debates, interviews, other recorded media events Dates of Coverage: 18th Century -current
The Avalon Project: Documents in Law, History, and Diplomacy
Digital texts of documents relevant to the fields of law, history, economics, politics, diplomacy, and government. Includes links to supporting documents that are expressly referred to in the body of the text.
A Chronology of U.S. Historical Documents
Extensive collection of historic documents and speeches from pre-colonial times to the present, arranged in chronological order.
Digital History: Famous Historic Speeches
Speeches selected because of their relevance to American history. Browse by author, search by keyword, or display all speeches in one list.
Documenting the American South
This electronic collection provides access to digitized primary materials of government and CSA military documents, as well as private papers that offer Southern perspectives on American history and culture. Browse the title index for specific documents or search the entire collection.
From Revolution to Reconstruction...and what happened afterwards
Transcripts of primary sources related to American History, arranged chronologically.
Historic Documents & Speeches
links to the Bill of Rights, Mayflower Compact, Federalist Papers, President's inaugural speeches, Monroe Doctrine, Treaty of Paris and Greenville, plus famous speeches such as "I have a Dream," "Give me Liberty or Give me Death," and much more.
History and Politics Out Loud
Searchable archive of politically significant audio materials for scholars, teachers, and students.
Audio and video recordings of broadcast speeches.
Inaugural Addresses of the Presidents of the United States
Full text of each presidential inaugural address from George Washington to the present.
Collection of 100 milestone documents that the staff of the National Archives has judged most important to the development of the United States. The entry for each document includes a short introduction, a facsimile, and a transcript of the document, plus teaching resources and suggestions for further research.
Primary Documents in American History
The Library of Congress is home to many of the most important documents in American history. This Web site provides links to materials digitized from the collections of the Library of Congress that supplement and enhance the study of these crucial documents. For each document there is a page with background information about the document, a list of links to digital materials concerning that document from the Library's site and elsewhere, and bibliographies both for general readers and for younger readers.