Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Government Information Connection: Business Portal

Locate information on how to start a small business.

Government Information Connection: Business Portal

Government Information Connection banner with someone reading the Statistical Abstract of the United States 1923

Import & Export Websites

  • Doing Business (World Bank.org) "The Doing Business project provides objective measures of business regulations for local firms in 183 economies and selected cities at the subnational level."
  • Export.gov. "The U.S. Government has strategically partnered with major corporations to help small and medium-sized U.S. companies begin and/or expand their exports."
  • Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD.org). Click on "Countries," "Statistics," and "Topics."
  • Small Business Administration (SBA.gov). Scroll to "Starting & Managing a Business," then to "Exporting & Importing."
  • Transparency International. Scroll to "Corruption Perceptions Index" and "Country Profiles."
  • United Nations. Click on "Member States" for profiles of countries.

Business Plan Websites

Commercial and government websites for business planning.

  • bPlans.com is a commercial site that offers many examples of business plans, categorized by industry.
  • Business & Professional Services (State of Texas) includes Small Business Development Center, Do Business with the State of Texas, Start a Business, Maintain a Business, Relocate a Business, Licenses, Permits, & Registrations, FAQ.
  • Business Plans Handbook "A Compilation of Actual Business Plans Developed by Small Businesses throughout North America." The last volume indexes all the preceding volumes. Call number: HD62.7.B865. Location: Eagle Commons Library BUSINESS REFERENCE. Hint: Consult the index in the last volume. A sample business plan includes a description of the industry, proforma statements ithat may include cost of sales, equipment needed, market analysis, and marketing strategy.
  • Business Start-Up Information (Texas Secretary of State) provides an extensive list of links including: start-up guides, small business resources, employer issues, permits and licenses, patents, trademarks, copyrights, securities issues, state and federal taxation.
  • National Federation of Independent Business: Business Resources Contents: start my business, sell my business, sales & marketing, finance and accounting, staffing, healthcare & benefits, insurance, legal help, management & leadership, safety & training, tax help, tech & office support.
  • Small Business Administration includes small business planner, services, tools, and local resources.
  • Small Business & Entrepreneurship: BRASS Business Guide (Business Reference & Services Section of the Reference & User Services Association of the American Library Association).

Funding and Financing Websites

Websites providing sources of venture capital.

  • Business.gov "Small Business Loans & Grants" Contents: Small Business Loans, Government Grants, Seed and Venture Capital, Tax-Exempt Bonds.
  • National Venture Capital Association (NVCA). Useful features include links to a directory of NVCA Members, information on Venture Philanthropy, including a list of venture philanthropy organizations, and Resource Links that include additional links to regional Venture Capital Organizations such as the Venture Investors Association of New York.
  • Netpreneur Exchange "Funding & Finance." Venture capital, angel funding, entrepreneurship & startups, calendar of events.
  • SBDC Net (Small Business Development Center).
  • Small Business Association "Financial Assistance." Contents: For Borrowers; For Prospective Lenders.
  • Small Business Investor Alliance is the professional association of privately organized and managed venture capital firms licensed by the U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA) to make equity capital or long-term loans available to small companies.
  • Startup Nation "By entrepreneurs for entrepreneurs." Covers business financing, business models, business planning, business technology, home-based business, inventing, life planning, marketing, running a business, sales, web-based business.
  • VFinance, inc – angel investor database  AngelSearch™ combs government records to gather investment data, industry preferences and total stock positions of America's wealthiest individuals. Use to locate potential investors to raise capital, or to find wealthy new customers in your area.

Research Tools

Additional Links

top